SERIAL WRITER

April 10, 2009 at 5:00 am (Rebecca York) (, , , , , , )

eternalmoon-2001As you know, I’ve got a new book out this week.  It’s ETERNAL MOON, the tenth book in my Moon Series.

How do you keep a series going that long?  For me, it’s a matter of finding a theme that works and fitting in stories.  I mean, I don’t have some grand plan like, say, a season of 24.  You don’t have to start at the beginning of the series to get into each book because each of them is a complete story with a beginning, middle and end and a new hero and heroine.

And, in fact, I didn’t even know I was starting a series when I wrote KILLING MOON.  I just had a story I was burning to tell.  About a werewolf who desperately wanted to fit into humanity but felt alienated by his–uh–hairy problem.  Ross Marshall was the first of my Marshall men.  He’s a private detective who uses his werewolf senses to solve crimes.  And he comes back to play a secondary role in all of my other Moon books.

Megan Marshall, his life mate, was my first heroine who had to be strong enough to stand up to a guy who can change from man to wolf.  Since then, I’ve matched each of my Marshall men with a dynamic mate.  This time it’s P.I. Renata Cordona, who lived in Costa Rica when she was young.  And I had a wonderful time working in details from my trip to Costa Rica in 2007.

The story starts with Renata on an undercover assignment to lure out a serial killer who has been murdering female real estate agents.  A vicious pack of dogs is about to attack her when a lone wolf makes them stand down.  Minutes later, Jacob Marshall materializes and, with his electrifying touch, Renata suddenly knows the truth. Jacob is her life mate. Yet Renata is a woman who guards her heart because everyone she has ever loved has died a horrible death.

As Renata and Jacob discover, she’s the reincarnation of an ancient goddess, and he’s her consort.  Down through the ages, they’ve met again and again, only to be destroyed by a malicious demon.   Is werewolf Jacob Marshall the key to breaking the ancient curse that hangs over them?  Or will the evil stalking them through time destroy them both?

What do you want to see in the life mate of a werewolf?   What kind of woman can hope to tame these alpha males who can’t walk away from a good fight–especially with each other?

8 Comments

  1. Dinah said,

    First off, I love your Moon books. I picked up the latest this week (haven’t started yet though, soon).
    I do think that the mate of a Alpha male has to be strong woman if they are goings to have a healthy relationship. Me I love a smart-ass conversation between a couple with a lot of sexual tension.

  2. rebeccayork said,

    Thanks! I love smart ass conversation and sexual tension. That’s the great thing about writing a novel as opposed to real life. You have hours or days to come back with the right line for your character. Or you can go back and change what they said.
    Rebecca

  3. Estella said,

    Have read the other Moon books and am looking forward to Eternal Moon.

  4. rebeccayork said,

    Thanks Estella! It’s taken a new direction, and I’m anxious to see how people react. Also, do they like my scenes from the pov of the dog.
    Rebecca

  5. Melissa said,

    I think it takes a strong, determined woman to deal w/ these Alpha shifter heros. Someone who can respect their dominating ways, but still get around them….

    I haven’t read the Moon books. I’ve read your Ruth Glick books, not sure how I’ve missed these as they sound right up my alley. I love me some shifters.

  6. Willa said,

    Ooh – this sounds fab. Have only just started reading paranormal in the last year or so – yes, I live in a cave!

    Should they be read in order or does each book standalone?

  7. rebeccayork said,

    I don’t want people to think they have to read the Moon books in order. Each book really is its own story. The only thing you will miss is the introduction of each h/h who do come back to play secondary roles in later books. And Ross Marshall, my first werewolf in KILLING MOON really has changed the family dynamics. The series has changed and evolved since I started writing. At first, it was very grounded in our universe. But in NEW MOON, I introduced a parallel universe–which is the source of many of the problems in the stories. Again, I explain this setting each time I introduce it. Through ETERNAL MOON, all stories START here. DRAGON MOON, the next book, is the first one where the story starts in the other universe. That just made better sense for the book.
    Rebecca

  8. Teresa D'Amario said,

    I’m going to be reading that this coming weekend! Because I can’t wait to participate in our “book of the month club”! Y’all make sure you’re ready!

Leave a Reply

