How One Werewolf Sees a Setting

May 28, 2010 at 5:20 am (General) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

In Dreaming of the Wolf, I wanted to write something about the wildflowers in Colorado, because Jake’s hobby is photographing them. So though I’ve researched the types of flowers that grow there, and was surprised to learn our own Indian paintbrush (that grows here in Texas) was growing there wild, I came across this picture at JS Nature photos.

From this picture, I was able to envision a scene. Or, Jake was. And often that’s how I create scenes–by actually seeing a picture and describing it. So if scenes often seem real, they are!🙂

But putting a picture like this into words can be hard. No matter how I try to describe it….seeing it is just amazing! However, Jake’s take on it will be fun too.🙂

And when we put the human spin on it, that makes it really special also. It’s not just a field of flowers–gorgeous flowers, but a human experience, based on that human’s background.

Everyone will see the field in a different way. A hunter might look at it as a place he might find his prey. A bird watcher would be wondering what kinds of birds might be nesting here. A flower enthusiast would be more interested in the flowers. A hiker might wonder where the trail would lead.

For me–it was how Jake would envision this field with his camera. You might be surprised.🙂 Because as much of a wildflower purist as he is, he’s got other things on his mind–and she’s a brunette with a sense of humor to match his own.

Hope you all have a wonderful Friday!!! I’m so excited! I hope to get a lot written over the next 3 days and make the 1/3 mark on Dreaming of the Wolf!!!

So when you look at a picture like this…what do you see?

Terry
“Giving new meaning to the term alpha male.”
http://www.terryspear.com

6 Comments

  1. Robin S. said,

    Oh Terry,
    What a lovely scene. I can just imagine the spaciousness of the field and the fresh mountain air and I can almost hear the birds singing.

    Robin

  2. terryspear said,

    I so agree, Robin! *sigh* Wouldn’t it be fun to just sit amongst the flowers and enjoy?

  3. Cathy D said,

    I see the beautiful Colorado sky, a lush meadow surrounded by towering pine sentinels. A place to rest after a hike or better yet, horseback ride in the wonderful scents of a new spring day. A quite picnic where I watch all of nature come to nose around the tasty bounty God has spread out before us.
    I spent a week when I was 16 in a wonderful place like this high up in the Colorado hills. For over 30 years I wished to move to that place.

  4. Terry Spear said,

    Hi, Cathy,

    Yes, beautiful country! We lived near Boulder when I was little. And we went skiing in the mountains at Breckenridge and Telluride. Loved it!

  5. Colleen said,

    Beautiful… I see quiet time, fresh air, and the chance to see nature little friends…

  6. terryspear said,

    Sounds great, Colleen!🙂

Leave a Reply

