The Wolfman – A review

February 24, 2010 at 6:00 am (General, Reviews) (, )

Hey folks!  So this weekend I did a movie marathon and one of those movies fits really well with the Shapeshifter theme, and that’s The Wolfman.  First, let me say I don’t typically “Do” horror movies, though  I’m not sure this one qualifies more as horror as opposed to paranormal though.  Yes, it’s gory, but it’s possible to ignore such blatant displays of blood and gore to search for the plot.  Notice I said search?

The Wolfman does justice in the arena of special affects.  It reminded me, at times, of the mini Movie Thriller, by Michael Jackson.  Watching the transformation was horrifically exciting.  I loved each and every transformation, though the movement of our dear Wolfman in his animalistic form was not so attractive, but then, this isn’t a romance.

But we were talking plot.  That’s right.  where was that thing anyway?  Nope, not here, under the bed.  Not hidden in the dark, almost colorless world of historic England.  Nope.  No plot.  Ok, there’s the Anthony Hopkins plot.  That was kewl. He stole the show, folks.  In every scene he was in.  Dark, family secrets, shown in small bits of perfect acting and good writing.  But what I didn’t understand was why the writing didn’t work for the hero of our story.  Nor for our heroine.  I never got a good Feel for what they were about.  Yes, the hero is dark and tortured, and has flashbacks of horrific events in his life, perpetrated against him by his father.  Yet still, I didn’t “Feel” anything.

Then came the oddest part.  There was a beautiful little bit of “Foreshadowing” in the opening scene.  Foreshadowing that never came to pass?  Scenes with the heroine, racing against the clock to save the man she loves.  Only she never does? None of that made ANY sense.  It’s hard not to give away the plot when I talk about this, (or lack thereof?) but it’s like reading  a story where the heroine knows how to save the hero and then lets him die anyway.  WHAT?

My husband laughed and said “he wasn’t her true love”.  Well, maybe?

All in all, I left the movie confused.  I didn’t understand what the beginning sequence had to do with the end of the movie.  Kind of reminds me of a prologue I once read in a romance novel.  I’d forgotten it was there till after I finished the book, then I realized it didn’t add anything at all to the story.  In fact, had I remembered it was there, it probably would have detracted as I tried to fit the puzzle pieces together, and then found one missing. 

That’s what The Wolfman felt like to me.

So, all in all i give it a C-.  Not because it was poorly done cinematically, but because of the missing “piece” of the puzzle.

3 Comments

  1. Beth C. said,

    Yeah, I’m alone in wanting to see this movie. I’m waiting for the $1.50 theater. There wasn’t much of a plot to the previews. Seems like a bunch of special effects thrown together to make a horror flick.

  2. Teresa D'Amario said,

    well, not quite a horror flick. Horror flicks are from the POV of the victims. This is from the Wolfman’s POV. Kinda sorta. So it takes the fear out of it and makes what happens in the story line more appalling, and sad. But my hubby really wanted to see it, and thought cuz I write shifters I’d want to as well. LOL. He said it was “okay”. Leave it to a guy to not see the blazing hole in a plot. LOL. He was more into the special effects I think.

  3. Cathy D said,

    My daughter saw it with her boyfirend and said it was okay. I know she doesn;t like horror movies so much, but I don’t think she notices plots much either. LOL I’m waiting for the DVD on this one.

Leave a Reply

