Buried Alive

February 10, 2010 at 1:44 pm (General, Rebecca York) (, )

Rebecca in February "Snowmageddon"I’m still stuck in the house days after the big February snowstorm of 2010. And ten to twenty more inches are on the way. So far, I’ve edited 140 pages of my current Intrigue, FUNHOUSE, the one set in Cumberland, Maryland. Man, I’m glad we got up there a couple of weeks ago!

I’ve been doing a lot of shoveling. Nobody came to plow this court, so we had to do it ourselves. We’ve got narrow lanes where some cars can drive. Other cars are completely buried because we had to pile snow behind them. When I was a kid, I hated “snow pants.” Now I love having the ones I bought for our polar bear chasing trip to Churchill. Also the arctic boots.

Food’s my big problem at the moment. And not because we’re running out. Unfortunately, I’m a good cook, so I keep going into kitchen and making hearty stuff. Spaghetti sauce. Beef burgundy. Ham and bean soup. Real hot chocolate. (Not the mix. You can make real chocolate with Splenda instead of sugar. Just follow the directions on the Hershey Cocoa Powder carton and substitute Splenda for sugar.) Unfortunately, I’ve also got a big bag of cheese popcorn that I opened!

Lucky for us, we never lost power. (Unlike some families in the neighboring counties.) So there’s plenty of entertainment in here. We have tons of Criminal Minds DVDs to watch. We also just finished the 2nd season of The Tudors.”

I’ve been floundering out into the deep snow to feed the birds and squirrels. I’m putting birdseed in shallow pans. Squirrels leap on it. Birds are worried that it’s some kind of trap. Today I waded through knee-deep snow to fill the back bird feeder. Better now than after we get those additional inches.

Are you part of the great whiteout of 2010? How are you surviving? Or are you lucky enough to have missed it?

Rebecca

6 Comments

  1. Colleen said,

    No snow my way, but we have been lucky to get some rain… very rare! Love it… I actually miss snow… have not been in a snow storm for at least 10 years… looks beautiful!😀

  2. Inez Kelley said,

    Ha! Marking this. I grew up near Cumberland.

  3. jacabur1 said,

    Central Texas area I live in so far has only gotten sleet in the am and rain all the gloomy day today, stay warm!!!

  4. Cathy said,

    The weather has been “Springing” up on us here in middle CA. It gets snow on the mountain 15 miles away, but we still just get rain dumped by the buckets here. It gets to about 30-45 at night, but has been up to 62 during the day sometimes lately. I’m going to Washington state in 2 weeks and my girlfriend sent me pics showing snow up to her fence. I’m going to have to find those ski pants way back in a box in the closet. Been at least 15 years since I had to wear them.

  5. Beth C. said,

    No snow this time around. My kids are disappointed. I’m not. We barely survived the week we did have snow and no school.

  6. Penelope Fitzgerald said,

    3 days in a row now the kids have been so sad. No snow day for us. Boohoo! Where is the 10-12 inches they were callin for? Although I am looking forward to spring it’s always sad to see Jack Frost leave.

Leave a Reply

