Arctic Wolves Have the Advantage!

January 10, 2010 at 5:34 pm (General) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

We might not have the white stuff, but we definitely have the cold weather today while we try to stay warm during the deep freeze that hit the US.

Sixteen degrees and 35 mph winds is way too cold for those of us in Texas where our blood is thin and barely anyone owns any wool.

Now, if you were this Arctic wolf, he’d wonder what all the fuss was about! Note how the snow hasn’t even melted on his face? With a double coat of fur, the snow doesn’t reach his skin where the heat would melt it. He must have bitten at the snow, don’t you think? to have it on his chinny-chin-chin, and nose, too?

He’s really fascinated with something. Maybe a little white rabbit that burrowed into his hole. The wolf’s ears are perked, listening to every sound he can hear.

I hear the wind howling, the air around me, despite the electric heater being on emergency heat, cold and drafty. Hopefully they’ve sanded the twin bridges over the lake that I have to cross to get to work. If I were a wolf, I’d just spread my paws because they have great traction on ice. And if they’re running through deep snow, they also have the advantage of weighing less, broadening their feet, making a wolf tracker believe the wolf is much, much bigger than the true size of his prey. In this case, the wolf was tracking his prey–a moose.🙂

Yep, if I were one of these Arctic wolves, I definitely wouldn’t be worried about the cold! Note his narrowed eyes, his ears perked, his fur fluffed to the max? It makes him look bigger, more of a threat, and the narrowed eyes makes him appear wary.

I’m off to a blustery, bitter cold day, but I’ll think of being a wolf, warm and toasty in its splendorous coat of fur!

And if you’d like to read more about them, check out Legend of the White Wolf where legend becomes reality, and Arctic wolves are not what they seem, due out Feb 1.🙂

Sooo, how is your weather where you are today??? And wouldn’t you like to have a wolf coat for a day? Or better yet, visit with one of those sexy werewolf hunks and let him warm you up instead???

Terry
“Giving new meaning to the term alpha male.”
http://www.terryspear.com

3 Comments

  1. Beth C. said,

    Our cold spell is supposed to end around midweek. Although, I don’t mind the cold as long as there is no wind….and there is snow (which has been sadly lacking around here)

  2. Cathy D said,

    It has been cold, misty and foggy out here. Haven’t seen the sun in days…or is it weeks? I forget and my roses have frostbite. Hey I live in CA that’s not supposed to happen.
    We are supposed to have have 13 mph winds tomorrow with our rain storm making it feel like 39 instead of the 45 predicted. and thank you very much, the county has decided it is a “spare the air day” and I can not burn wood! I work at home and the stupid heater does NOT warm the house.
    Man I really wish I could put on an arctic wolf coat!

    Those picture are great, thanks for sharing.

  3. Terry Spear said,

    Beth, same here–we’re supposed to warm up a tad…still cold, but it is winter, I keep reminding myself!🙂 I’m with you on the no wind. That’s what the problem here has been–35 mph winds, which makes it way too cold!

    Cathy–your poor roses! I haven’t even been outside other than to go to work and come home in the dark and work on writing…so I’m sure everything’s in really bad shape out there. My fireplace doesn’t work properly, so I can’t burn, or I’d be asphyxiated! And for the electric heat to work, I have to put it on emergency heat or it feels like I’ve got the AC going! Then the electric bill comes and I need to mortgage the house.😦 Sigh…

    I guess I should get those fingerless gloves and just write about winter wolves. At least I’d feel in the deep freeze mood!!!🙂 Hope it warms up in Calif, my old stomping grounds!

Leave a Reply

