Picking a story to write…

December 4, 2009 at 2:14 pm (General, Lori Devoti) (, , )

I have been in a weird place the last couple of weeks. First, I haven’t been on deadline. It has been MONTHS since I wasn’t on deadline. This, I’m afraid, left me in a kind of euphoric stupor…yay! no deadlines….plenty of time to do…nothing.

But then time keeps moving–darn it. And I do have things to do. I have a class I’ll be teaching in June for Write by the Lake, a manuscript to revise (not contracted, but two editors requested revisions), and a short story for my debut at Book View Cafe (I’m giving away a short story in January…assuming I get it written.), and I bought two new writing programs to play with…Snowflake and Liquid Story Binder.

I can not tell you how much time I have spent playing learning Liquid Story Binder. BUT it has been work…it HAS. Except, there’s a problem…I have plotted two stories and decided neither of them are right for the free story I need to write. The first turned out to be a novel and not even a romance novel. The second a Nocturne Bite. And because of contract considerations I can’t publish a story appropriate for a Bite without first submitting it to Nocturne. So, back to the drawing board again. I need something different…something fun, maybe almost experimental (for me) and not so complicated I turn the thing into a novel.

This just isn’t as easy as it sounds….but I think I have it…and hopefully, next week I WILL write it.

How about you? When thinking up stories which is the bigger issue…too many ideas or not enough?

Oh and check out my covers! Three, count ’em three….

Lured, January 2010 Nocturne Bite--Werewolf paranormal romance,   The Hellhound King, Silhouette Nocturne, February 2010, Hellhound shapeshifer romance   Amazon Queen, Pocket Juno, May 2010, urban fantasy w/shapeshifters

3 Comments

  1. Colleen said,

    Wow look at those covers! AMAZON QUEEN really stands out… as for stories, I am not a writer… I do play around with day dreams, but I do not have to write them down for anyone…

  2. Cathy D said,

    I am not a writer thank God, because every time I close my eyes I envision a new story and in 50 years have never finished a one!! More power to you to actually get it down on paper. As I read at least 200 books a year for the past 20 (and only God knows how many the 20 before that) I look forward to all the adventures you can place before us!

    Cool (is that word really back in fad?) covers.

  3. Lori Devoti said,

    I don’t know Cathy…I say cool and I’m not quite old enough to have been saying it during its original heyday….🙂 And Yay, for you for reading that much. My reading has really gone down over the past few years. I still read every night before bed, but it is nothing like what I used to read.
    And thanks, Colleen!

Leave a Reply

