November Update from Deborah Cooke

November 16, 2009 at 6:18 am (Deborah Cooke, General) (, , , , )

What a wild month this has been for me! It says something that I’m looking forward to the hustle and bustle of December and the holidays – for the chance to slow down!

The most exciting news is about WINTER KISS, #4 in my Dragonfire series, which went on sale at the beginning of this month. Delaney and Ginger’s book is doing well out there in the world – it was #20 at Borders and #18 at Barnes and Noble on the mass market romance list for the first week on sale. Yippee! Of course, the cover is gorgeous – it’s there on the right sidebar. I like the book, too (ha!) and so did a lot of reviewers. You can read an excerpt HERE, and check out reviews on my blog HERE. Just choose Dragons from the sidebar to bring up all the Dragonfire-related posts.

As the Dragonfire series progresses, it becomes more likely that readers will pick up a book other than the first book and start reading. Because you might have questions, I’ve added a new feature to my website. I interviewed the Pyr – about firestorms and the Dragon’s Blood Elixir and the history of the Pyr and a bunch of other topics – and put their answers on the site. You can find the links on the index page.

I’m also hip-deep in the residency program. As some of you know, I was selected to be the writer-in-residence at the Toronto Public Library this fall, for the first residency ever focussed on the romance genre. There’s a blog associated with the residency, which is a resource for aspiring romance authors – you can check it out HERE. I’m doing a bunch of critiques for writers, as well, and there’s one more public event left – on November 26, we’ll have a panel discussion called “The Other Side of the Story” with an editor and an agent. Brenda Chin from Harlequin and Amy Moore-Benson from AMB Literary Management will be my guests. If you’re in the GTA, you might want to check it out – more information on the library site HERE.

I’ve also been doing a lot of guest blogs and there are more coming for the week ahead. Pop by my blog for pointers – sometimes there’s a doorprize!

That’s it for this month. Stay warm and be sure you have lots of good books to read!

Deborah Cooke
Alive & Knitting blog

Leave a Reply

