Guest Author, AJ Chase with Cat and Mouse

November 13, 2009 at 5:00 am (General, Guest Bloggers, Interviews) (, , , , , , )

Hi all!  We have a very special guest today.  Someone who has stepped out of the “norm” for shapeshifters, and done something new, exciting and funny.  AJ Chase, author of Cat And Mouse is here to talk about her book, and why she chose to something so unusual to write about.  Now mind you, AJ is like thirteen months pregnant (ok, not really, but you get the gist) so our interview will be rather short.

First, let me show you this adorable cover!

Cat and Mouse Cover

For Katherine Stapleton (aka Kitty), being a shape-shifter isn’t nearly as glamorous as the novels and movies make it out to be. It isn’t all raw, animalistic sex and superhuman physical prowess. There’s also the hairballs.

Kitty has spent her entire life being a less-than-perfect were-cat. She can’t control her animal changes, so she decides to excel at matters human. After a decade of worldly successes, she’s back home for her ten-year high school reunion. Yet, she feels just as insignificant as she did back in school–except with Sam Philmore, a fellow D.C. lawyer and past classmate. And her former secret crush. In just three days Kitty gets the bad memories, the good times, the bitter truth, and a mouthful of one very sexy man who just happens to be a mouse sometimes…

Genre: Paranormal/Shapeshifter/Contemporary/Romantic Comedy
Rating: Spicy
Book Length: Novella

Price: $3.99 (Excerpt below)

Hello AJ, it’s great to have you here.  We know you are very pregnant, so no going into labor while we’re here today. Save that for tomorrow.

Ha.  tomorrow doesn’t work for me either.  So we’ll schedule that labor for next week.

What type of books do you like to write?

I like romantic suspense and YA the best but I also write romantic comedies and series mysteries.

What made you decide to write a shifter book?

Someone mentioned writing a romantic comedy that was paranormal and I thought, “That sounds fun.”  So I did lol.  Not a lot of thought went into the decision.

This is your first book, are you excited?  Tell us all about it.

I think I’d be more excited if I wasn’t so tired.  Gestating makes things a lot less exciting.  Unless it’s cake.  Cake is still pretty exciting right now.

I’ll have to remember to send you some when I make my next one. Course that would mean I’d have to bake, so it might be a while. Now folks, I’ve read this story, and it’s as cute as can be.   But, a mouse?  The hero is a mouse?  But… But… I thought readers like alpha male types!
Actually, I think Sam is pretty alpha, even if he is a mouse sometimes.  He definitely isn’t afraid to go after what he wants and he expects to get it.  But, yes.  He is a mouse.  When I decided I wanted to write a funny shifter story I didn’t know what to focus on but my daughter loves Tom and Jerry for some inexplicable reason and it was playing and i thought, that would be funny.

But I wanted to turn it on it’s ear even more by making her the cat and him the mouse.

If you could be a shifter, what would you be, and why?
I’ve always wanted to be a fox.  I would totally chose to be a fox.

Thanks AJ for dropping in with us!  Do you have any final words for us before you run off into the world of motherhood and new babies?

I wish I had some amazing advice or pearls of wisdom but I’m not much for profundity right now.  I’m barely coherent.  So I’ll just say thanks for having me!

Now, before I provide you with a tasty, tease from this cute little book, let me tell you AJ is going to give one lucky commenter a copy of Cat And Mouse.  So comment away.  Tell us about your favorite funny book, shifter or other paranormal, and why you thought it was so cute!

Excerpt:

We wandered across the courtyard, deafened by the huge artificial spray of water as we crossed under the waterfall. The pair of us found a little niche between the pool at the bottom of the waterfall and a large—probably artificial— garden. We leaned against the stucco wall.

I ran my hand over my dress again, self conscious while Sam watched me. What could I do to get him to stop staring? “Do you like living in D.C.?”

“I’ve liked it better since two weeks ago.” He sounded so matter-of-fact I had to ask.

“What happened two weeks ago?”

He played with a random curl that couldn’t be shoved back in my twist. “I saw your name on the Montgomery list.”

Oh, God. My knees went weak, and it probably wasn’t the vodka. At least not all of it.

But it was the vodka and schnapps cruising through my veins that made me stand there limp, with blood pumping hot to all the right places, and not run away. It was the alcohol that made me capable of opening my mouth under his when Sam kissed me hard.

In another moment I would have fled if someone I hadn’t seen in years tried to slip me some tongue, especially considering one of us would probably have to be removed from the Montgomery case.

But not right now.

Sam tasted like cheesecake, high school fantasies, and man. I whimpered low in my throat while his stroking tongue worked magic on mine. Tangling my fingers into his hair, I got into the kiss.

It was a bad idea. But at the moment all I knew was he kissed like he meant it, felt like my wildest dreams, and had his hand on my ass. I don’t think two minutes passed before his tie was off, and my fingers were tangled in the crisp, dark hair on his muscled chest. My black skirt fit too tight to step between, but somehow it had managed to ride all the way up my thighs. Sam stood between my legs, his erection pressing unabashedly into me as we kissed with an insane level of abandon.

It had to be the alcohol. It had to be. God, he was so hot.

“I’ve wanted to kiss you for fourteen years,” he growled, nipping on the lobe of my ear. “Fourteen years of fantasizing about that pretty little mouth of yours.”

“Fourteen—” I gasped as he sucked my bottom lip into his mouth. “I don’t believe you,” I managed after he’d abandoned my mouth and moved to my neck.

“You should. It’s true.”

Buy Cat and Mouse today!

10 Comments

  1. Colleen said,

    AJ, Congrats on your first book! It sounds wonderful… I love the thought of an alpha kinda guy that turns into a mouse…😀 A relationship between a cat and a mouse, can not wait to see what happens! Thanks for introducing yourself to us…

  2. Sabrina Darby said,

    Nice interview, AJ. I really enjoyed your book. And can’t wait for more😉

  3. Emily said,

    My favorite funny paranormal to date is BITING NIXIE by Mary Hughes, a Samhain novel. Hysterical. Sitting in the dark, snickering to myself like a maniac funny. Not a shifter novel, sad to say.

    But I❤ AJ and she cracks me up and if anybody can write a funny shifter story, she can.

  4. cmtorrens said,

    Great interview and excellent excerpt. Congrats on your first book, AJ, and while gestating or not, cake is always exciting. lol.

  5. Rachel Jameson said,

    Congratulations on the book, AJ! Hope you’re having fun with it!

  6. mamadivine said,

    Congrats on your book. Great interview. I enjoyed your excerpt. Good luck with your future projects.

    Kimberly

  7. Linda Henderson said,

    Congratulations on your new book and your almost here baby. The Hexed books by Vicki Lewis Thompson were funny to me.

  8. AJ said,

    Thanks for dropping by everyone. Thanks Sabrina, I’m sure you’ll see much more lol. Thanks Emily. I’ll have to see if that book is still available too. I love snickering in the dark. CM, I agree. Cake is always exciting. But it’s more exciting while pregnant. Thanks Rachel and Mama. Linda, I’ve not read the hexed books but some of those nerd books kill me, so I’ll have to look those up.

  9. Chelsea B. said,

    Ohh, loved the excerpt! And a shapeshifter book that I really like is ‘Forbidden Nights with a Vampire’ by Kerrelyn Sparks. Her books are always a sure win for me. They always make me smile🙂

  10. Lisa N. said,

    Congrats on the new book!! It sounds like a great book and I can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

