October Update from Deborah Cooke

October 15, 2009 at 6:20 am (Deborah Cooke) (, , , , , )

What a busy month! But I’m making progress on my To Do list, one item at a time.

First up this month was the opening reception at the Toronto Public Library. I’m the writer-in-residence there for this month and next month, the first time that TPL has offered a residency focussed on the romance genre. The opening reception went really well and I had fun meeting many other authors. Later this month, there will be an online chat hosted by the library as part of their Book Buzz program – that will be on October 28th. And throughout this month and next, I’m building a blog for the library, which is a resource for aspiring writers about writing and publishing in the romance genre. You can check out the blog HERE – I’ll add a link for the online chat closer to the date.

I also just got home from the Emerald City Writers’ Conference hosted by the Greater Seattle RWA chapter, where I taught two workshops and gave the opening keynote. It was a terrific conference, attended by 250 people, and I had a great time. The bookfair was wonderful, not just for the opportunity to meet attendees but because it was open to the public.

Another exciting event this month was a complete surprise. Eloisa James gave my second fallen angel book, GUARDIAN, a great review in her column on the Barnes and Noble site, and made it the feature book for October on the reader forum. I was the guest author on October 5 there, which was a lot of fun.

Back at the home office, Niall’s book has gone into Production. That’s Dragonfire #5 and it will be out next August. I’ll tell you more about it when Delaney’s book has had its moment in the sun.

Because, yes, WINTER KISS will be on sale in just a few short weeks! You can read the excerpt and back copy HERE, an out-take scene HERE, and reviews HERE and HERE. I love this book and hope that you all enjoy it as well.

What’s next on my desk? Rafferty’s book, of course. But no spoilers on that any time soon.

I hope your October is busy and happy, and will be back to talk to you on November 3, when Delaney makes his debut in the world.

Happy reading in the meantime!
Deborah Cooke
Alive & Knitting blog

2 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    Poor Rafferty. His heroine is got to be someone really special to make him wait so long for her.😉

    Looking forward to Winter Kiss. Can’t wait!

  2. Deborah Cooke said,

    LOL Christina – you are all so impatient for Rafferty’s book, and you’ve been waiting two or three years. Rafferty has been waiting centuries and is comparatively serene.

    But yes, it’s going to be totally worth the wait for him. I’m excited about writing his story.

    d

Leave a Reply

