New Release!

September 21, 2009 at 12:57 pm (Larissa Ione)

Okay, so this isn’t shapeshifter related…maybe.

See, the Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance 2 releases tomorrow (includes stories by me and two other Shapeshifter Romance authors, Deborah Cooke and Jennifer St. Giles,) and as the title would suggest, it’s all about vampires.

But vampires can be shifters too, right? I mean, how can we forget all the old movies and old legends of the vampire shifting into a bat or a wolf?

Now, I’ve been scouring my brain trying to think of a vampire romance in which the vampires shifted…but I can’t think of any. Maybe Linda Lael Miller’s vampire books?

Anyway, I’m hoping to see some of vamps in the new Mammoth book shift. (Mine don’t, but it just doesn’t fit my Demonica world mythology.)

What about you? Do you know of any vampire romances that feature vamps who can shift into other creatures? I’d love to hear about them!

6 Comments

  1. Melissa said,

    Christine Feehans Carpathians shift…..into all sorts of different animals, and into vapor/mist. I haven’t read those in a while, but loved that they could shift into animals.

  2. Lillie A. said,

    Other than the Carpathians, the only one I can think of is Keri Arthur’s Riley Jensen series. But she’s half vamp/ half were so I don’t think that counts.

  3. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Christine Feehan’s do. She has one who always shifts into a tigress (a female) and in the book of hers I read last night, not only do both H/h shift into wolves, but they have “vampire wolves” who can become tatoos on their bodies. Kinda kewl if you think about it.🙂

  4. Beth C. said,

    My first thought along with everyone else was the Dark series by Christine Feehan. I think that is one of the vampire traits that gets left out of the myths. Maybe because they want to keep it separate from shifters? Don’t know but in the old 50s movies….there were bats and wolves around. What happened to them?

  5. DinahT said,

    Diane Whiteside’s Texas Vampires shift. With them they have to learn and understand an animal to shift to it.
    Emma Holly’s vamps shift also.

  6. anidaadler said,

    Many men are shifters, turning to bastards as soon as they have a ring on your finger! lol!

    Must say, I didn’t marry one of those, but I dated one😛

    I cannot personally think of a vampire romance I’ve read where the vamp shifts, but I now have a delicious load of suggestions from the above comments to add to my tbr pile.

Leave a Reply

