They Can Shapeshift…WHEN???

September 20, 2009 at 12:17 pm (General)

Creating an urban fantasy is fun. You build it from scratch, your world, your way. But what happens when readers are used to the world you’re creating being a different way? What happens when your world doesn’t meet the usual standards of similar fantasy worlds?

Welcome to my world!🙂 I enjoy reading other authors’ fantasy worlds also. I wouldn’t dream of theirs being just like mine. I wouldn’t dream of making mine just like theirs. In fact, when I wrote my first werewolf romance, Heart of the Wolf, I hadn’t read any werewolf romances, only had seen a few werewolf movies–most of which were horror, or in the one case, a teen comedy, and in another, Jack Nicolson’s story.

And so, my story is mine. As much as the imagination can create one’s own unique story.

Case in point–I had a fan mail asking why my werewolves can shift when the moon isn’t a full moon. In the old werewolf horror tales (which I don’t write), even if a cloud drifted over the full moon, the poor werewolf would automatically shift back from his hideous wolf monster form, to his crazed not-sure-what-happened human form. And then when that darned cloud moved again, there he was shifting back to monster wolfishness.

So nope, I don’t follow that line of reasoning in my stories. Not to say it isn’t perfect for the way the stories are written in these authors’ cases, it’s just not my world.

Why did I choose to have that my wolves can shift at any time during the month except during the new moon when the moon is barely visible? I wanted to have at least one phase of the moon where they couldn’t shapeshift. Why? It allows them respite from having to shift, and it also can cause a heck of a lot more trouble–sometimes. If the reverse were true where they could only shapeshift during the full moon, do you realize how infrequently they could shift?

My editor wouldn’t buy it. Werewolf stories are about werewolves and they have to be a wolf for a good part of the story. That’s what she tells me.🙂

And no, the moon doesn’t have to be visible either. They can feel the moon’s pull. They know which phases the moon is in. Which means, they can live in Oregon and shapeshift away, still!! For anyone who doesn’t know, it’s cloudy in Oregon a lot!🙂

I read a werewolf romance recently, that followed a lot of the old horror tale and I was so suprised, not expecting it at all. But it was fun to read! But it was the–man doesn’t know if when he shifts, he’s killing people, wears wolfbane to keep from shifting, etc. And no one believes there are werewolves. The heroine’s human and can’t believe the people popping in and out of her room through her balcony are werewolves.🙂 Except of course for all the doggy tracks on her balcony.🙂

Diversity is the spice of life.

So if you’re looking for something new, To Tempt the Wolf just came out! Deadly Liaisons will be out in January (vampire romantic suspense), and in February, Legend of the White Wolf!

Have a super Sunday!

Terry Spear

“Giving new meaning to the term alpha male!”

www.terryspear.com

4 Comments

  1. Beth C. said,

    I do like different but I also would like to see some standard things used more.

    I don’t read a lot of vampire stuff anymore. The differences were all the same. Either someone could stand sunlight or not, they either drank blood or lifeforce or energy/power, etc. Many people have left out that a) vampires can’t cross running water b) have to be invited into the house c) don’t cast a reflection. Some interesting things have been dropped in favor of more of the same stuff. I got bored and moved onto other paranormals.

    I still love wolfs. Although there are 4 basic ways to become a werewolf (a) you’re cursed by someone, b) you use a spell and animal skin to become one, c) you’re bitten by a werewolf and become one or d) you’re born to it.) I can name authors for each type and their stories are all different and still interesting.

    Vamps…oh look another guy who didn’t want to die ends up a vamp…whoo-is-me until the right girl comes along. (okay heavy on the sarcasm there sorry)

    Different is good so long as there is a reason.

  2. terryspear said,

    🙂 I agree, Beth!🙂

  3. Cathy said,

    I have read over 1,000 paranormal books and close to 300 authors in this genre. What brings me back to an author is her/his unique view on the world they create and how interesting the story flows. I am reading your 3rd book Terry and plan to pick up the 4th as soon as I can. I like the werewolves you have created.

  4. terryspear said,

    Oh, wow, Cathy, that’s an incredible number of books and authors!🙂 I love reading the paranormal, in fact was just reading about 4 people who have super memories who can’t forget any date that goes into their memory banks. Sounds like a story in the making!🙂

    Thanks so much about To Tempt the Wolf!!! I’m glad you’re enjoying it! I’m having a ball working on Plight of the Wolf, Carol’s story (Book 6).🙂 It looks like it will be out in October. They’ve moved Leidolf’s story, Seduced by the Wolf back to August. But I have Deadly Liaisons coming also in January, if you want to take a look at one of my vampire romantic suspenses!🙂 Thanks again, Cathy!!!

Leave a Reply

