September Update from Deborah Cooke

September 15, 2009 at 6:04 am (Deborah Cooke) (, , , , , , , )

There’s something about September. Maybe it’s the habit of getting ready to go back to school – even long after we’ve finished doing that! – or maybe it’s the fall snap in the air. Either way, there’s a new energy afoot in September. I find myself with lots to do each year, and lots of initiative to get things done. Septembers in publishing then start to perpetuate their energy, as most print books spend a year in the production cycle. This year, you’ll see the fruits of what I wrote last year – and what I write this year will be out next fall.

So, what’s coming up? First of all, I have a novella in the anthology THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF VAMPIRE ROMANCE II – this is the one with the steampunk vampire chick on the cover. It’s my first vampire piece and I had fun with it – my contribution is called “Coven of Mercy.” The antho goes on sale September 22 but it looks as if Amazon has it in stock now.

Next up will be book #2 in my future-set fantasy romance series, featuring fallen angel heroes in a post-nuclear, pre-Apocalyptic world. GUARDIAN goes on sale September 30, and is the sequel to FALLEN. Tanzey at FreshFiction wrote a wonderful review which you can read HERE. You can read the cover copy and an excerpt – and check out the gorgeous cover! – right HERE.

Next up will be book #4 in my Dragonfire series from NAL Eclipse. WINTER KISS is Delaney’s story, and tells of his quest to eliminate the Dragon’s Blood Elixir. Of course, he isn’t planning on having his firestorm right in the middle of his mission, much less on the force of nature that is Ginger Sinclair. Tanzey was quick with reviews this summer – you can read the Fresh Fiction review of this book HERE. You can read the cover copy and an excerpt – and check out another gorgeous cover! – right HERE. WINTER KISS goes on sale November 3.

I will be the opening keynote speaker at the Emerald City Writers’ Conference in early October, plus I’ll be teaching a workshop. There’s a booksigning associated with the conference, as well, one that I believe is open to the public. I will be doing a couple of booksignings in Toronto at the beginning of November with both new titles – you can always check out my schedule on THIS PAGE of my blog.

And finally, I will be the writer-in-residence at the Toronto Public Library in October and November of this year. There are several public events associated with the residency – these are free events, but you need to register with the library that you plan to attend. One will be an intro to me and the residency, and for the other, we’ll have a panel discussion with an editor and agent about the other side of the business. If you’re too far away to attend, there is also a blog associated with the residency, which will launch on October 5. We’ll talk about the romance genre, about writing and publishing, and will have some guest bloggers, too. This is the first time that the TPL has offered a residency focussed on the romance genre, so I’m honoured to have gotten the post – and I think it will be a lot of fun! More information about the residency is posted HERE.

Phew! I think that’s enough to keep me out of mischief, don’t you?

Deborah Cooke
blogging most weekdays at Alive & Knitting

2 Comments

  1. Beth C. said,

    Everyone seems especially busy right now. I haven’t seen some friends for months now and we used to see each other once a week or so. Such is life. But hey, kids are in school. One less worry for half a day. 🙂

    Good luck with your schedule.

  2. Ally said,

    Seeing that schedule makes me think “and I thought my schedule was busy.” Now to just fill out the ‘ol To Do list and start checking things off.

Leave a Reply

