BOM: Amazon Ink, Lori Devoti

August 28, 2009 at 5:00 am (Book of the Month Club, General, New Releases, Reviews) (, , , , )

amazonink250webPublisher: Pocket Books
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release Date: May 26, 2009
ISBN: 978-1439154274

It’s been ten years since Melanippe Saka left the Amazon tribe in order to create a normal life for her daughter, Harmony. True, running a tattoo parlor in Madison, Wisconsin, while living with your Amazon warrior mother and priestess grandmother is not everyone’s idea of normal, but Mel thinks she’s succeeded at blending in as human.

Turns out she’s wrong. Someone knows all about her, someone who’s targeting young Amazon girls, and no way is Mel going to let Harmony become tangled in this deadly web. With her mother love in overdrive, Ms. Melanippe Saka is quite a force…even when she’s facing a barrage of distractions — including a persistent detective whose interest in Mel goes beyond professional, a sexy tattoo artist with secrets of his own, and a seriously angry Amazon queen who views Mel as a prime suspect. To find answers, Mel will have to do the one thing she swore she’d never do: embrace her powers and admit that you can take the girl out of the tribe…but you can’t take the tribe out of the girl.

Hi everyone! I sincerely hope that you’ve been enjoying the summer as I have. Playing taxi to my increasingly busy teenagers, working, and still trying to get in the occasional barbeque, I barely found time to read Lori’s latest. Barely was the key word so you know I did and here it is!

I really wasn’t sure how I’d appreciate such a strong female character, but Mel kinda grew on me. It was quite entertaining to watch her struggles as a Mom with a teen, since I can so relate to that! I reflected back on my own family frequently throughout the novel. Isn’t it true that all families have skeletons in their closet and as our children mature, we decide when and if to reveal them. Mel I think it’s time to explain the Amazons in the front yard even if you have a clever cover story. Children these days are a lot smarter than we give them credit for. If you think you know when your child is lying, look at it from their eyes as well. Your child more than likely knows she is being lied to. I found this book to be very hip, up to date, and dead on,  repeatedly a typical day in the life of a teenage girl. Drama, drama, drama! Lori brings alluring mystique, and non stop excitement to a basic who dunnit, with a very interesting history lesson of an extinct and mythical culture. I even liked the who dunnit part, I usually don’t read mysteries well, but this one kept me turning pages and guessing until the end.  So if you want  an intriguing mystery that’s written for today’s mom with a little SciFi thrown in for good measure. Read Lori Devoti’s new book, Amazon Ink! You’ll have a great time and maybe gain a little insight as to which battles you should pick.

∞ Penelope Fitzgerald
Don’t forget! Post your comments for your chance to win a book from next month’s featured author, Deborah Cooke

7 Comments

  1. Pamk said,

    I really need to get this book. Love the cover and sounds like a great read.

  2. Colleen said,

    Wonderful cover… I love the sound of this book!!! I have to get a copy!😀

  3. Chelsea B. said,

    The book sounds great! And I to love the cover! Love the TAT in neon lights and how it kinda lights up the scene🙂

  4. Barb P said,

    I love Lori’s books. I have to admit though that I have not had a chance to read Amazon Ink yet. It looks fantastic!

  5. Deidre said,

    Sounds really intriguing! A heroine running a tattoo parlor….definitely a new one.

    Deidre

  6. Penelope Fitzgerald said,

    Thanks everyone! Now hurry up and go get it, you know you got the extra time now that school has started.

  7. Colleen said,

    Back again… last time I was very late on posting for the last BOM book… Well I have to admit, that I found AMAZON INK to be a very interesting read. The book had my attention from start to finish. Loved the twists and turns. Devoti definitely has a winner here… Cheers!!!😀

Leave a Reply

