Guest Author, Pamela Palmer

August 25, 2009 at 5:42 am (Author Interviews, General, Guest Bloggers)

Pamela Palmer

Pamela Palmer

Edited to add the rest of Pamela’s awesome book covers!

Hello everyone!  Shout out a great big SSR welcome to our guest, Pamela Palmer, who writes for both Nocturne and Avon, as well as writes under the name Pamela Montgomerie.  Today we’re here to talk about Pamela’s exciting and heart pounding Feral Warrior series and to celebrate the release of her exciting newest book, Passion Untamed!

Thanks for having me, Teresa!

Now Pamela, I first heard of you at the RWA National conference.  I saw one of your cards in the goodie room and remember thinking “Now this is my kind of author.”  So of course the instant I got home, I hit the internet to learn more about you.  After reading your books, I thought it would be great to introduce you to our readers.  So start off by telling us a little bit about yourself.

I sold my first book, THE DARK GATE, to Silhouette Nocturne in May 2006 through Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart Contest and have since sold a total of twelve books and a novella to three different publishers. I write the dark paranormal Esri series for Nocturne and the Feral Warriors shape-shifter series for Avon, both as Pamela Palmer, but I took the pseudonym Pamela Montgomerie for my time travel series for Berkley. My first four single titles hit stores this summer – SAPPHIRE DREAM from Berkley and the first three books in my Feral Warriors series, DESIRE UNTAMED, OBSESSEION UNTAMED, and PASSION UNTAMED, which hits shelves today.

Paranormal is considered a relatively new subgenre of romance, despite a history of it tucked away in many non-romance books (Dark Shadows is the ultimate paranormal romance way back when.)  Have you always been drawn toward the paranormal?

In one way or another, definitely. When I was five, my favorite book was about dinosaurs. I know that’s science rather than fiction, but you can’t get much ‘bigger-than-life’. It wasn’t much of a stretch from imagining dinosaurs roaming the earth to imagining shape-shifters, vampires, elves, etc. I started watching Star Trek re-runs when I was ten and fell in love with the idea of fascinating worlds beyond our own. These days I can’t get enough of it. LOST, True Blood, Buffy, Lord of the Rings, Terminator – you name it, I can’t get enough of it! I love seeing (and putting) ordinary people into extraordinary circumstances, then watching as they discover they’re not as ordinary as they thought they were.

Why do think this genre is so enormously popular right now?

Personally, I think it’s because it takes one of the elements I’ve always loved about historicals (that delicious imbalance of physical power between the sexes) and brings it into our world. In modern society, power comes from job title, money, military rank, etc. In ancient times, power was much more about physical strength. There’s something incredibly sexy about a physically powerful, dangerous male who finds himself unable to be anything but tender with the woman he loves. A sexy doctor is fun, sure, but given the choice, I’ll take a dangerous vampire or a powerful, bare-chested, shape-shifter any day.

I”m with you, and you do have some powerfully sexy bare-chested shapeshifters.  I had to wipe the drool from my kindle. I”m always up for some strong, sexy men who don’t seem to understand the concept of “Politically correct.”

While checking out some of your reviews, one of the reviewers commented on the violence in your books. I think the reason for the comment was not that you depict violence, for most paranormal books do, but you depict violence toward innocent humans as opposed to other paranormal creatures. Do you think this is a fair statement?

There are a lot of ways to do fantasy. My way is to create a fantastical world, then make it as real as I can. No sugar-coating. No pulling punches. If I have a shape-shifter who can’t keep his clothes on when he shifts, he’s going to be naked a lot. If I have a villain who feeds on emotions like pain and fear, and he has no conscience, logic tells me he’s going after humans. Not only are we easy prey, but the immortals are the ones trying to catch him, so his own survival demands he avoid them. My aim isn’t to make my books violent, but rather to make the stakes sky-high, not only for the immortals, but for the reader. The threat to humanity isn’t theoretical, it’s already happening right there on the page. If my heroes fail, we’re all in trouble.

So we pray those wonderfully sexy heroes never fail!  You are so right though.  The more realistic the danger, the higher the stakes for the reader.  I can guarantee I didn’t want to put either of your books down because of that danger and fear.  My heart was pounding as I shouted “NO!  Don’t let it happen.”  And for those who haven’t read her books yet, I won’t tell you what that was.  You’ll just have to read it yourself to find out.

So, Pamela, tell us about this new Feral Warrior shape-shifter series of yours!

Ah, so glad you asked. : ) The premise behind the Feral Warriors is that eons ago, before the rise of human civilization, two immortal races battled the Daemons for control of the earth — the Mage, or magic ones, and the Therians, the mighty shape-shifters. Though traditional enemies, the Mage and Therians banded together to overcome the High Daemon, Satanan, ending his reign of terror and destroying his armies. But to win that ultimate battle, both races were forced to mortgage nearly all their power. Only one Therian among each of the ancient lines of shape-shifters was left with the power of his animal. Nine remain. They’re called the Feral Warriors. But dark forces are gathering, determined to raise Satanan and his horde once more, and the nine are the only ones who stand between us and destruction.

These books are romances, each featuring a different couple in the lead roles, but they’re also high-action, high-adventure paranormal thrillers, each book another chapter of the greater story.

In book 3, PASSION UNTAMED, Paenther is faced with his worst nightmare when he falls for the seduction of a passionuntamedmmcsweet beauty and finds himself chained in a Mage lair, the captive of the witch and her evil companions.

Though the Mage witch Skye has a gentle heart, demonic forces have enslaved her, forcing her to kidnap Paenther, a powerful and dangerous Feral Warrior. Even chained and naked, Paenther is a cunning prisoner who seduces her, body and soul, turning captive into captor. Paenther’s pride demands revenge against the enchantress who emerged from the deep woods like a sensual vision and enthralled him, even as she makes his body burn with passion. Despite his fury over her treachery, Skye’s gentle beauty calls to his soul, calming the wild chaos within him, and stealing his heart. But when evil threatens, Paenther and Skye’s only chance at survival is to trust in one another…and the power of love.

Passion Untamed is Book 3 in the Feral Warriors series.

Excerpt:

His muscles corded as he fought the chains with every ounce of strength he possessed until his skin was damp with sweat. But the chains didn’t budge. He was pinned fast, his arms trapped above his head, his legs spread and tethered.

Ah, goddess. If only you’d stopped me. There was no fate worse. He’d have sold his soul to have escaped this.

Heaven help him. His soul was probably the very thing the witch wanted. To finish what the Mage had started all those years ago – tearing him loose from his animal once and for all.

He caught her scent, that delicate, damning smell of violets. She stepped into the doorway, the ethereal beauty who’d shown him heaven between her thighs then captured him in her net of bewitchment. Lust slammed into him all over again.

Even as hatred seared its way through his blood, his gaze drank in the sight of her. She was slender, with few curves revealing themselves beneath the soft, shapeless blue dress. But her short hair accentuated a long, graceful neck and features that were too fine, too delicate for a cold-hearted witch.

Mage or not, she stole his breath.

She watched him, her eyes wary, as she gently stroked the rabbit in her arms. At her side, a doe pressed her head against the witch’s hip while several excited squirrels chased one another around her ankles.

He’d thought she was human.

Closing his eyes against the sight of her, he prayed that grave error didn’t turn out to be the last mistake he ever made.

It’s wonderful visiting with the Shapeshifter Romance Blog group!

Pamela also is available at the following sites:

http://www.facebook.com/PamelaPalmer

http://pamelapalmer.net/index.htm

Obsession Untamed

Obsession Untamed

Now that we’ve teased you, Pamela has offered to give away ONE copy of Passion Untamed!  This is a time I wish I was eligible for it, cause hubby has stolen my Kindle and doesn’t wanna give it back.  The brat.  Guess I’ll have to wait to read Passion Untamed this weekend.  So, one person who comments between now and next Tuesday will win a copy of Passion Untamed.  Ask your questions and have a little fun.  While you’re at it, why not tell us, if you have read one of Pamela’s previous books, which has your favorite character?  For me, I’m really looking forward to Paenther, the teaser in Obsession Untamed was enough to really peak my curiosity!

36 Comments

  1. Hales said,

    Now that I’ve had my coffee and a teaser of what’s to come… I can’t wait. Thank you for inviting me. I enjoyed reading the interview and learning about an author I haven’t yet had the opportunity to read. I enjoy paranormal and reading all aspects violent nature or not. I do love a good man bad to the bone though. So I’m sure I’ll be drooling myself!

    Hales

  2. Chris said,

    Um… I might have to read this just to take reading breaks and drool on the cover!

  3. Teresa D'Amario said,

    They are pretty awesome, aren’t they, Chris? all three of them are.

  4. Pamela Palmer said,

    Hey ladies! I have to admit, the cover of Passion Untamed is my favorite, but the other two are pretty amazing, too. Take a look at http://www.pamelapalmer.net. They’re front and center on my home page. The Avon art department outdid themselves with these boys.

  5. Jacke' said,

    Wow, can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of these books. They sound just right to tuck me in at night. I have not read any of your stuff YET, but am looking forward to running to the bookstore tonight to look for you.😀

  6. Teresa W said,

    I’m always looking for new authors and series to read, sounds good! tWarner419@aol.com

  7. Pamela Palmer said,

    Thanks for adding the other covers, Teresa!

  8. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Hey, Eye candy is definitely allowed on this blog. LOL.

  9. Crystal B. said,

    Great interview. Pamela’s books sound great! Fabulous covers.

  10. chris swan said,

    WOW book sounds fantastic. I love the cover too!

  11. EMoore said,

    Thanks for some great reading and eye candy. I gobbled up the first two books, two weeks ago in 3 days and have been eagerly awaiting the 3rd book and it downloaded to my Kindle this morning yippeeee. Do you happen to know how many more Feral Warriors we get to drool over in the near future?????? Jag, Kougar, Hawke and Wulfe OH MY, drool drool

  12. Pamela Palmer said,

    So glad you enjoyed the first two! I have a Feral novella in the Bitten by Cupid anthology coming out Dec. 29th with Lynsay Sands and Jaime Rush. None of the Ferals stars (they get books, not novellas), but several show up in the tale, and the story reveals some things you’re going to want to know. Book 4, Rapture Untamed, comes out July 2010 and it’s Jag’s book. After that, I’m not 100% sure, but I think Kougar’s story is going to be next. Books 4-6 are already under contract, but if readers are enjoying the series, there will be plenty more!

  13. Rebecca York said,

    Hey, Pam, nice to see you here!

  14. Pamela Palmer said,

    Hey, Ruth! It’s wonderful to be here. : )

  15. Chelsea B. said,

    I’ve never read any of your books, Pamela, but they look awesome! Seriously, the covers are fantastic😉 Can’t wait to check one out!🙂

  16. PAMELA PALMER FERAL WARRIOR SERIES | Open Society Book Club Discussions and Reviews said,

    […] Complete interview here […]

  17. Pamela Palmer said,

    Thanks Chelsea! And thanks to everyone else who’s read the interview and drooled over…uh, commented on…my covers. : )

  18. Hales said,

    I missed the whole convo. Thank goodness it’s all up here. I love the book covers and can’t wait to lose myself in the stories!

    Hales

  19. Keila said,

    Just finished reading the first 2 books in 3 days and can’t wait for Passion Untaimed.
    OMG the scenes are so hot and intense….LOVE IT.

  20. I told you there would be more… | Literary Escapism said,

    […] Pamela Palmer, author of the Passion Untamed, by Shapeshifter Romance […]

  21. Michele said,

    Hi Pamela!

    Great interview, you have me intrigued. So glad you stopped by because I have not read any of your work. I love to be introduced to someone new, will be adding your books to my TBR list🙂 I did want to ask you, you said you write as Pamela Montgomerie under Berkley for a time travel series. Can you give some background on the series and I’m assuming SAPPHIRE DREAM is the first in this series?

    Can’t wait to start reading your books🙂

  22. Pamela Palmer said,

    Wonderful, Keila!

    Michele, yes, SAPPHIRE DREAM is the first in the time travel series which Berkley is now calling the Jewels of Time. The sequel, AMETHYST DESTINY comes out next summer. The time travel element is a wee little man (think Rumplestiltskin) with a handful of magic stones. In SAPPHIRE DREAM, the heroine, who is wearing the Sapphire, inadvertently gets flung back in time and finds herself on a pirate ship off the coast of 17th century Scotland, at the heart of a deadly prophesy. The hero, the ship’s captain, knows the prophesy and wants nothing to do with it or her. The villain wants her dead. The story is very much an action adventure romance and was a ton of fun to write.

  23. Melissa said,

    I haven’t read them yet, but I just added them to my TBB list~~I’m hearing awesome things all over the net, so I can’t wait to read. I’d love to win one!!

  24. Barb P said,

    Hi Pamela! I hope that I’m not too late to throw my hat into the ring. I have read your Esri series through Nocturne and loved them. I have not yet had a chance to start this series. They sound FANTASTIC! I have added them to my TBB and TBR list.

  25. Pamela Palmer said,

    Hi Melissa,
    I’m delighted you’re hearing good things about the Feral Warriors! I hope you enjoy them.

    Hey Barb,
    I love meeting another Esri fan! I still have two more books coming out in that series. I’m working on the last one, now. The Feral Warrior books are just as dark and action-packed as my Esri, though a little edgier, thanks to the single-title format. Though I have to say, Nocturne let me get by with just about anything.

  26. Beth C. said,

    Slightly late to the party. Love those teasers. More books to be added to the buy list. Congrats on all the sales.

  27. Colleen said,

    Love those covers!!! I have not had the pleasure of reading your books yet, but I am looking forward to them!😀

  28. Pamela Palmer said,

    Thanks, Beth!

    Wonderful, Colleen!

  29. Cathy said,

    I read Dark Gate Nd have Dark Deceiver on the dresser to read.
    This series sounds great, don’t know how I missed it before. Looking forward to it.

  30. Michele said,

    Thanks Pamela for the background on your Jewels of Time series. I’m very interested and excited because my bookstore has a copy of SAPPHIRE DREAM🙂 Will be picking my copy up tomorrow!!!!

  31. Kainani said,

    I haven’t read the books yet but I’ve had my eye on them. I was waiting for Passion Untamed to come out so that I can read all 3 back to back. If I don’t win, I’m for sure going to B&N to get all three. After reading comment from readers that have read the book, I’m even more excited and anxious.

    Pamela I also like cover of Passion Untamed and I like how you have all 3 cover front and center of your website. It’s very eye catching.

  32. Bob53 said,

    To what extent was the outpouring of grief for Diana a cloaked expression of misery in the mourners’ own lives or a vicarious release of frustrations? ,

  33. No_limits65 said,

    Thus the semantic map model has the status of a heuristic for discovering the parameters of human conceptualization. ,

  34. Розина Миловановна said,

    Здравствуйте. Вот меня, как консультанта из Белоруси, беспокоит вопрос о отношении к нам, так сказать к тем, кто только начинает свою карьеру… Поговаривают, что в других странах накануне праздников, консультантов поздравляют, дарят подарки, а не обходятся банальной открыткой, как это делается у нас… Ведь это же действительно и приятно и понимаешь, что тебя хоть капельку, но уважают. Расскажите, как у Вас с этим?

  35. Blythe said,

    Who are the cover models for the Feral Warrior novels??? particularly Passion Untamed. . . . . . ???????

  36. Sue Hess said,

    will there be another Feral Warrior book after Ecyasy? Have to know what happened to Kara. Please don’t leave us hanging.

Leave a Reply

