The Book I Don’t Want to be a Shapeshifter

August 21, 2009 at 9:54 am (Larissa Ione)

Starting a new book is always exciting. Usually I’ve been thinking about it for months, and I know exactly how it’s going to start. It’s all fresh and shiny, and usually the first chapter flows really well and really fast. I love that.

And I’m happy to say that my newest project, my 5th Demonica book, is still flowing like that in chapter 5. YAY! I am absolutely loving this book. I think it’s going to end up being a favorite — a very, very close second to Passion Unleashed.

Someone asked me the other day which books (of mine and the Croft novels) were my favorites, and which were the least favorites. And you know, when it comes to the books you’ve written, it’s easy to pick favorites (though maybe not the #1 favorite,) but picking ones you don’t like so much? Much harder.

Because in the process of writing the books, you do have ones that behave well, and you have others that fight you every step of the way. You just have to hope that the books that fought you, the ones who were the rotten kids, turn out to be upstanding adults. And by the time you’re done with copyedits and galleys, you sit back and look at your monster child, smile, and think, wow…we did it. That book is a shapeshifter of the oddest kind, going from unruly brat to a perfectly behaved gentleman.

So anyway, the point of this rather rambling post is that the new book is so far not a shapeshifter — even though there are several of them IN the book. *g*

Authors, have you written any shapeshifter books? Books that started out well but then kicked your butt, or books that kicked your butt but turned out decent?

Readers? Have you read books that started well turned into something awful? Or that you didn’t think you’d get through, but somehow, the book redeemed itself?

Have a great weekend, everyone!

5 Comments

  1. Tori said,

    As a reader, I had a real hard time getting into the Twilight series books. Maybe I was intimidated by how long they are…not sure. But, I LOVE vamps, so I wanted to give it a shot (this was a while ago…before all the hype from the movie). Once I got started, I read all four in about 10 days.

  2. The Book I Don't Want to be a Shapeshifter « Shapeshifter Romance | Partner Connection said,

    […] Read this article: The Book I Don't Want to be a Shapeshifter « Shapeshifter Romance […]

  3. Linda Henderson said,

    I think the most trouble I had reading a book was The Hobbitt. It took me about 6 months. I had to force myself to finish it. Just wasn’t my cup of tea. After that I decided to enjoy the Lord Of The Rings movies without reading the books. I have a pet peeve about finishing a book I start. No matter how bad it is, I will eventually finish it. Not that I have that problem with your books.

  4. Hilda said,

    Hmm, yes, The Hobbit was particularly hard to read – not as in grammar hard, but I just wasn’t hooked. I started years ago and still I haven’t finished it. *sigh*
    The Vampire Diaries is a shapeshifter book – kind of. I was bored as soon as I started reading but I was determined to finish it. Turns out the book got good in the last few chapters, I couldn’t stop reading. I might give the following books a chance and I hope they’re as good as the last few chapters of the first book.
    But your books don’t come with that problem. They’re great when you begin, they’re better when you’re in the middle, and you’re absolutely in love with all the characters and the story-line by the time you’re done. I can’t wait for Lore’s story and whoever’s story that comes next! =)

  5. Blog >> Larissa Ione – Paranormal Romance Author said,

    […] I'm over at the Shapeshifter Romance blog, talking about books that shapeshift. Yes, books. You know, the ones that start off good and turn […]

Leave a Reply

