It’s Gotta Have A Twist

August 12, 2009 at 1:00 am (General)

twist_mainThe tried and true vampires and werewolves are very popular. One would cringe to wonder if they might currently be TOO popular. Surely this glut of paranormal romance has to end soon? (Not that I want it to, mind you.) But it makes a reader nervous. I mean look at historicals. Years back they were the hot thing. Now, they’re still out there, but they’re just not getting the attention they deserve.

Trends come and go in the romance genre. I have a feeling paranormal is here to stay. But it won’t stick around for long in the form of the same-old/same-old. In order to stay, it has to evolve and change a bit, give the reader a new twist on an old classic.

I just read about an author who at the RWA conference was chatting with friends about what it would have been like if vampires were around during Shakespeare’s time. She went home, dashed out a proposal, and sold the book less than a week later—because she put a twist on the classic vampire. How cool is that?

We’re seeing lots of interesting twists lately. Steampunk vampires. Military werewolves. Demons who work in ERs. I’m sure the list is remarkable. And I’d like to hear about some of the current trendy twists in the paranormal genre.

What’s the coolest paranormal romance you’ve read lately? What twist did the story have that made it different from the classics? Is that what attracted you to the book? Or do you prefer the classic mythology for your paranormal romances, such as vampires who shy of garlic?

I’ve started yet another blog (I’m a bit addicted to blogging). It’s all about vampires all the time. Check it out here: http://vampchix.blogspot.com

Michele

4 Comments

  1. Beth C. said,

    I have to say my favorite paranormal series is Nalini Singh’s Psi/Changling series. Mainly because it’s a nice mix of shapeshifters and psi powers. Both are things I like and don’t think we have enough of.

    Steampunk doesn’t really interest me much. It’s okay but I’m not going to be buying everything in sight. I prefer time travels. Although I do love Ilona Andrews Kate Daniels Urban Fantasy series. Nice mix of Magic and Technology with magic, shifters and vampires.

  2. Melissa said,

    I have to admit you mentioned it….I love Larissa Ione’s Demon hospital.
    I read the first one, and was totally hooked on something new and different for me.
    I love Shelly Laurenston and Christine Warren’s shifters and para’s because of the humor and lol, the total meaness of some of the characters. That’s a funny quirk, I know, but I love it.

  3. Cathy said,

    I still like my historicals, but I have to admit I don’t read as many as I used to. I love shapeshifters, but get disappointed with most Urbane Fantasy unless there is a romance in it. I just finished Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews (good story), but this is the 3rd and they haven’t made it past kissing, let alone a relationship.
    I liked a storyline Sherrilyn Kenyon started that had all my favorites, shapeshifter (Dragon!), time travel, historical and romance. She only did a novella that will be re-released in an anthropology soon, Dagonswan.
    Shelly Laurenston did a historical/fantasy Distressing the Dragon that has been re-released as About A Dragon and 2 more squeals. No time travel, but a historical-fantasy type setting, Dragon shapeshifters and lots of swords, no guns.
    Also like comic, humor aspect of some authors: Katie MacAlister, Allyson James, Stephanie Rowe.
    I’m in a dragon mood tonight! can ya tell!
    I don’t care much for demon stories, but Larissa Ione put a great twist on her series and I’m looking forward to the 4th book.

  4. Toni Leland said,

    Shapeshifters are the most fascinating subject I can imagine! When I began researching for A Garden of Secrets, I was astounded at the history of this concept, and the facts became so important as I wrote that I almost lost track of the original idea of the story. Dragons have been with me since I was a child and it was wonderful to include these creatures in my book. Vampires never interested me until Twilight! Now, well you can guess. LOL
    Sherilyn Kenyon is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

