Do Your Shapeshifters Own Pets???

July 16, 2009 at 9:00 pm (General) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

Dreamstime© Djk Dreamstime© Djk.jpg

On another author blog I belong to one of the authors asked if anyone included pets in their romances or enjoyed reading romances that included pets. But she specifically excluded werewolves.

First, werewolves are not anyone’s pet.🙂 But I do have a pet in a werewolf story coming out the fall 2010. dad%20with%20pups%20greg%20koch

In that story, the heroine had been changed, but she had owned a cat. So now what happens? Pets can add conflict, humor, an extra something special to a story.

But in a shapeshifter story, the dynamics are a little different. Not only do we have a human who owns a…well, cat for instance, but a wolf who does.🙂 And what about the hunky werewolf hero? How will he react to having a cat in the household?

 Dogs can be allergic to grass. Can they be allergic to cats? Can wolves?🙂

Writing about other worlds is fun because considering things that we just take for granted in our lives, for another species, the rules can be different.  To an extent, I try to make it as realistic as possible. On the other hand, some is just pure fantasy. Because I’m sure there are not too many wolf packs out there that have adopted a cat.🙂 And certainly, it would be difficult to find a lot of werewolf packs who own pets.🙂

So what do you think? Do your shapeshifters have pets? And what is the best kind of pet for the type of shifter you love if you had to go out and buy them one?

Terry Spear

www.terryspear.com

3 Comments

  1. Cathy said,

    My daughter and husband have 2 cats, a 12 years old and another almost 2 years. They just bought their first house and decided to get a dog. The dog is a great Dane 65lb baby. She has finally decided the cats are hers and makes them sleep with her when she is in the house. It is funny to watch, but since she is only a pup the cats humor her.

    So I’d say my shapeshifters can have pets.

  2. Nalini Singh said,

    Great topic. I had to comment because my shapeshifters do have pets – I have a couple of young leopard changelings (they’re only little) in my latest book who have a pet kitten. It is cause for comment *grin*

  3. terryspear said,

    Hi, Cathy,
    I’ve had cats and dogs who adored each other. Maybe not at first. My cat wasn’t too thrilled I had added a husband, and then a baby. Then came the Lab puppy. But she ended up sleeping against the Lab as the puppy grew older. And when I had a black kitten and black standard poodle, the kitten thought the poodle was his mother. He wound around her legs constantly. At first, she about clung to the ceiling over it, but eventually they’d sleep together.🙂 So I agree with you.🙂

    Hi, Nalini, that’s cute. I think that would be fun.🙂 And I can just visualize!

Leave a Reply

