Tweets, Friends and Blogs

July 13, 2009 at 11:01 am (General)

I know, I know, there are so many means to promote and discuss online lately.  MySpace, FaceBook, Twitter, GoodReads, blogs, websites, etc.  If ever a reader had picked up a book and wondered “I’d like to find out more about this author” now is the time that can happen.  Ten years ago it wouldn’t have been as easy.  But now, we’re everywhere!

So I jumped on the FaceBook bandwagon a little over a month ago.  I was initially worried about keeping my family members and friends apart from the readers and fans.  Didn’t think one would want to read about the other.  But no worries, it doesn’t really work that way, and heck, I’ve just been having fun with FB.  I’m not a huge promoter.  When I have a book out, I’ll blog about it, and it shows on FB, and I link my contests to it, and will post about writing.  But mostly I just like connecting with friends and readers.  It hasn’t become a timesuck for me…yet.  Five minutes, a couple times a day, seems to work.
You can find me here: http://www.facebook.com/michelehauf

I also signed on to Twitter.  I’m still trying to figure out the promotional value to Twitter.  Because believe me, my daily life is just too boring to be interesting enough to grab Followers.  But I would like to figure how to use it to increase my readership.  I recently started a Twibe (a group of Twitterers) for vampire readers and writers called VampChix.  I’d like it to become a group of like minds who chat about their fav vamp books and movies.  Is that possible on Twitter?  Who knows?  But it’s worth a try.
Find me Twittering here: http://www.twitter.com/michelehauf
And Twibing here: http://www.twibes.com/group/VampChix

As well, I thought to link a blog to the VampChix Twibe.  It’s in it’s infancy right now (only one post) because I’m hoping to get suggestions as to what people really need from a blog right now.  I know, there are SO MANY blogs out there, why do we need another?  I’m not sure why, but I sort of have this compulsion to just start up new things when the idea strikes.  Hee.  
Find the VampChix blog here: http://vampchix.blogspot.com

So if you like vampires, and have some ideas for things you’re missing online, but would like to see, email me, or stop by the blog, or even join our Twibe.  I want to use these amazing online groups and tools in the best way possible, but I think that can only work when we all join and share our thoughts and visions.

Michele

Leave a Reply

