Upcoming 2009 Movies

July 13, 2009 at 8:00 am (Marcia Colette) ()

I’m such a movie whore.  :)  One of my favorite pastimes other than writing is going to the movies.   Although, Drag Me to Hell had pretty much stunted my activites for the moment.  Sorry, Sam Raimi (I love you, man!), but I wish I had waited for this to come out to DVD…or TV.  Smart movie, but dumb characters.  I give that one a C-/D+ at most.

But enough about that.   I want to talk about what the rest of the year has in store for us.   Though I have my eye on some of these, there are those that will have to prove themselves before I care. 

Blood: The Last Vampire.  Now, if you’re a fan of anime, like I am, then you know there’s a good chance you’re going to fork up the money to see this one.  It was released on Friday, but to no fanfare.  If they’re going to take the time to turn a classic anime movie into a theatrical remake, shouldn’t they have put the marketing behind it?  That doesn’t bode well in my book.  After all, the same thing happened with Blood and Chocolate and we wall saw how that turned out–or not. 

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.  I stopped reading HP after the fifth book.  Not because it didn’t intrigue me, but rather, I had gotten busy with other things and just now started reading it.  However, since I hadn’t gotten that far into it yet, I decided to put it down again and wait to to see the movie.  This time, I want to experience the fun having not read the book ahead of time to see whether or not I still enjoy it. 

Orphan.  Not on your life.  I pretty much know the details of this movie without having to see it, so why bother?  An weird orphan child is adopted and placed in the household of a nice family, only to discover that she’s a evil little bitch who should be locked away in time-out for the rest of her life.   Can we say The Omen?  How about The Bad Seed?  The Good Son?  How is this movie any different? 

Thirst.  I don’t know if this will be opened widely or will it just be thrust into an independent theatre and forgotten about.  That tends to happen a lot with foreign movies (i.e. Blood: The Last Vampire).  However…I LOVE the premise of this.  A priest who becomes a vampire?  Okay, so like we might have seen a priest become a demon (i.e. The Exorcist), but this is a vampire and it’s an entire movie about it.   Not some scenes where he’s sitting in an insane asylum looking a bit crazed in the eye.  Even better, it’s an ASIAN vampire movie, meaning we get to experience another culture’s interpretation of a classic monster with a romantic undertone.  If you don’t believe me, just check out the trailer here.  You can bet I’ll be in the audience and happily reading subtitles that I hate so much. 😉

9:  Yes, that’s the title.  But since Tim Burton is doing this movie, who cares what it’s called?  :D  I like Tim Burton that I’d pay money to see his movies even if they let him direct the last episode of Guiding Light.  Yeah, Mr. Edward Scissorhands, you can count me in for this one. 

The Wolfman:  You think I’m not going to see this?  Benicio Del Toro?  Anthony Hopkins?  Need I say more?  If I could reserve my seat now, I would. 

Twilight Saga: New Moon:  From what I understand, Edward spends some time away from Bella in this second installment.  If that’s the case, then I might go see it.  Don’t ask me to read the book.  I’m sorry, guys, but that’s asking too much.

Sherlock Holmes:  After Robert Downey Jr.’s wonderful performance in Iron Man, how could I possibly miss this?  Granted, it’s not exactly “otherworldly” as we know it, but it’s Robert Downey Jr.  Yeah, I’m in.

So what movies are you looking forward to seeing (or not)  this year?

8 Comments

  1. Donna (Fantasy Dreamer) said,

    I was so looking forward to watching Blood: The Last Vampire for months! Since it didn’t open wide and I can’t find a theater near that is showing it, I’ll have to wait until it goes to video. I haven’t seen anything that says it will be showing wide at a later date either. Very unhappy about it. I agree with you on the “marketing plan” there lack of.

    I’ll be there this weekend to watch Mr. Harry Potter and gang.🙂 Also, looking for to Sherlock Holmes and kinda sort of Twilight Saga: New Moon (I didn’t really enjoy the 1st movie).

  2. Anne C said,

    Have you seen the trailer for Dyabreakers? it looks really cool..I want to see that.Plus I love Ethan Hawke!
    http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/daybreakers/

  3. Edie said,

    I didn’t know Robert Downey Jr. was going to play Sherlock Holmes. I will definitely see that one! I’ll see the next HP movie, too. Some are better than the other, but I won’t miss this.

  4. Marcia Colette said,

    Donna: I wasn’t a huge fan of the first Twilight movie either. I think for this one, I’ll wait until it reaches the $1.50 discount theater. That’s even cheaper than renting the DVD.

    Anne: Oh. My. God. I was so close to adding Daybreakers to my line-up because I thought it was coming out at the end of this year. But when I had looked it up on Rotten Tomatoes while compiling my list, it said 2010. Nevertheless, it’ll be on my 2010 list for sure! 😉

    Edie: That makes two of us. I was never a real fan of Sherlock Holmes, but something about Robert Downey Jr. being in the role makes me want to see it all the more. I wonder what else he’s starring in that we don’t know about.

  5. Cathy said,

    Robert Downey Jr. is in these films right now:
    * The Avengers (2012)
    Tony Stark/ Iron Man
    * Iron Man 2 (2010)
    Tony Stark/ Iron Man
    * Oobermind (2010)
    Voice
    * Sherlock Holmes (2009)
    Sherlock Holmes
    * The Soloist (2009)
    Steve Lopez

    I usually see films for the plot not the actors, but won’t see some films because of actors.
    I’ll watch New Moon when it hits DVD, made it through first 2 books by audio, but don’t know if I can get through the last 2 even that way. First film was OK, but not worth theater ticket price, thank goodness I missed it and rented DVD.
    Will see Harry Potter this week. I’ll have to wait for Blood on DVD as it won’t be making it to my area in Theater.

  6. Marcia Colette said,

    Thanks for the list, Cathy! I had a feeling there was going to be an Avengers, but I wasn’t sure when. I so love Robert Downey Jr. in Iron Man. Even better, there’s going to be an Iron Man 2. 😀

  7. Peter said,

    I really liked this book too. My book True Love Is Not Common; http://www.eloquentbooks.com/TrueLoveIsNotCommon.html, has similar main characters. I grew up reading this author since my high school. I hope that one day my book will reach many people as this author.

  8. Karen said,

    I watched New Moon yesterday with my boyfriend and I must say just give it a go.

    Btw, you can get New Moon here🙂

    http://rapidsharesearch.videzo.com/file_twilight+new+moon.html

Leave a Reply

