Shapeshifters Who Play Together, Stay Together

July 3, 2009 at 8:23 am (General) (, , , , , , , , , , )

Wildwitch honored my books on her website for the month of July if you want to check it out!

http://www.wildwitch.ca/aotmJulyl2009.htm
You can see how she discovered my wolf books on her comments on the site.  Which made me realize how important paranormal sites are to help spread the word of our love of the paranormal.
I love so many facets of the paranormal, not just shapeshifter stories.  Ghost stories, time travel, you name it, all are favorites of mine.  But I wanted to comment on a well-thought of phrase:
Families who play together, stay together.
In my version, Shapeshifters who play together, stay together. LOL🙂
I’ve written about my werewolves in fall (Heart of the Wolf, Destiny of the Wolf),  in winter (To Tempt the Wolf, Legend of the White Wolf), and now I’m working on a story set in spring (Seduction of the Wolf, coming April 2010). But I haven’t written a summer story yet. What effect do the seasons have on shapeshifters?

Think, spring, wet wolf smell. LOL Since they’re in Oregon, really wet wolf smell.

Here it is the 4th of July weekend, what would a pack of werewolves be doing? Celebrating the holiday? Were they involved in the War of Independence? Some of the older ones might have been because of their longevity. What about fireworks? They have a strongly sensitive sense of smell, hearing is more sensitive, the smell of smoke isn’t something they’d like. So maybe fireworks wouldn’t be their deal. So what else could they do to celebrate the 4th?
These are questions that I constantly think of as I’m writing my stories. How does a season affect the wolf pack? How does the change in day to night affect them? The location? Micro-setting–the current location they’re in–house, woods, river? Macro-setting–the overall area they’re in, state of Oregon, North American continent?
What makes them so real?
Hope your 4th is full of fun!!! I’m off to mow!🙂
If I were a werewolf, I’d leave things in their more natural state (just like it is now). But my neighbors probably wouldn’t like it.🙂 And werewolves, to avoid being discovered, must be on their best behavior. So *sigh*, they’d probably be out mowing the yard too.🙂
If I haven’t already mentioned it, I’m sharing free serialized stories in my newsletter, Goddess in Training the first one up. The next one will be a published vampire romantic suspense. Just go to the bottom of my website and sign up. If you try and the spammer won’t let you get in, just let me know and I can forward the story via your email address. Thanks!
Terry
www.terryspear.com

 

6 Comments

  1. Estella said,

    Have a great 4th!
    I just finished mowing.

  2. terryspear said,

    Wooohoo, Estella! Have great one! It’s 101 out here already so I had to mow early!🙂 Working on an online plotting course for pantsers and plotters in the cooool air conditioning!!!

  3. Cathy said,

    Well tomorrow the 4th I’m going over to my daughters where her husband is going to be KING of the grill in in their first owned home. They have a new puppy, 12 weeks old, 65 lbs and scared of shadows. It will also be 106 and we are in a drought, so no fireworks. We are planning on going to a marina near here where you can see the public displays of 3 towns over the river, but not much noise. I love fireworks, but really hate the BANG. Both my kids dogs are coming with us so they don’t freak on the noise. Sound like something a werewolf might do?
    Took Destiny of the Wolf on vacation last week and finally got a chance to read it. The descriptions of differences in wolfs is great. Really looking forward to your next books.

  4. terryspear said,

    LOL, Cathy, I LOVE it! You’ll have to take lots of pictures of the KING of the grill, and the puppy and its fiascos. Argh on the heat. We did have torrential rains which knocked out my electricity for two days and when I mowed, the ground was surprisingly wet still even after two days of 101 temps. I love the fireworks too, but it would be nice if they were noiseless and “fireproof”!!!

    Ah, a werewolf who freaks out with a fireworks display! I had a standard poodle who was terrified of the sound of the fireworks popping. I used to play my music really loud so she wouldn’t hear the firecrackers going off, as I cursed my neighbors who’d set them off over bone-dry cornfields. Yep, that sounds good for the summer story, Cathy.🙂

    Thanks so much on Destiny!!! You’ll love To Tempt the Wolf. Think naked guy on beach who’s rescued by heroine but quickly recovers to protect her when he learns she’s in danger.🙂 He’s lost his sister, pack, family home to fire, and his memories. Only one thing he remembers…he’s a lupus garou and the woman he’s bound to protect is not quite human.🙂

    Have a happy 4th and enjoy the marina, fireworks and your son-in-law’s first grill feast! Hopefully, he’ll be so successful, you can make it your annual holiday picnic!!!🙂

  5. Cathy said,

    My oldest had to put her 14 year old Dalmatian down due to medical reason this spring. For the last 4 years she would join us watching the kids light fireworks, she had turned deaf and liked the lights, before that we had to give her tranks, couldn’t take the bangs. She just got an 8lb 3 year old shih tzu 2 months ago so I’m not crazy about having to watch 2 dogs that I haven’t been through fireworks at the same time.

  6. terryspear said,

    I don’t blame you. I lost my standard poodle when she was 16. My daughter says I should get another pet, but I can’t. They’re great companions, but It’s like losing a family member. And I don’t want to go through the house breaking and all that either! Plus when you take trips, I hate leaving them at kennels. My pets were always my shadows so wouldn’t eat or drink if I left them at a kennel.

Leave a Reply

