Fairy Tales, Anyone?? & Free Book!

June 20, 2009 at 8:16 am (General)

by Terry Spear

www.terryspear.com

I’ve always loved mythology and enjoyed reading folk tales from other countries. I slip in fairy tale references in my wolf stories too…Little Red Riding Hood in To Tempt the Wolf, and a different reference to

Illustration published in 1868 Dutch edition of Little Red Riding Hood. Engraving by English printer Kronheim & Co.

Little Red Riding Hood in Legend of the White Wolf, The Three Little Pigs in well, one of the wolf tales. Can’t remember which now.🙂 Maybe in Heart of the Wolf? Or Destiny of the Wolf?🙂 And in the current work in progress–a reference to Alice in Wonderland in Seduction of the Wolf.🙂 I’ve also referenced Hansel and Gretel, can’t remember which story now either.🙂 But I love to reference them because they were such a mainstay of what I read as a kid and certain aspects really stuck with me!

Ever see references to fairy tales in books you’ve read? Some of course are Cinderella knock offs, or other such tales, using the same premise for the whole story, and those are fun to read too!I wonder some day if the old classics weren’t read, would fans in the future not even know what the references were to???

I have some fun pre-published stories that I have the rights back to that I’d like to serialize and share, and I’m experimenting with Bravenet’s free newsletter, which like everything else has a learning curve.

So if you want to sign up for my newsletter, I’ll try to post once a week on Sundays. I’m REALLY bad about sending out a newsletter so I’m hoping this will keep me on track. Just go to: http://www.terryspear.com/ and there’s a registration at the bottom of the page.

I made the mistake of sending it just to see what it would look like in my email and voila, Bravenet told me I could send it only once a day. LOL oh well…so that’s it. One person got to read my newsletter. Me.

I told you there was a learning curve!

This read is: Goddess in Training, sexy, not inspirational. Or maybe it will inspire! Never know!

This is a painting of Hera and Zeus, who in Goddess in Training, make one of their wagers.🙂 Like other fairy tales, I loved Greek mythology, so this is a fun play on the sexy myths I read as a kid and teen!🙂

Heart of the WolfWere any of the Greek Gods and Goddesses favorites or yours?

Drop by and post a comment on Sia McKye’s Thoughts  Over Coffee blog for a chance at a free copy of Destiny of the Wolf!

2 Comments

  1. Studio M.M.E. said,

    Love fairy tales. They are the reason I became an illustrator. Gives me an excuse to draw more Riding Hood. haha.

  2. terryspear said,

    LOL, that’s cute. Sounds like an excellent excuse to me!

Leave a Reply

