Deborah Cooke’s June Newsletter

June 16, 2009 at 6:53 am (Deborah Cooke) (, , )

The big news around here this past month is how I’m falling behind on pretty much everything – dishes, laundry, blogging, miscellaneous other jobs. You’ll be glad to know that this is because I’m writing! Dragonfire #5, which will be Niall’s book, has been pushed up in the schedule so I’ve been writing as quickly as I can.

First up, though, will be WINTER KISS, which is Dragonfire #4 and Delaney’s book. I liked this book a lot – Delaney has some baggage, which I like in a hero, while Ginger is one of those heroines who isn’t afraid of anything. They had a fun chemistry. We also get to see the other Pyr in cameo appearances, and those babies are growing up. I’m having a lot of fun with the way this series is developing and hope that you are, too. WINTER KISS goes on sale the first Tuesday in November – you can read an excerpt HERE. (Because I see that creating a page for it here is another thing I haven’t gotten to doing just yet! Yikes. I’ll add that to the list.)

I had Advanced Reading Copies for GUARDIAN a few weeks back, as well – aren’t they pretty? – which were mailed out to reviewers and bookstores. GUARDIAN is the second book in my fallen angel series from Tor, the one set in the post-nuclear future. It comes out in October of this year. You can read an excerpt for it HERE.

I’m feeling pretty lucky about covers this year. What do you think of them?

There has also been some happy contest news lately. KISS OF FIRE – Dragonfire #1 – won the Colorado Romance Writers’ Award of Excellence for Best Paranormal, Time Travel, Futuristic or Fantasy Romance of 2008. It’s also a finalist in the same category of the Orange County RWA’s Book Buyers’ Best Award – winners will be announced in August. FALLEN – the first book in my angels series – is a finalist in the FF&P PRISM in the Best Futuristic Romance of 2008 category, and took third place in the Wisconsin RWA’s Write Touch Awards in the Best Paranormal Romance of 2008 category.

Phew! It’s been hectic but fun – sorry to not have posted as often as I’d like, but I’ve got a book to finish. Niall and Rox still need their H.E.A. and the end of the month is drawing near.

Here’s hoping you have lots of great books to read, and that all is well – if busy – in your household!

Deborah Cooke
blogging at Alive & Knitting

1 Comment

  1. oneyda perez said,

    any newsletters for you only?

Leave a Reply

