ConCarolinas Recap

June 3, 2009 at 1:30 pm (Marcia Colette) ()

hotel view

I hope nobody mines me bumping my nose in here, but I just had to share my excitement for a little-known convention I attended this past weekend called ConCarolinas.

By the first day, I knew I’d be here again next year. This is without a doubt, one of the best mini-cons I’ve ever attended. Then again, I could be biased because of the fabulous view from my hotel room. Isn’t it gorgeous? Too bad I couldn’t say the same for the drag-your-ass internet service. *sigh*

I arrived around 6pm because the urban fantasy panel wasn’t until 10pm. Everyone was very helpful at the registration desk, in terms of getting my situated. Not to mention, they also had a goodie bag of sweets waiting for me, which I immediately chomped down. Anyway, the urban fantasy panel included myself, Dorian Wallace of Amira Press, and J.F. Lewis of Pocket Books. I don’t know about them, but I had a blast on that panel, talking about urban fantasy, what it meant and how we chose it. At least, I think that was a question. *shrug* Either way, we put a lot of information out there for other writers, including our methods for slogging through our dreaded middles.

Saturday was a full day for me, but the of the best highlights not on the schedule was meeting authors and publisher of Amira Press. Sabrina Luna, Dorian Wallace, Crymsym Hart, and Dahlia Rose are the best! I had the chance to pick up a few of their books while I was there, so I’m definitely going to get my reading on. And if you’ve never heard of Amira Press, I highly advise keeping an eye on them. I’ve been watching them grow for more than a year now and so far so good. Not to mention, their books have gotten some pretty good reviews in Romantic Times.

I can’t possibly forget the wonderful Kalayna Price who arrived on Saturday afternoon wime and kalaynath friends Darlene and Tori in tow. All three of them rock! I’m thrilled for Kalayna and the way her career is turning out. Urban Fantasy lovers, keep your eye on this fabu author. Trust me, you won’t regret it. I finally had a chance to give her my much awaited congratulatory hug. It would’ve been better had it not been for my sore boobs, but that’s a mother-to-be’s ever-changing body for you. ;) 

The Marketing Your Book panel and What Color Are Your Characters were two awesome panels. David B. Coe has a great write up on Magical Words regarding panels and is a very wise and personable author, too. As for what I thought, the marketing panel was very informative with the biggest piece of advice being to have a book out at least once a year once you become published. That’s the best marketing plan ever, IMHO. We also shared the panel with the amazing Misty Massey who’s such a sweet person. I’m still kicking myself for missing her belly dancing class. Baby tummy or not, count me in if it has anything to do with dancing. I’ll manage just fine.🙂

In What Color Are Your Characters, I finally got to talk about something that’s very near and dear and private to me, as you can probably tell. I write what I know, which is why I write African American and biracial heroines. With the shifts that are happening in writing these days, perhaps it’ll open the doors a tad wider for more multicultural heroes and heroines in the sci-fi/fantasy genre. Fingers crossed.🙂 We also talked about book covers with non-Caucasian characters and James Maxey brought up a very good question. What was the last book you read that had an AA character on the cover. Mine didn’t count, unless you weren’t me.😆

Next up was the Where Have All of the Vampires Gone and The Horror, The Horror. I almost missed the vampire panel because I had fallen asleep. What can I say? I had split my time between Amira Press and crew and Kalayna and crew (Tori and Darlene). Before I knew it, it was 8pm and my panel was at 9pm. So, I sat on the panel is a slight daze, still trying to wake from my much-needed nap. Anyway, I think it went over great. With such wonderful co-panelists (J.L. Lewis, Faith Hunter, Tony Ruggiero, Crymsym Hart, and more), how could it not be? By the time The Horror The Horror rolled around, I was awake and ready to vent a few of my frustrations with horror movies past and present. In fact, I think we wall had a great time doing just that.

ConCarolinas is without a doubt one of the best mini-cons I’ve ever attended. My only regret is that I didn’t get a chance to meet Christina Stiles. Fingers cross we can rectify that in 2010.😉 I think it’s safe to say that about half the people came in costume, which made it all the more fabulous. If I had to pick a favorite, it would be a tie between the zombies and the steampunkers. Although, there were some fabulous vampires there too.

I can’t possibly forget about the writer’s track either. The programming folks did an impressive job with setting up the panel topics. I didn’t expect much since this was a small conference, so needless to say, it was a wonderful surprise and made me all the more honored to be a part of it. If you’re looking for a cheap conference–$35 if you register early (I think)–and has a great writer’s track that concentrates on a little bit of everything from writing to the business of publishing, then this is the way to go.

ConCarolinas 2010, count me in!:mrgreen:

~ Marcia Colette
www.marciacolette.com

Leave a Reply

