The bike for your shifter

May 19, 2009 at 11:12 am (General)

By Teresa D’Amario

So last weekend I had the exciting opportunity to go to Myrtle Beach and enjoy Spring Bike Week.  Without getting into the politics of Myrtle Beach, I can tell you it was nothing like previous years, but that doesn’t mean we didn’t enjoy ourselves.  I saw alot of different bikes, from the standard Harley, to the decked out, to the dull paint to the flashy. I saw three wheelers with two wheels in the back, two wheels in the front, and in one case I saw the third wheel was in direct line of the regular first and second . I saw side cars, and I saw trailers, and I saw motorhomes.

And then there were the pinstriping paint jobs.  Men used with tiny brushes to draw the most delicate of lines.  One even used feathers. He did the most awesome work – from the subtle to the flashy.  From the delicatetankpinstriping of old to the fascinating flaming tiger heads.  He did bike tanks, flanks and saddle bags, andhe even did helmets (thoughthat wasn’t his specialty).  Watching him work was awe inspiring.  Who sits there in the afternoon heat for 10 days just to let people watch him paint motorcycles?  It has to be a tough job.  But then again, he must enjoy it and the travel, as he’d come all the way from Ohio to work.

Walking through the bikes was fun.  Looking at this paint job or that one.  There were bikesthe glittery ones with the metallic paints, polished to blind you in the afternoon sun.  There were the traditional flames in the back, Ghostrider incongito.

Then there were the ones who went above the average, utilizing the pin striping wizards to their maximum potential.  There was the dragon bike.  The sinuous beast appeared to wrap it’s body around the bike.  His gas cap was a dragon. Hisdragonmirrorhandlebars were dragons, and heck, even his mirrors were shaped like the dragon in flight.  Talk about awesome.

Then there’s the full out paint jobs like the guy who had them paint the skull with flames on his bike.  Now that was just awesome.  We happened upon the bike just as the artist (and I use that term with total respect) completed his tasks.  As it’s a person’s art, I felt weird about taking photos, so none here. Sorry bout that.  I think the artwork was more interesting to me than the variety of bikes, though there were plenty of drool worthy bikes as well.

In most of my books, the male shifter has his own motorcycle.  Sometimes it’s not what you expect (One had a small dirt bike), and others it is – the rumbling engine of the Harley which saves the day.

So take a moment and tell me, what’s the bike YOUR Shifter would ride?  The three wheeler?  The dirt bike?  The harley? Or even any other brand? Pop it in, I wanna know!   Ride to be Free, Free to Ride!

13 Comments

  1. Beth C. said,

    I know nothing about bikes but that first pic is really cool. I’d love to see that guy paint. I like fantasy art in any form. 🙂

  2. Teresa D'Amario said,

    It looks like a 4 wheeler going down the road as it’s coming toward you. Three of them passed by going the opposite direction when we were out on the road. Didn’t seem them parked – really wanted to get a close up look at them. Same with the hyabusa’s. I use one of those in a book and wanted a close look at one. I didn’t know they came with three wheels too.

  3. Carmen R said,

    I would put a shifter on a Harley Panhead. I love that bike and it just puts off a bad a** vibe.

  4. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Ahh yes. verrra nice indeed.

  5. Carmen R said,

    Have you ever been to Sturgis? My hubby and I got married at the rally.

  6. Estella said,

    I’d put my shifter on a big bad Harley.

  7. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Not yet, Carmen,,, though I’m sure it’s on the calendar for next year. Don’t think we’ll make it this year.

  8. FantasyDreamer said,

    Nice pics! I My hubby would have loved to have seen those bikes. He also does custom paint work on tanks, helmets, cars, trucks, you name it, he’ll paint it.

    I really don’t know much about bikes but if I were to pick one for a shifter, I would pick something that was slung low and went very fast.🙂

  9. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Fantasy Dreamer, interesting. My hubby wants tasmanian devil on his tank.😀 Not sure we can afford that any time soon though. LOL.

  10. MIchele said,

    Oddly enough, none of my heroes have had bikes yet. But, the heroine of Kiss Me Deadly, a vamp-slaying witch, did ride a street chopper. My brother had one designed by Big Bear Choppers in CA. It was featured in a magazine a couple years back. So I had to use that in a story. Beyond that, I know nothing about motorcycles!

  11. Teresa D'Amario said,

    It’s funny though, because I seem to have some kind of bike with all my shifters and half of my other heroes. When I wrote in a small dirt bike and a hyabusa, a friend of mine complained that I didn’t have the harley yet. LOL. But we, personally, have a Yamaha, which is just awesome, so who knows. That may be next – because they have a much throatier growl than the Harley does.

    I think choppers are awesome to look at, but they just don’t look comfy to ride! LOL

  12. Raonaid Luckwell said,

    Sorry, being the daughter of a biker, I would have to take the Harley. Hey I was taught to stick my nose up at any motorocyle not a chopper or Harley.

  13. Raonaid Luckwell said,

    * Sorry forgot to add. My father had a 69 Sporster, painted all white. He called it The Ghost. He once had a grave-yard scene painted on it. He wanted Spooky, Casper’s ghost friend painted on it. Some friend had given hima comic with Spooky, he handed me the comic and said “I want that drawn for The Ghost.” I drew it but he never got around to getting it on there

Leave a Reply

