When I Become My Ideas

May 12, 2009 at 7:00 am (Marcia Colette) ()

I have my lovely co-blogger Michele Hauf to thank for topic, though she probably doesn’t realize it.  I’m in deadline hell, so coming up with a subject that doesn’t involve edits or revisions is like asking me to speak Russian backwards. 

Anyway…

Writers are always asked where their ideas come from.  I’m one of those writers where I can honestly say my ideas come from everywhere.  However, I can be more specific than that.

First, let me preface this by saying I’m at the end of my first trimester.  :mrgreen:  When that home pregnancy test read positive, I started doing a lot of research (and happy dancing) about pregnancy, from what to expect with my week-by-week progress to what I needed to be on the lookout for when it came to miscarriage.  From multiple births–I was on fertility drugs for my last attempt–to weird morning sickness signs.  I had no idea that nosebleeds was one of them as well as someone reporting itchy feet on a message board. 

There’s also the process by which this came about.  You see, doing the deed–though fun–wasn’t going to work in my special case.  :D  I needed a little help from a reproductive endocrinologist.  I *heart* my RE.  I had to have surgery back in October to get my body ready and suffer through an endless waiting period in November while everything healed up.

My journey started the first week of December 2008.  That means I have six months of paranormal romances and urban fantasy ideas collecting in my brain.  Every time that extra line didn’t show up on my pregnancy test, it spurred a new plot in my head.  What better way to stave off the disappointment? 

So what does all of this mean?  My paranormal ideas come from everyday life, but only those events that have a huge impact on me.  Whenever someone says I should write about so-and-so and this-and-that, I pretty much nod my head and smile.  That’s my polite way of saying, not gonna happen.  Not only that,  but I always suggest they write that story since they know it best.  Now that my stomach is about to do some shapeshifting of its own, that means I’ll have seven months to come up with some even crazier ideas before I realize my writing time has been cut to nothingness.  Fingers crossed that my experiences don’t turn into horror stories. 😉

Would you like to see a story based on a particular event in your life?  And if so, what would it be?  Trust me.  We’ll find a way to make it a paranormal. 😈

12 Comments

  1. Beth C. said,

    Wait until you get the funky dreams. Oh and you can get hormonal. During my first pregnancy, I ended up calling my husband at work and blubbered to him because I spilled the mix for cheesecake. I cried for 3 hours. I don’t do this. I get angry….not crying.

    And congrats. Can’t wait to see what ideas come out of your head.

  2. Edie said,

    I just made a comment on your personal blog about you doing some shapeshifting of your own. I thought I was so original.

    That’s a great way to get over disappointment. Think of a story idea, do something creative. I’ll remember that next time.

  3. Marcia Colette said,

    Tee hee. Beth, the weird dreams have already started. I keep having this recurring one where my baby is dressed in light blue pajamas, but has no face. Even worse, somehow this baby is crying and everyone thinks all is okay with the world.

    And thanks, hon. 😉

  4. Marcia Colette said,

    Edie, it’s usually hard for me to come up with a good blog, but this one sort of just flowed. I guess I owe it to life imitating art…only I won’t be growing any fur, claws or fangs. On second thought, forget that part about the fur and claws. My hair has grown longer and my nails are strong as ice picks. 😆

    Nobody likes disappointment. Given that we’re writers, I think it’s easier for us to focus on or create the things that make us happy. Before you know it, you have an idea for a story.

  5. Magaly said,

    YES MA’AM!😀

    I was in the Marine Corps for 10 years and I still remember my great hopes of waking up one day and tell my Drill Instructors “you are in my world now Ma’am, ready for some real agony?”

    I’ve never actually gone pass that particular moment because I usually can stop laughing, thinking about the look on their faces…

    I know… a best seller for sure. Ha!

  6. Marcia Colette said,

    😆 Magaly, you sound like a woman after my own heart. Though I’ve never been in the military, I’ve gotten some satisfaction by killing off a few jerks in my books. Luckily, they have no idea who they are. 😈

  7. Melissa said,

    When I was younger, I use to imagine I could shapeshift and get rid of of few people but, I’ll have to settle for offing them in a book now I guess:(

  8. Liz Kreger said,

    Terrific blog, Marcia. I had to laugh when you said you’d be shapeshifting in the coming months. Most definitely.

    I try to take ideas out of every day life. Most of the time something I read (whether a newspaper, magazine or another book) will spark a stray thought that morphs into an idea. Love it when that happens.

  9. Marcia Colette said,

    Melissa, even though it’s only fiction, it does the heart good. Consider it cheap therapy. I know I have.😈

  10. Marcia Colette said,

    Liz, you wouldn’t believe how bright my eyes had lit up when I came to that realization. 😆 I’m living my characters. Woohoo!

    The news is chocked full of stories that make for good fiction. I’ve gotten a few of my ideas from the local news and by reading other books. It’s also a great way to get rid of writer’s block.

  11. Teresa D'Amario said,

    And a huge congrats!!! i Can’t wait to see the little bouncing baby shifter!!! Love the pic – were-baby! LOL so cute!

  12. Marcia Colette said,

    Thanks, hon. The only thing shifting right now is my stomach. 😆 Although, I swear this little bugger has given me the appetite befitting a wolf, so it wouldn’t surprise me if he/she came with fangs.

Leave a Reply

