The Wolf and I

May 6, 2009 at 5:00 am (General) (, , , , , )

Were you at RT this year?  As usual, it was a blast.  One of the highlights for me this year was getting to hear Piers Anthony, who was writing fantasy long before I ever thought of getting into the field.  They gave him a Pioneer of Genre Fiction Award, which he accepted at the Awards Ceremony.  And at one of the sessions,  he spoke about his early education.  Like me, he’s dyslexic.  I thought I had it bad in elementary school since I had a horrible time learning to read, but it turns out he had to repeat the first grade three times before they passed him.  His revenge was becoming a New York Times best-selling novelist.  Now he’s in his seventies and still writing at a fantastic pace.  If you’d like some insights into the publishing business, read one of his two autobiographies.

What do you think–does having a learning disability spur creativity because you have to invent alternate ways of doing things?  Or does the faulty wiring in the brain lead to creativity?  Maybe it’s a combination of both?

ruth-wolf-2If you’ve seen me at RT, either this year or in the past few years,  you’ve seen me walking around with my wolf hand puppet.  Here’s where he lives when he’s at home, dressed in a hand-woven jacket that I got at a street market in  Guatemala and a leather and fur hat that my son sent from Afghanistan.  Right now my wolf’s called Wolfie.  But I’d love some help with a new name for him.  Something exotic and romantic and perhaps a bit dangerous.  I know the hat makes him look a little bit “silly.”  But I use it to disguise his savage nature, since he sits in my living room, and I don’t want him to scare little children who visit.

Send me suggestions–through the contest on my Web site.  If I pick the name you selected, I have a fun prize.  You get to have YOUR name used in the next shapeshifter book I write.

To enter the contest, you have to sign up for my Newsletter.  All the rules are at www.rebeccayork.com/contest.htm .

I’ve got another contest running as well–with some book giveaways.  You’ll see it in the same place.

Rebecca

3 Comments

  1. highlandlove said,

    aww he’s adorable!

    hugs,
    WendyK

  2. Colleen said,

    Look at him all dressed up!😀

  3. Cathy said,

    I really couldn’t tell you if dyslexic spurs creativity or not. But I have it and I am the only creative person in my immediate family. Everyone else was academically inclined. I loved creative writing as a youth, but was discouraged from writing as a career, as I couldn’t spell well even though I got A’s in it during school and collage.
    I focused on sewing and became a seamstress and designer. I love seeing my creations come to life. I read about 200 books a year and am happy to enjoy other people’s stories.

Leave a Reply

