The Incredible, Shape-Shifting Romance Author

April 26, 2009 at 3:53 pm (General, Meagan Hatfield)

Okay, I don’t know about you guys.  But while writing my shape-shifters, I’ve always wondered if changing form is a physically painful experience for them.  Well based on my own experiences, I’m going with a loud and resounding, YES!

 

I know as a mere human, changing from an out of shape author who spends most of the day in a desk chair, to a lean mean fighting machine, is…well, painful.  My calf muscles burn, it hurts to lift my arms higher than my shoulders and today I’m gimping around like I had one of my legs mauled by a dog.  But with the prospect of my first ever National conference looming mere months away and newly found singlehood, I couldn’t think of a better time to kick my bootie in gear, suck up the pain and let the incredible shape-shifting begin. 

 

As some of you know, and many of you don’t – I work 5am – noon M-F at a gym.  Now before I decided to shape-shift, the thought of coming back to the club to work out after spending the day there was just – Ugh!  But for the past few weeks, I’ve been taking three Tae-Bo classes a night, and I’ve just started a Pump Up weight training class on another.  And, yesterday I completed my first ever 8K run!  A group from our fitness center ran in the annual Crazy Legs Classic here in downtown Madison, Wisconsin.  It stormed the entire time, complete with thunder and lightening.  We were all drenched to the bone.  I’m not in this picture, (I did bring my camera phone, but it got water logged and broke) however it shows just how bad the rains were during the race. 

 

crazy-legs-1

 My shoes made a squishing sound with each step and it felt like my clothes weighed 500 pounds.  (A friend actually weighed her shirt when she got home and it came in at 7 pounds!)  Now, I haven’t run since PE in high school, nor did I train for the event at all.  However, I finished!  Jogged into Camp Randall Stadium and crossed the 50 yard finish line with my hands in the air like Rocky.  Sure, walking sort of sucks today – I’m really stiff and my shoulders are tight.  But hey – that’s the price you pay to shape-shift, right?me-and-billy

 

I’m going to share a picture taken of Billy and I after an advanced video taping at NBC Studios in 2000.  Nine years, one move to the Midwest and one kid ago.  I have it framed on my wall, along with his motivation message “Keep Kicking” to help me get my butt out of the chair when I don’t feel like working out.

 

Now, I don’t expect to get back into a size 4, where I was in the picture.  Nor do I think I’ll be kicking ass and taking names by National’s in July.  But hopefully by the time I have my first book signings next year, I’ll be feeling strong, closer to where I used to be and able to beat my CrazyLegs time next year.  Sure, my muscles may hurt and I sometimes dread the next class, but I guess I should be lucky I’m only changing my body and not shifting bones and ligaments to shift into a were or a dragon.  *smiles*

So, authors and readers alike – let me know what you do to stay in shape!  Is anyone else out there on a “shape-shifting” mission? Do you have a favorite routine, class or goals you’re trying to achieve?  How about nutrition – any healthy recipes you’d care to share?   

Until next time ~  Meagan

7 Comments

  1. Brandy W said,

    I’m not shape-shifting yet but i plan on starting at the beginning of the month. I do like calling it shape-shifting though. I need motivation and the right mind set. I’m easily distracted by shiny objects.

    Another author I know is starting up too and we are going to work on just being healthier together and talking about what we are doing and keeping each other in check.

    I have my step video The Firm to do, an elliptical in the house and exercises a friend told me to do. Now I just need to do it. I have to add the healthy eating in there somewhere too and get the d3 kids to eat it as well. Healthy all around. should be entertaining.

  2. meaganhatfield1 said,

    Hey Brandy!

    Thanks for sharing! I hear you on being distracted by shiny objects. *grins* It’s SO easy to put off excercising or say you’ll do it later and then not. It’s great that you have an elliptical at home and a friend to support you and hold you accountable.

    I wish you guys the best on your shape-shifting challenge!

    Hugs,
    Meagan~

  3. Beth C. said,

    I’m trying to at least workout some before the middle of June. We are going to the beach and I don’t want to look like a beached whale. I’ve been starting and stopping for about 6 months. Now that I have a goal (other than to lose a lot of weight), maybe I’ll stick with it.

  4. Cathy said,

    I started my “shape shifting ” journey Jan 15, 2008. So far I have lost 57.5 lbs. I am back to water aerobics. Only 1 or 2 days right now as it it prom season and I’m a seamstress (yes, I seat on my butt most of the day), but hopefully I’ll be back to 3 days a week by July again. I’m going to a family reunion in June and with luck I’ll wear this cute little dress I got in Hawaii in 1996 when I was my goal weight and physically fit.

  5. Estella said,

    I am a senior citizen and I walk and garden to stay fit. My goal for 2009 is to eat healthier and it has helped me lose 7 lbs.

  6. The Incredible, Shape-Shifting Romance Author | FDA Warnings on popular drugs! said,

    […] Go here to see the original:  The Incredible, Shape-Shifting Romance Author […]

  7. Meagan said,

    Beth, I agree. Goals are so important – measurable and attainable ones, not just saying “I want to lose a lot of weight” as you mentioned. I’ve slowly been upping the amount of classes I’m taking. Next goal will be to make it in on the weekends for just an hour or so. It takes 21 days to build a habit. I remember back when I used to get cranky if I couldn’t work out it became such a habit for me. Would love to be there again. 🙂 Best of luck on making your goal for July. Above all, have a blast with your family on the beach!!

    Cathy, WTG! *clapping and happy dancing* That is awesome!! And just since January – woot! You rock! I just know you’ll be in that dress come June. I’ve never done water areobics, but it sounds wonderful. Too bad our club doesn’t have a pool or I’d bring up starting one of those classes at the next management meeting. *smiles* Thanks for sharing and keep up the amazing work. 🙂

    Estella, eating healthy is such a HUGE component to being fit. I noticed since the move from Southern California it’s been more of a challenge for me to keep up with my 5 a day of fruits and veggies. The winter months they are less plentiful. Plus, I feel more like eating warm breads, creamy soups and dark beer. *grins* Not to mention it is pricey to eat a wide and substantial variety of vegetables and fruit every day, especially in those off seasons. But with summer coming, I’m going to get back outside with some friends and plant a huge garden, which will help me with my veggie intake at least. Congrats on those 7 pounds!!

    Keep up the good work, ladies! Feel free to stay in touch and let me know how it’s going for you. It’s always motivating to hear each other’s stories and progress on goals. 🙂

    Hugs,
    Meagan~

Leave a Reply

