My Convention Schedule Has Arrived

April 23, 2009 at 6:00 am (General, Marcia Colette)

This is a reprint from my personal blog, but I thought this was a good discussion to open up here too.

Unless you’re attending RavenCon this weekend, this might not make any sense.  Nevertheless, I’m completely stoked!  This is what my convention schedule looks like… 

Twice-Told Tales                  Friday        5:00 PM      Potomac
Urban Fantasy 101              Friday       10:00 PM    Potomac
OMG! Worst Book Evar!!     Saturday   9:00 AM     Rappahanock
Love at First Bite                  Saturday  10:00 PM    Potomac

I almost did back flips across my couch when I saw Urban Fantasy 101 on my schedule.  It was my number one pick, so it was nice to get it.  What is UF?  How does it differ from horror?  I have my own theories about this, so I’m crossing my fingers that everyone is receptive.  Nothing controversial or anything, but just 30 years of watching horror movies and an early reader/lover of Laurell K. Hamilton (among others), I’ve seen this genre mold itself into something new and different with every new UF writer out there.  That’s a good thing.  :) 

Twice-Told Tales will be fun too.  It’s about pretty much what all books are today.  Retold tales.  How many vampire stories are out there?  Werewolves?  That’s what this panel is about. 

OMG! Worst Book Evah!!  I could speak a long time about this topic, so had better arrive with only a few titles and why those books didn’t work for me.  Let’s just hope the authors of some of my least favorite books aren’t sitting in the audience.  People don’t respond well to “I love you, but I don’t love your work.” 😉

Love at First Bite is probably a no-brainer.  Vampires, baby.  We’re going to be talking about True Blood, Twilight, and hopefully Moonlight.  I’ll bring up Moonlight, if nobody else does.  And what about Kindred: The Embraced?  Anyone remember that one?  Anyway, this panel is going to rock.

This is one conference I’m seriously thinking about returning to next year if RT is out of my price again.  Speaking of which, if you’re headed to or are at the Romantic Times Booklover’s Convention this week, say hello to my co-bloggers who I know will be attending.  We’ll all have to compare notes when we get back.😉

So if you were going to be on a convention/conference panel–as a reader or writer makes no difference–what would you want to talk about?

3 Comments

  1. Sonja Foust said,

    Have fun! My online nanowrimo friend Lady Ozma is doing the Quoth the Raven podcast for RavenCon. Check it out! http://quoththeraven.libsyn.com/

  2. Beth C. said,

    I never hear about these things in time to plan. One of these days I’m going to have a convention plan in place to go to ones close to home.

    Have fun and good luck.

  3. Marcia said,

    Sonja, thanks for the info! I’m definitely going to be on the lookout for her while I’m there. Of course, I’ll have to drop your name so she won’t think I’m a total freak who’s just stalking her. 😆

    Beth, ConCarolinas in Carlotte is at the end of next month. It’s smaller than RavenCon, but looks like fun. I’ll be there as well. Let me know if you want to share a ride. Hint hint. 😉

Leave a Reply

