Fantasy vs Reality

April 16, 2009 at 3:51 am (General)

ETERNAL MOONBack in the early 20th century, Sigmund Freud asked his famous question, “What do women want?”

Judging from my spam folder, I think guys are still trying to figure that out.

Penis enlargement is the–um–big thing.  All you need is a super-sized tool, and the women will fall all over themselves to go to bed with you.  Of course, I keep wondering how you’re supposed to reveal this piece of equipment to get her interested in going on a date.  Flash her at the office or on a bus?

Guys are preoccupied with size.  And volume, apparently.  How about THIS ad?

“Did you know that a recent survey showed that 85% of women actually get aroused by a man who produces ‘above average’ semen amounts? With our pills, she’ll be speechless… and definitely coming back for more…”

Yeah, she’ll be speechless, all right–when he floods her out of the bed.

Okay, I realize I’m getting a little gross here. And I also realize these ads play to male fantasies and vulnerabilities. It’s easy to satisfy your sweetie. You don’t have to be good at conversation, dancing or foreplay.  Flowers, candy, and Champagne?  A tender show of emotion?

Forget all that.  You’ve got everything you need right in your magic wand.  The bigger the better.
If only it were that easy, I wouldn’t have to think about the characterizations of my werewolves.  I’d just direct them to my spam folder.

Of course, there’s a whole lot more to man-woman relationships.  Which is why I spend so much time developing the characters of the heroes of my books.  Take Jacob Marshall, the hero of ETERNAL MOON, for example.  He’s a dog whisperer.  He can talk to animals, and he has a driving need to save canines whom others are chomping at the bit to put down.  At the same time, he’s a werewolf with all the violence and recklessness of his kind.  And he’s a lover who understands how to please a woman.  Like most of his breed, he hates the idea of settling down, so when he meets Renata Cordona, the woman who’s his life mate, he fights the relationship–even when he’s trying to save her from the enemy he discovered is stalking her.

There’s a scene in ETERNAL MOON that I loved writing.  The bad guy has planted evidence in Jacob’s house, making it look like he’s the serial killer Renata had been tracking.  She finds the evidence and calls the police.  As she holds a gun on him, Jacob knows that he has to get away before the cops come.  And the only way he can do it is to change to werewolf form–right in front of Renata.  She might be so shocked that she shoots him.  But at the moment he doesn’t care, because he knows that if they can’t straighten their relationship out, he might as well be dead.

It’s a turning point in the book.  It could go either way.  Since I write romances, it’s going to work out the way the reader and I both want it too.  But not without some serious business between Jacob and Renata.

Which is what makes their relationship interesting.  Not the physical equipment of my hero.  The emotional turmoil they must deal with.

Since I write romantic thrillers, I know my plot is going to drag my hero and heroine to hell and back. But I also know I’m going to reward them with a long, happy life together. And a fantastic sexual relationship is always part of the package.

All of my Marshall werewolf heroes enjoy sex on a very basic, very animal level. But when each of them finds his life mate, the sex between them is mind-blowing–and a strong part of the bond they forge.

Sex is always integral to my stories. But sex in the context of a relationship where each partner takes pleasure in pleasing the other.

That’s what I’d like any guys who read my books  to take away from my work.  It’s the not the size of your equipment or how much semen you produce.  It’s how much you care about your partner and how much you want to share yourself with her.

What do you think?  Can we get guys to read romances?  Or are they stuck with their own fantasies of the easy way to please a woman?

Rebecca

3 Comments

  1. Estella said,

    I know I could never get my man close to a romance book.

  2. Juliana Stone said,

    LOL, mine either! He reads guitar mags and that’s about it! I think most men aren’t wired towards the kinds of romances we enjoy……and that’s ok….it’s part of the differences between us that makes life interesting!

  3. Raonaid Luckwell said,

    The only romance author that I managed to get my hubs to read is Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series. He heard me go on and on about them before. He’s even pimped them to the few females he works with (he works at Simonston Windows). He stopped because there was “too much sex”. Welll, he took me to her signing in August, and I dunno, her personality, the way she interacted with her fans, and what she said convinced him to pick up the rest of the books. He floored me when he said on our way back (four hour trip) ‘so which book do I need to read after Night Pleasures?”

    Now getting him to read any other…. I think he likes the action that is in with these books.

Leave a Reply

