Deborah Cooke’s April Newsletter

April 15, 2009 at 7:06 am (Deborah Cooke) (, , , , , )

I’m a bit late with this today, but maybe I’m still ahead of some of you!

My big news this month is that I’ve got a new job. The Toronto Public Library is having a writer in residence this fall for the romance genre, and it’s going to be me. This is the first time they’ve done a residency for romance, so I’m pretty excited about the whole thing.

The residency runs through October and November of this year. The major part of the job is critiquing unpublished romance manuscripts from library patrons and meeting with some of them to discuss their work. But there’s also a blog that is being set up for the residency and I’ll be blogging there three times a week for those eight weeks. I’ve booked in some interesting guests already, and am hoping that lots of other readers and writers check in there. There’s also going to be an online chat one night and several public events – an opening reception and a closing reception with a panel discussion. I’ll post a calendar with links closer to the date, and hope that some of you will be able to participate.

Phew! There’s a lot of work to be done right now in the set-up, so I’m running a bit behind this week.

In other news, FALLEN is a finalist in the Wisconsin RWA’s Write Touch contest for best paranorml romance of 2008 – yippee! – and I posted some covers recently. Here’s the link for the excerpt etc. for WINTER KISS, the next Dragonfire book, and here’s the one for the anthology I’ve contributed to, which is coming out this fall.

Now, I need to get another coffee and get to work!

Deborah Cooke

2 Comments

  1. Juliana Stone said,

    LOL I’m on my second cup of java and major congrats Deb! Looking forward to enjoying your residency!

  2. Ali said,

    Wow, Deborah, that sounds awesome🙂 Congratulations🙂

Leave a Reply

