RITA Finalists and Double SOLD News

March 27, 2009 at 6:00 am (General, Marcia Colette) (, )

I had completely forgotten to mention this, so I’m hijacking the blog again.  :) 

 A huge congrats to all of the RITA finalists!  In case some of you don’t know, the RITA is the highest award an author can receive in the world of romance writing.  Since we slant toward paranormal here, this is the list of the paranormal/sci-fi romance finalists:

Dragon Wytchby Yasmine Galenorn
Mine to Possess
by Nalini Singh
Moonstruck by Susan Grant
Seducing Mr. Darcyby Gwyn Cready
The Darkest Nightby Gena Showalter
The Healer by Sharon Sala
The Undead Next Doorby Kerrelyn Sparks
Thunder Moonby Lori Handeland

With a list like this, I’d have a hard time choosing a winner.  In reality, how can you go wrong?  What I wouldn’t give to be at the RWA National Conferencein DC this year to hear the whistles and wild applause when the winner is announced.  Maybe we should start a running pool on the blog. 😆

In other news…

I thought for sure my editor didn’t like the second book in my werecheetah world.  Like maybe I went a little too far with the wise woman and root woman lore.  Or worse, she didn’t like any of my “big reveal” moments.  Heck, perhaps I had too many redheads in the book.  Little did I know.  She liked it so much that it earned me a spot in the upcoming Bad Kitty anthology. 

Woohoooooooo!  That’s right baby.  Two contracts from Parker Publishing, and there’s more exciting things to come too!  At least from the business prospective.  Love on the Prowl will be released in September 2009 while the anthology is slated for 2010. 

Here’s a quickie blurb for Love on the Prowl:

In the small town of Seclusion, Tennessee, a faceless monster is feeding on the residents and they’ve taken root woman Donna Tucker’s uncle. Werecheetah Kyle Innes will help her find him, but his price? Her uncle’s head on a platter for destroying his family.

As for my part in the Bad Kitty anthology, my secondary character from Love on the Prowl, a chameleon shapeshifter, will meet the very bad kitty of her dreams. 

Moments like these make me love this writing thing even more. 😀

Any personal favorites you’d love to see on the list of RITA noms?

Marcia Colette

www.marciacolette.com

6 Comments

  1. Larissa said,

    Congratulations!!!! That’s fabulous!

  2. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Woohoo Congrats Marcia!!!

    And huge congrats to all the nominees, and especially in the paranormal category! 🙂 You’re right, awesome books to choose from!

  3. Colleen said,

    Wow, such wonderful news… Congrats!😀

  4. Juliana Stone said,

    congrats! great news all around!

  5. Estella said,

    Great news! Congrats.

  6. Marcia said,

    Thanks everyone. I have the feeling May is going to be crazy edits month. I’m okay with that. 😀

Leave a Reply

