Twilight

February 20, 2009 at 6:00 am (Marcia Colette)

Let me preface this by saying, I picked up the book, read the first dozen pages or so, and dropped it on the floor.  That was about a year ago.  For that reason, I never bothered to see the movie until now.  Well, that and the fact that it hit my $1.50 movie theater. 

After seeing Twilight the movie, I think I’ll dig out my copy again.  However, I’ll be skimming everything that happened before Bella confronted Edward in the woods.  With that being said, I felt it best to break up this review to give you my honest opinion, which is probably worth about $0.015 in your book. 😉

Pre-Vampire Reveal (D+)

This first half bothered the heck out of me.  If Edward had stared me (or my sixteen-year-old niece) down like that, I would’ve been like, “What the hell are you looking at?”  I could be wrong or maybe it’s because I grew up in a school where it was eat or be eaten or mind your business.  But then again, I grew up in upstate NY and not the Northwest.  What do I know about teenage life out there?  Perhaps kids like Bella aren’t as direct in the little town of Forks, Washington.  So, I’ll be nice and chalk this flub up to regional/cultural differences.

Still, Edward freaked me out.  I find nothing intriguing or lovable about a guy who stalks his love interest, but then, he turns around and says stupid stuff like “If you’re smart, you wouldn’t be following me around.”  What the f***?!  Jackass, you’re the one who’s following her!  Did you get hit with the stupid stick?  Can we say walking contradiction?  For those of you who read the book, please fill me in on what the heck he was thinking when he came up that line.

When Bella sees her friend from childhood, Jacob, and says, “Are you stalking me?”  I gagged on my popcorn.  Bella wouldn’t know a stalker if he floated outside her window every time she opened the curtains.  But then again, maybe teenage girls are into that stuff and think it’s sexy.  *shrug*

There was another TSTL moment (dark alley, alone at night), but I think I’ve said enough about the first half of the movie.  As you can see, I didn’t like it.  Bella’s father was the only bright, steady light throughout the movie, which is why I’m not giving it an F.  Not because he was an adult, but because he kept it real.  In a way, he made it easy for those who interacted with him to keep it real, too.

Until now, I hadn’t bought in to the love between Edward and Bella.  IMHO, Bella looked at Edward like he was a novelty item.  In turn, Edward saw her as a chew toy (no pun intended).  He’d play with her a bit, then grunt and walk off with an attitude, leaving her forgotten.  I don’t call that romance.  I call that teenage hormones.  After almost 100  years, I thought Edward should’ve had a handle on that by now.  Or are those frozen in time just like the rest of him?  Not to mention, he and Bella seemed to have fallen in love in one afternoon.  Is this realistically possible?    

Also, vampires without fangs?  Did I miss something? 

Post-Vampire Reveal (A-)

Things picked up and a huge way.  We got to hang out with Bella and Edward without the drama.  And yes, to me, Edward came off as a drama queen in that first half.  Bella seemed so mixed up and confused at times that I wondered how she even functioned in everyday life.  For some reason, I felt like the actors’ emotions were forced as much as their lines.  By the time we get to this point, everyone seems to have relaxed into their character and are able to let things flow naturally, especially Bella and Edward. 

I LOVE the Cullen family!  The baseball game scene got a huge thumbs-up and called out to the tomboy in me.  :D  I thought it was great that the Cullens pitched in to protect Bella because they considered her part of them.  Who wouldn’t want a cool bunch of relatives like that?  ;)  I thought it was both cute and hilarious they were making lunch for her with large pieces of pork frying in a pan without knowing the kid was a vegetarian. 

Also, I thought it was very noble for Edward to tell Bella he wanted to “officially” meet her father.  Given the small town, I thought they would’ve known each other before then.  But hey.  He’s an old kid.  Maybe they did things like that back in the day. 

I hated what Bella did and said to her dad, but I understood why.  Although, had I been James, the bad guy, I still would’ve went after her father because he’s still her flesh and blood.  Just because you tell off a family member, that doesn’t always mean you cut ties with them.  Blood is thicker than water, so the kill–or threat of–would’ve been worth it.  But then again, Dad wasn’t James’s primary target.  Bella was.

Also, I got a much better sense of Bella and Edward’s love for each other.  With her life was in danger, seeing Edward struggle with leaving her in his brother and sister’s hands was thoroughly refreshing.  It was also nice to see him struggle to get her seat-belted into the car to get her to safety.  Those were points where I really started to buy into their romance. 

Edward redeemed himself big-time  with me when refused to bite Bella.  He loved her enough that he wanted her to enjoy her teenage life more than he enjoyed his.  After all, he was sort of dying when he was seventeen.  That has major suckage written all over it.  Not every story has to end on a good note with a bite to the throat to solidify a relationship. 

Side note: AWESOME soundtrack!

So there you have it.  My review of Twilight.  My friend, Kathy Calarco is in the middle of taking a Fiction to Film class and she clued me into something I had completely forgotten about the two entertainment industries.  She said so much money is shoveled into a movie that the writers can’t afford to have the story appeal to just the fans of the book.  They have to appeal to everyone.  As a non-reader of the book, the last half of the movie appealed to me so much that I’ll be dusting off my copy of the Twilight…assuming I can find it.  And since a second movie is in the works, I’m planning to see it, though I can’t promise it won’t be at the discount theater.  At $6.50 for a matinee showing, nomovie is worth that.  :lol: 

What did you think of the movie?  What about the book?  What about the hype?

~Marcia Colette

www.marciacolette.com

24 Comments

  1. Kath Calarco said,

    Since I haven’t read the book or seen the movie, I’ll comment on yours about my Fic to Film class. From what I’ve learned to date, when Hollywood adapts a runaway best selling novel, they’ll try to appeal to not only the reading audience, but to those who haven’t read the book. After all, in Hollywood it’s all about the box office take.

    That said, I prefer Indie (art house)flicks because it’s not entirely about the box office take; it’s about the film adapter’s interpretation first, and box office take second. Of course, movie making costs money, so I believe all movie makers realize they have to at least break even. However, in the Indie world, I feel it’s more about the art and not the bling.

    Great review!

  2. Kath Calarco said,

    P.S. Quickie disclaimer – My thoughts on Hollywood adaptations are based on my opinion after taking four weeks of classes. I didn’t learn in class about audience appeal; that’s merely how I see things after four weeks of classes. The adaptations studied in my class are based on literary short stories and novellas, not commercial fiction such as “Twilight”.

  3. Edie said,

    I didn’t see it or read the book (though I tried the book). From your review, it sounds like a mess. I’ll stay far away from that.

    There are no movies I want to see right now. The last one I enjoyed was Clint Eastwood’s Gran Torino. I’d recommend it to everyone!

  4. Twilight » Blog Archive » Twilight « Shape Shifter Romance said,

    […] Marcia wrote an interesting post today on Twilight « Shape Shifter RomanceHere’s a quick excerptAfter seeing Twilight the movie, I think I’ll dig out my copy again. However, I’ll be skimming everything that happened before Bella confronted Edward in the woods. With that being said, I felt it best to break up this review to give … […]

  5. Alaina said,

    i am anti twilight..refuse to read the books or watch the movie (and i could have gone for free!)
    as much as i love vampires and weres… the whole idea of twilight offends me.. (hello? hes like 100 years old.. and shes a teenager!).. plus the fact that she ripped off all my fav authors.. so i wont see it..
    ( i will get off my podium now)
    in other movie news.. just saw Push and Hotel for Dogs.. and they were great.. cant wait for the new Street Fighter movie to come out.. then Watchmen.. and WOlverine.. and the Wolf Man.. so many good movies coming up

  6. Michele Hauf said,

    I think all the hype scared me away from both the book and movie. A friend gave me a copy of the book–I still haven’t read it.

    I guess I’m more for the sexy, adult world of vampires, and like a good tension-strung relationship that is satisfied by the ‘bite’.

    I’ll leave this series to the teenie-boppers.

    I saw PUSH last weekend too! You know, the hubby and I both said the same thing. “It wasn’t the best movie we’d ever seen, but it had so many interesting things going on.” It’s really worth a watch

  7. Estella said,

    I did not see the movie, but I have read the book. I enjoyed it and and have read the second and third book in the series and enjoyed them just as much.

  8. Marcia said,

    Unfortunate, but true, Kath. When it comes down to the millions of dollars shoved into the movie, the creators want to make sure they get their money back. If that means not staying true to the book, then so be it. I think the smartest thing I’ve heard in a long time is the decision to turn the last Harry Potter movie into two movies instead of one. Thank goodness someone got a clue. Not only that, but they’re bound to double their profits, too.

  9. Marcia said,

    Edie, the first half of that movie was a mess. Like I said, I don’t know if the book was like that, but if it was, then I’m not disappointed that I tossed it when I did. But…in light of the last half of the movie, I’ll send out a search party for it in my TBR room. 😉

  10. Marcia said,

    Alaina, you’re a woman after my own heart!!! That’s pretty much what my movie list looks like in the next coming months. 😀

    As for Twilight, rant away. Angel and Buffy had a HUGE age difference. But unlike Twilight, the reality of their romance was raw, emotional, not sugarcoated. There wasn’t any “let’s go for a walk in the woods and when we come out, I’ll be in love.” Buffy and Angle had a no-hold’s barred love affair and that made it real for me.

    I’ll give Meyer’s her props for creating a mega-hit, but she has some work to do before she wins me over as a fan. I’m just not there yet and not losing any sleep over it.

  11. Marcia said,

    Crap. I thought about going to see PUSH, too, Michele. Oh well… 🙂

    I guess I’m more for the sexy, adult world of vampires, and like a good tension-strung relationship that is satisfied by the ‘bite’.

    Amen, sista! 😉 When the tension hit the fan in the last half of Twilight, that was when I REALLY started getting into it and the first time I saw some real romance between Bella and stalker boy. Until then, I got nothing but overactive hormones. Been there, done that, don’t wanna go back.

  12. Marcia said,

    Estella, that’s what I’m hoping for when I start reading my copy again. I have nothing against getting hooked on the Twilight series. In fact, I want to get hooked. But so far, it just started off badly for me. The movie did enough to convince me to give it a second shot, so I will. Keep your fingers crossed. 😉

  13. Melissa Carmichael said,

    Marcia, I haven’t read the book or seen the movie but, I have a friend who’s hooked on the books. She just finished book three I think?

    Speaking of movies, I just had a date nite and saw Taken. Started off slow but, lots of action after that.

    Melissa

  14. Alaina said,

    id say still go see Push.. it was really good.. couple plot holes.. but it worked. plus.. CHRIS EVANS!!!

    meh i dunno.. buffy and angel.. mebbe its just cuz David Boreanez is amazingly hot.. and Rpattz isnt.. lol
    plus there wasnt some thing about buffy getting preggers with a baby vamp that tried to eat its way out of her .. something like that..

  15. Beth C. said,

    I could not stand the book and haven’t been in any hurry to see the movie. My friend who I swap books with loves Twilight. I struggled to read the first chapter…stopped on the second page of the next chapter and skipped to the end. I needed to see if it got any better…if it was worth struggling to read. The last chapter bored me as well. Stopped reading….wondered once again why I dislike another best selling author’s works and sent the book back to library.

    Last month I saw Taken and Inkheart. Inkheart was a nice fun movie for entertainment.Nothing serious but then I wanted to be entertained. Waiting for a copy of the book to see what’s different. Taken was okay. Probably should have waited for the cheapie theatre…but it was an action flick. (If anyone gets motion sick be wary. There is one sequence that gave me a headache…I’m not usually affected by these things. It was the night time chase sequence and they bounced back and forth between the cars.)

  16. Marcia said,

    Melissa, there are a LOT of people who are hooked on the book. Between that and the last half of the movie, I’m going to give book one another try. After all, that’s how I got hooked on Harry Potter. 😉

    Taken, eh? I’ve thought about seeing that, too.

  17. Marcia said,

    Alaina, saddly enough, I’ve been taking stock in Chris Evans, too. He’s gaining some headway on my guy-dar. 😆

    Oh man, I’ve heard about that preggers scene in the series. When I read a small description of it, I thought, “I see why this series hasn’t won me over.” But in all fairness, I’m going to put that aside and give the book one last try. Although, something tells me I won’t I won’t make it that far in the series.

  18. Marcia said,

    Beth, you went farther along in the book than I did. When I find my copy, I’ll probably end up doing a lot of skimming, too.

    The weird thing is most of the people who I’ve spoken with who love Twilight (the book), have said that the beginning is slow. As authors, I thought we weren’t supposed to bore our audience to death in the first chapter. Either way, Meyer’s is laughing her way to the bank and there’ no harm in that.

    I wanted to see Inkheart, but not enough to remember that it was playing at the theater. Maybe when it gets to the $1.50 theater, I’ll check it out.

  19. Liz Kreger said,

    Got the book but haven’t read it yet. I did see the movie and I have to agree with most of your comments. I saw so much teenage angst that I was getting bored and wishing they’d get on with things. They could have easily cut a lot of the angst and concentrated on more of the action as far as I was concerned.

  20. Marcia said,

    Exactly, Liz. The teenage angst got to the point that it was ridiculous. Not to mention James didn’t become a real threat until the end of the movie. They should’ve had him come in a lot sooner, which might have played into the angst nicely. Heck, I know I’d struggle if a maniac vampire was out to get me. It was a missed opportunity that might have beefed things up and made it a better movie.

  21. Tivi Jones said,

    Wow! What a review. I love your voice in these things.

    I’ve heard mixed reviews about the movie…although for $1.50, I might venture out to see it.😛 I’ve heard the book is good, but from the anecdotes people have shared with me I think I’ll be annoyed with Bella. Ugh, I should probably just bite the bullet and see for myself. damnit.

    PS: I grew up in NC where if a teenager stared at another teenager too long, they might get cut.

  22. Marcia said,

    PS: I grew up in NC where if a teenager stared at another teenager too long, they might get cut.
    😆 In that case, maybe it’s an East Coast thing.

    Tivi, I used the same logic for going to see the movie. It was $1.50. What was the harm in that, right? Since it ended on a much stronger note than where it started, I can honestly say I didn’t waste my life away. Unfortunately, I found both Bella and Edward annoying as hell at times.

  23. Kate Sterling said,

    I guess I’m a bit out synch with most people here – I really enjoyed all of the Twilight books (as did my daughter) but I didn’t like the movie at all.

  24. Marcia said,

    Kate, I finally got a copy of Twilight and started reading a little bit of it today. So far, I think I like the book better, too. I’m not in love with the story yet because I haven’t read enough of it. But at least Bella seems a bit more confident and Edward isn’t such a drama queen. Then again, I started after page 250. 😉

Leave a Reply

