Review: Kiss of Fate by Deborah Cooke

February 9, 2009 at 5:00 am (General, Larissa Ione, New Releases, Reviews, Teresa D'Amario) (, , , , , , , , )

Haunted by dreams of a lover who takes the form of a mythical dragon, Eileen Grosvenor searches for the truth. She never expects to find a real dragon shape shifter, let alone one who who awakens her passion and ignites memories of her own forgotten past.

Erik Sorensson is focused on leading the Pyr to triumph against the Slayers at all costs, even the sacrifice of his own life. When an ancient relic that can turn the tide of the battle reveals itself again, Erik knows he has to retrieve it from Eileen’s possession. But he’s shocked by an incredible firestorm when he tries to claim the relic — a firestorm that forces him to confront the truth about Eileen’s identity. Her presence touches him in unexpected ways, reminding him of mistakes he’s determined to not make again, and Erik is forced to make a choice…duty or love.

Only by unlocking the secrets of the past can Erik and Eileen fulfill the final prophecy of the Pyr – but can they face their deepest fears and claim their destined love in time to defeat the Slayers?

I read Deborah’s first book with a little skepticism. Dragons? How on earth can dragons be sexy? Prior to this I’d not read any real dragon shifters before. Books with dragons, yes, but not where they shifted to human form. Yet within the pages of Deborah’s books, the impossible becomes real. You can smell the sulphur, feel the beat of their wings, and burn with the sensuality of their love.

So Friday I got my copy of Kiss of Fate, the newest installment of the Dragonfire Series. What an awesome book this was. Original and exciting, this book drags you across the ocean and back again, from one continent to another. The richness of the prose in London is so clear you can almost smell the city streets, visualize the buildings and feel the wood beneath your feet on the historic bridges above the rushing water. The same can be said once you reach back across the waters into America, the contrasts in the two cultures noticeable to one who has seen both.


But more than scenery, is the intensity and danger within these pages. For me, I love a good romance that makes your heart beat in fear, terrified something horrible will go wrong. And when it does, feeling the pain, the fear, and even crying a tear. But also cheering when something goes right, when history doesn’t repeat itself, when our Hero and Heroine manage to do the impossible.

Deborah has done that and more. I found myself turning page after page, determined to make it to the end in time to bring you this review today, rather than waiting till I come back from today’s scheduled trip (I’m off to never never land, errrr, New Mexico). Erik and Eileen prove that love has no bounds, through time, space and distance. Wrongs can be righted and pain can be soothed.

glitter-graphics.com

If you love a good romance, filled with good hot sexual tension that literally sparks of the page, mixed in with danger and intrigue, this is the book for you. Two thumbs up!!! Great job as usual, Deborah!

Now, I have a contest for you. One which is just a little different than most of ours. And, the contest has a story of sorts.

Deborah Cooke and Larissa Ione both have books with one thing in common. They both use MY name in their books. I would like to say I was the reason they used the name, but after reading about my namesakes, that idea gives me shivers. The Scary king. But, just for grins, we’ll say it’s my namesake in each of these books, and I inspired each to such greatness (just kidding!)

So the contest is this:

Send an email with your name to desertpetiri@aol.com,. When you send me your entry, tell me what happens to Teresa (my namesake) in both Kiss of Fate by Deborah Cooke, and Larrissa Ione’s Pleasure Unbound.

We have to do this in email because I certainly don’t want to ruin anyone’s enjoyment of the books in question.

One lucky winner will receive a print copy of Tigress by the Tail. (No sense in me giving you their books, because to win, you have to have already read them!)

And due to the nature of the contest (Having to read two books) I’m going to give you TWO FULL WEEKS to send me your answer! So on Monday, February 23rd I will chose one lucky winner to receive Tigress by the Tail.

Happy reading, if you haven’t read them already!

5 Comments

  1. Deborah said,

    Thanks for the great review, Teresa!

    And hey, I’m sorry about your namesake’s fate. Nothing personal!

    d

  2. angie said,

    great review

  3. Beth C. said,

    Thanks for not spoiling anything for those of us waiting to read Eric’s story. I’ve been waiting for this and of course the showdown with his son. Now…to find a copy and the time to read.

  4. Juliana Stone said,

    yummy review! I had the pleasure of meeting miss Deborah Cooke at a chapter meeting last month. What a great lady! And I’ve read the two previous and have this baby set aside for my trip to Mexico next week…hmmm, sun, heat and dragons oh my!

  5. Teresa D'Amario said,

    awww, deborah, I’ll forgive you this time. LOL And Beth, I’m with you. I don’t want a review that ruins the story, so I’m very careful when I do reviews not to do that.🙂

Leave a Reply

