Favs and Firsts…

January 23, 2009 at 6:00 am (General, Lori Devoti) (, )

Rejar by Dara Joy
by Lori Devoti

Do you remember you first shape-shifter hero? I’m not sure he was my first, but the one that stands out in my mind is Rejar by Dara Joy. He was…I’m not sure I have the words…let’s just say he was sexy, really sexy.

Since then other favorites have been Patricia Briggs’ weres from her Mercy Thompson series. I love how protective and masculine they are without being a-holes. I also love Clay from Kelley Armstrong’s Bitten. Do you remember the song and subsequent book/movie Ode to Billy Joe? Clay reminds me of that book. Tortured, confused, good deep inside, but not sure how to be comfortable in his own skin. I love Clay.

Next week I’m going to start plotting a new Nocturne. My hero is a dragon and all ready pretty well thought out, but after that I’ll be doing a proposal for a new contract and I’m really giving thought to what I want that hero to be like.

If you could describe your perfect shape-shifter hero, what would he be like? What makes the ones that stand out for you special?

As for me, I may just have to try and find a copy of Rejar. It’s been a while…

6 Comments

  1. Colleen said,

    My first shapeshifter book was not really about shapeshifting. It was a curse placed on a man by a jinni. Claire Delacroix’s ENCHANTED had a man turn into a wolf during the day. I love love this book so much I reread it numerous times. I never get tired of this book!

  2. Lori Devoti said,

    Hey, Colleen! Was there something specific about the book or hero that made it stand out for you?

  3. Natale Stenzel said,

    Believe it or not, I think Rejar might have been my first, too — but in Knight of a Trillion Stars. Both awesome books. Why Rejar? He epitomized sexy. Total hedonist, just like his cat form. Loved that character. Might have to dig up my copies this weekend, too.

  4. Lori Devoti said,

    I read him first in Knight of a Trillion Stars too.🙂 Dara Joy just did such a good job of describing his catlike characteristics! Hedonistic…that is the perfect word for him.

  5. Karin said,

    I only really got into shapeshifters this year and my absolute favorite so far has been Babby Ray Smith from Shelly Laurenston’s The Beast In Him. There’s just something about his confidence tempered by his sense of humor that really draws me to him. Of course perhaps it’s just the way the dialogue and interactions between the hero and everyone around him were written that made him seem so funny. Either way, I was drawn to Bobby Ray, and even with the other shifters I’ve read since, he’s still at the top for me.

  6. Colleen said,

    Hmmm… what stood out about the hero for me… The struggles he went through both before the curse and during. The process of learning about himself and the steps he needed to walk inorder to better himself. And of course Love and A Happy Ending get me everytime!!!😀

Leave a Reply

