The Lure of Romance

January 21, 2009 at 11:44 am (General)

I have often thought that when you boil all of life down to its basic element.  To the one thing that drives us all.  To the one thing that we want most of all.  That single element is simply love.  It is the greatest of all things, a truth that lures our hearts to romantic fiction time and time again.  We as readers and writers of romance, renew that truth with every journey of love we read.  From the first seeds of caring to the full bloom of passion and devotion, we keep the story of love alive in us and in the world.  So as I sit before my computer this morning after one of the hardest weeks of my life, wondering why I do what I do, knowing that life could be so much easier, and maybe even more profitable were I to seek out a nine to five job, I remind myself of this truth.  With each book, I write the story of love, its magic, its ability to heal all hurts, and to conquer all obstacles.  I write about love because it matters.  It becomes the greatest thing for my chracters, which gives heart to their journey, and passion and meaning to their lives.  I sincerely hope that readers will give Emerald and Sam from Kiss of Darkess (4/09) a chance to share their love with you and that you’ll in turn share this message and their story with others.  Then the same with Marissa and Navarre in Bride of the Wolf coming 5/09  In this struggling economy, the one clear message that all readers can give to booksellers and publishers is that romance matters and the way to do that is to buy and demand romance more than ever.  For you see, despite such things as facts and numbers, when stores and publishers look at where to make cuts, they’ll look to romance often, simply because in their minds…romance isn’t important literature.

Much Love in this New Year

Jennifer St. Giles

tn2

 

 

 

kissofdarkness-5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

          bridewolf

7 Comments

  1. MarnieColette said,

    I find it ironic that book stores and publishers cut romance first. If you were to take a survey of people riding the NYC subway I would say that over 85% of people reading (and it is a good number of riders – men and woman) are reading romance. The first time I saw a guy reading S. Kenyon I was a little taken aback, I had never seen a guy reading ‘romance’ before. People need escape especially in this economy and escape is a romance with a happy ever after. Cut those depressing books that follow to close to life and give me the you of a romance. Okay – what I really meant to say was yes… I will be buying Kiss of Darkness and Bride of the Wolf.

  2. Jennifer St. Giles said,

    I agree! And sincerely appreciate the support of a fellow author! Hugs and thanks

  3. Karin said,

    I agree with your post. Love, or the need for it, really does drive us. That’s just one of the many reasons I love reading romance – that and the happily ever after.🙂

  4. Kara said,

    Everyone craves a happily ever after whether they admit to it or not. It’s what keeps us hoping, keeps us searching. I don’t know why the cut romance – it’s as much a basic taple as baseball and apple pie – LOL.

    Fantastic post and looking forward to reading your books.

  5. jennifer st giles said,

    Thank you Kara! Very True. That quest for a H E A never leaves our hearts.

  6. janet h said,

    Jennifer, hope you get to stick with writing full time. There is never enough romance. Watch the news for a few minutes. Nope, there’s never enough romance or HEA’s.

  7. Cathy said,

    Cut romance!! What are they crazy! I read about 200 books a year, can you guess how many are romance? 98%. Their are 11 houses in my court and I can walk into any one and find at least 1 romance on the coffee table or sofa, 5 have crammed bookcases like mine full of them.

Leave a Reply

