1st Review for Destiny of the Wolf!

January 11, 2009 at 9:02 am (General)

“Praise for Terry Spear! I thoroughly enjoy werewolf books but sometimes they tend to get a little too stereotypical for me. We all know that werewolves shift with the full moon, can take human shape, and can be killed by silver bullets. What I love most about these werewolves is that they read books about werewolves and watch werewolf movies. They tend to mock the media that feeds into the werewolf stereotype and that makes the book hilarious. The thought that some werewolf out there is reading this book added a whole new dimension of delight for me.” –Reviewed by Shawn Remfrey, Armchair Reviews

I loved this review! Subtle humor works for me in all of my books. I couldn’t write slapstick if I wanted to. Mostly because I tend to write seriously also–romantic suspense. I tried to write for Flipside once, now a defunct line, but the more serious side of my writing kept slipping in.  

Still, humor comes naturally in dialogue and actions and reactions. It’s not something that is forced into the story.  My daughter says in my YA works I can’t keep the rainbows out. True, I can’t write strictly very dark works of fiction. Life is too full of dark stuff. I want to write fiction that’s seriously romantic, seriously suspenseful, and seriously fun.🙂

One of my critique partners once said that my humor sneaked up behind her when she was least expecting it. I loved that!🙂 I never thought of my humor as sneaky, but I’ll blame it on my dad. He was a total character and I defnitely got my sense of humor from him.

Our standard question to him when he’d tell us something he said at work was, “Did the guys laugh?”  Of course we were worried they took him seriously.

One year while he worked at the Cape (Cape Kennedy), he told his co-workers that he was growing noggas. Great money in them. Makes super noggahide and it was all the rage at the time. Unbelievably, several believed him.🙂

For Heart of the Wolf, I had a review that said, “Normally I don’t find shape shifter stories humorous unless it is intended to be a kind of spoof, but this story has a humorous streak running through it. There is a human man who wants to rescue the wolf form of Bella and place her in a zoo for her protection and he is relentless in his pursuit to save the stray red wolf. This man keeps complicating Bella’s situation and adds some funny dilemmas for Bella and Devlyn to work around and right in the midst of all of their life threatening problems. Heart of the Wolf is full of action, adventure, suspense, and romance and is one of best werewolf stories I’ve read. 5 Angels & Recommended Read~~Fallen Angel Reviews!! Reviewed by: Stephanie B.

So if you’re looking for a sexy, serious, and fun read, Destiny of the Wolf is coming March 1!

So can the shapeshifters you read about have a little humor, or do you like the strictly serious type?

4 Comments

  1. Colleen said,

    Love the review! Congrats Terry!😀

  2. terryspear said,

    Thanks, Colleen!🙂

  3. Cathy said,

    I loved the Heart of the Wolf. I can’t wait to read this next book. And YES I love humor in my books. One of my favorite authors is Sandra Hill and her viking series, because humor is laced through out. Who says wolves can’t have a sense of humor, have you seen them play?!

  4. terryspear said,

    Ahh, thanks, Cathy!!!🙂 Destiny of the Wolf is almost here!!! Can’t wait either!🙂

    Absolutely on wolves playing.🙂 I saw a really cute picture in a book on wolves where the mother and the pup are inspecting a feather, as if to say, where’d the bird go??? But it was such a cute picture!

Leave a Reply

