What a Paranormal Year It’s Been

January 5, 2009 at 8:00 am (Authors & Titles, Marcia Colette)

When I look back on this year, it’s been an amazing one for some of my friends. Many of these guys I bumped into during conventions or conferences and haven’t forgotten their faces.  Heck, I’ve even worked with one or two at a previous place of employment.  But my lips are sealed on that subject.  Said person(s) have enough blackmail material to earn me a tar-and-feather sentence.  :lol:  Anyway, I wanted to share some of their exciting 2008 moments with you because they’re going to be a force to be reckoned with this coming year.

My first highlight is the lovely Elisabeth Naughton who I met at RWA Dallas. At the time, she was a Golden Heart finalist with an amazing, magnetic smile. Her romantic adventure debut Stolen Fury came out on December 30th. Being that we’re geared more toward the paranormal side of things, I’m highlighting her because she also landed a two-book deal with Dorchester for a paranormal romance.  In a little over a year’s time, Elisabeth has five books coming to market.

Another sweetie I want to single out is my buddy and fellow rabbit-lover Leanna Renee Hieber. Talk about an cool chick. I’m telling you, she will blow you away with her wonderful sense of humor and outgoing personality. This amazing lady scored a contract with Dorchester for her Victorian, Ghost Buster debut The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker.  If you’re curious, check out the promo video on her blog.

Some other people who’ve scored high this year, Jenna Black sold an YA urban fantasy to St. Martin. By the way, this chick is on fire and I’m not just talking about her Morgan Kinsley demon exorcist series, but she writes vampire romances, too. My dearest friend Edie Ramer has made it as a finalist in the American Title V Contest with her dead-people-talking novel Dead People.  And last, though certainly not least, is another fabulous paranormal author you guys need to keep your eyes on.  The wonderful Nancy Haddock rocked 2008 with her paranormal mystery debut La Vida Vampire and earned the title of National Bestseller. 

Hmmmmm.  I smell several guest spots in our future.

Of course, these are only some who’ve rocked last year in some paranormal way, shape, and form.  As for your blog hostesses, everyone here is in a great position for a wonderful repeat performance in 2009.  I say bring it on, baby!  Bring.  It.  On. 😉

Have you or someone one you know set their own paranormal stage for 2009?  Feel free to share anything to your heart’s desire. 

~Marcia Colette

www.marciacolette.com

14 Comments

  1. edie17 said,

    Marcia, a big SMOOCH. Thanks for the shout out! I love the title, THE STRANGELY BEAUTIFUL TALE OF MISS PERCY PARKER. Elisabeth Naughton’s STOLEN FURY in on the top of my TBR pile. Of course, I’ve already devoured Nancy’s LA VIDA VAMPIRE.

    Um, you forgot to mention your sales. You rocked 2008. I predict 2009 will get better for you!

  2. Elisabeth Naughton said,

    Aw, Marcia. Thanks so much for including me in your list! I’m VERY excited about my new paranormal series to be released in early 2010. I never planned to write paranormal but this was an idea that just came out of nowhere and I couldn’t NOT write it.

    And Edie…I hope you enjoy STOLEN FURY. I’m so happy the book is being received well so far!

    I’m seeing several books on this list it looks like I need to run out and buy!

  3. Lainey Bancroft said,

    Ooh, ooh! I don’t write paranormal, but it is wicked cool to get a chance to squee about Juliana Stone. Jules is a neat cyber pal and almost a neighbour of mine here in Nowheresv8lle, Ontario and she sold her Jaguar shape-shifters to Avon a few weeks ago in a two book deal!

  4. Marcia said,

    Thanks, Edie. Believe it or not, I had written this blog so far in advance that I had forgotten to add my sale to Samhain in. 😉

    But talk about a way to ring in the New Year. I couldn’t be more proud of you, hon. *hugs*

  5. Marcia said,

    I know that feeling, Elisabeth. I’ll certainly be checking in on you for an exact release date. Girlfriend, I can’t wait. In fact, I need to find some time to dive into STOLEN FURY. The few pages I’ve read so far are amazing!

  6. Kath Calarco said,

    You named them all for me! Except, you forgot to mention you, so I’ll mention you. Marcia Colette landed a deal with Samhain, date of release (tentatively) Aug, 2009. It appears that although I’m unpublished, just by knowing me gives greatness.😉

  7. Marcia said,

    That is AWESOME news, Lainey! And another werecat lover, too. How can I resist? Okay, I’m making note of Juliana so I can keep an eye out for her book. Thanks for shouting her out, too. 😉

  8. Marcia said,

    Oh, Kath. *blush* Sending you a cyber hug just isn’t enough. And I have no doubts that you’re going to have your own greatness,too, someday. Mark my words. 😀

  9. Karin said,

    I will definitely be keeping an eye out for those books. 2008 was the year I really got into paranormals and I look forward to more paranormal goodness in 2009.

  10. Marcia said,

    I’m with you, Karin. I can’t even begin to imagine all of the cool books I couldn’t include in this post. I know they’re out there, so the hunt is on! 😆

  11. Margay said,

    My paranormal goals for 2009: (at least) 3 more books in the series The Dante Chronicles, which began with Nora’s Soul, and the start of a new shapeshifter series, the first of which is Sloane Wolf.

    As an aside, I met Juliana on another list and had a chance to read some of her work. She’s one to watch.

  12. Marcia said,

    You go, Margay! I’m right there with you on the sequel thing. It’s hard to work on something else when you’ve got a series you love to pieces. Go wherever the muse takes you. It’ll be worth it.

    And thanks for the tip on Juliana. I read a blurb about her book it sounds fantastic. Oooooo, I can’t wait to get my grubby little fingers on it. 😆

  13. Leanna Renee Hieber said,

    Marcia, thank you SO much for mentioning me and The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker! “Strangely Beautiful” is the book of my heart and I’m so excited to share it. The sequel is slated for early 2010.

    So that’s my 2009 goal, promote the heck out of “Strangely Beautiful” (thanks for helping, Marcia!🙂 )finish the Percy Parker story arc in book two and hopefully sell the paranormal Victorian-set YA I’m working on too(I just finshed the proposal and sent it off to my agent today).

    I’m so excited to see the other books you’ve mentioned, congratulations to everyone! And, of course, I cannot wait to dive in to YOUR 2009 success my dear!!

  14. Marcia said,

    A sequel for Percy?! Yayyyyyyyy! That is so awesome! If it’s anything like the first book, count me in. I saw everything I needed to see with your promo video to make me a fan. I’m wishing you all the lucky I can muster with the YA, too. You’re a star, girlfriend! 😉

Leave a Reply

