SILVER AND GOLD

December 31, 2008 at 10:30 am (General)

As I face the close of 2008 and peek into the cloudy horizon of 2009, I am reminded of a verse from a Girl Scout song, “Make new friends but keep the old, one is silver and the other gold.”  The friends met, the memories made, and the great books we read or (for us authors) wrote in 2008 are like silver and gold in our lives, precious, bright and sparkling bits of life to be treasured and held onto.  I’d like to thank those here at Shapeshifter Romance for being part of the silver and gold, the readers here who follow the characters us writers work so hard to make, and the fellow authors who come and share a bit of themselves despite how crazily harried the life of an author can become (Writing is like dirty dishes and clothes.  It is a job that is never done and one can easily lose oneself amid the never ending cycle of trying to keep up.  I am sure I have lost my identity a time or two somewhere amid the piles of clothes on the laundry room floor and I know I’ve lost all sense of where I am going in a book as well, but that’s another story).  Two of my silver and golds in writing this year, I will be sharing with you as they hit the book stores April and May of 09.  Kiss of Darkness and Bride of the Wolf  But what about all of you?  I’d like to hear from readers and authors about the friends, memories, and books that have  made your silver and gold moments in 2008!

coming 4/09_

coming 4/09

Coming 5/09

Coming 5/09

__

Happy Reading and Happy New Year!

Jennifer St. Giles

5 Comments

  1. Deidre said,

    I’m glad I’m not the only one with piles of dirty dishes and laundry. Here’s hoping to getting better organized and cleaner in 2009. LOL

    Deidre

  2. Marcia said,

    My silver and gold moment happened in Barnes and Noble. I nearly pucked on my shoes at the sight of my book on the shelf next to Kresley Cole’s. Needless to say, I’ll never forget it. Here’s to hoping I get to sit next to her at a group booksigning in 2009. Then again, the excitement might drive me to puke all over her books. Note to self: bring a paper bag. 😉

  3. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Marcia, I’d like to see mine next to Kresley Cole’s too. LOL. And Jennifer, we are all thrilled to be part of the silver and gold, and so excited to see the new books coming. I can’t wait!!!

  4. Karin said,

    Sharing the first three books of Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld series with my grandma definitely tops my list of 2008’s silver and gold moments. Both of us absolutely loved the books and characters and anxiously awaited each one’s release. We’re now counting down the time to the release of the fourth book in the series later this year.

  5. Naomi said,

    I had a short story accepted into an anthology of werewolf stories – definitely my highlight as I now feel I can tell people I’m a real author, lol.

Leave a Reply

