Happy Thanksgiving!

November 26, 2008 at 8:40 am (Larissa Ione)

Thanksgiving is a holiday that, to be honest, I never liked growing up.  I think it’s because they were such a horrible family get-together.  My dad’s side of the family is so stiff and formal, and my mom would be grumpy…it was all just stressful.

But since I got married and started a family of my own, Thanksgivings have become a favorite holiday.  I don’t like to have to go anywhere on Thanksgiving day — I like to stay home with family and just enjoy the day.  We’ve made our own traditions over the years, which include, nicely, the fact that my husband does most of the cooking! *g*  And he always makes homemade cranberry sauce.  Yum!

I always make a dessert that contains no pumpkin.  I detest pumpkin pie.  Anything chocolate will do nicely, though.

And because I’m a vegetarian and big-time animal lover, I always make a donation to a turkey rescue on Thanksgiving.  I give to FarmSanctuary and its Adopt-A-Turkey program.  It’s been a tradition of mine for years, because the rest of my family are carnivores, so we still have a turkey — this is just my way of helping out.

What kinds of traditions do you have?  And happy Thanksgiving!

1 Comment

  1. Karin said,

    Thanksgiving is all about spending time with extended family. On the actual day, my immediate family always goes up to my mom’s parents’ house, which is conveniently located up the street and around the corner. My grandma does the turkey, stuffing, homemade cranberry sauce, and mashed potatoes. My parents do all the other side dishes and I bake apple pie and mini cheesecakes (trying pumpkin for the first time this year).

    The day after Thanksgiving is always spent with all of my dad’s brothers and sisters and his mom, along with all of my cousins. We all go over to my aunt’s house and have dessert. I love it because dessert is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

