The Call – Paranormal Style

November 17, 2008 at 6:00 am (General, Marcia Colette) ()

I love “The Call” stories.  In fact, they’re pretty much an addiction at this point.  Every Friday, I tune into Dear Author’s My First Sale stories because I like to read about the successes.  There is enough doom and gloom on the road to publication, so it’s nice to see that someone has made it.

So, I’ve decided to do my own take on “The Call”, only this is one where everyone can participate, both readers and authors alike.  I want to know when you received your call to the paranormal.  What made you sit up and say, “Wow!  Is there more of this stuff out there?” 

My paranormal “call” came when my mother took me and my brother to see Dracula with Frank Langella.  And before you ask, I was probably too young to see an R-rated movie, although there’s a huge difference between the R-rated ones now and back then.  Besides, Mom couldn’t afford a babysitter and she had her heart set on seeing this movie. 😉

Anyway, I can’t really recall if I loved the movie or not because I think I spent most of the time with my hands covering my eyes.  However, I saw enough to awaken my fascination with the supernatural.  I thought that Frank guy was okay, while my mother and aunt pretty much salivated over his accent and delicious charms.  I thought it was rather cool with how much he loved that fragile woman enough to bring her back from the dead.  Although, she sure could have used a tan because her skin was little too pasty and sickly for me.  ;)  Oh, and I had a crush on the courageous and gorgeous Jonathan Harker, played by Trevor Eve.  Now, he was a man who sneaked a blush or giggle out of toddler me.

It took me a few years to realize Dracula was a vampire.  I didn’t know what to called him other than the Caped Man Who Liked to Eat People’s Necks.  Still, that movie opened up a new world for me.  Granted, it was horror, but it was one that fueled my excitement for the paranormal.  It also taught me the lengths people will go through for their loved ones when their lives are in danger.  Even as a kid, I was enraptured by the romance and understood the importance of that in adult lives.

So how about you?  What was the first movie or book that called you to the paranormal and why?

~Marcia Colette

www.marciacolette.com

15 Comments

  1. edie17 said,

    I don’t think I ever saw that movie, but I remember thinking Frank Langella was sexy in an older guy way. lol

    I was raised on fairy tales, and it shows that I veer toward the fantasy side of paranormal for my own writing. But I read paranormal now because there are so many great books out.

  2. Beth C. said,

    I can’t name a specific ‘call’ to paranormal. My first books I remember are The Alfred Hitchcock Three Investigator Mystery books and Nancy Drew. Just a hint of something ‘other’ in the ordinary world. I moved into Horror, Sci-fi, and epic fantasy. All of which might have a hint of the paranormal.

  3. Michele Hauf said,

    It was the remake of Dark Shadows, starring Ben Cross as Barnabus Collins, for me. Hadn’t thought much of vampires until then. Thought vampire were darn sexy after seeing that show. Haven’t looked back since.

  4. Marcia said,

    Edie, he’s one of those few guys who gets more majestic as he grows old. The same for Sean Connery. 😉

    There are times I have to wonder what my mother was thinking when she didn’t start my brother or me out with fairy tales. 😆 Still, I love getting whisked off to those wonderful worlds, too.

  5. Marcia said,

    Beth, I read one Nancy Drew book in my entire kiddie life and I knew mystery wasn’t for me. Little did I know. I love a little mystery with my paranormal. And until I had read The Hobbit back in high school, I wasn’t much into epic fantasy either.

    It’s amazing that all it takes is just one little story to get the excitement perculating for more. 😉

  6. Marcia said,

    Oooooooo, Michele! I remember that one. It was my first intro to Dark Shadows and I loved it! I tried watching the original episodes, but they didn’t do anything for me. 😦 Oh well. At least I have the memories. As long as they’re bringing back things like Batman and The Hulk, I say bring back Dark Shadows. I’m telling you, with today’s hunks, that show would ROCK!!! And maybe I won’t mourn Moonlight so much either.

  7. Karin said,

    I think the first book that really called me to the paranormal would have to be Bram Stoker’s DRACULA. Of course, it was closely followed by JEKYLL & HYDE and FRANKENSTEIN. Those classics couple with my fascination with Greek Mythology really made me wonder about what else might be out there. Now I can’t seem to get enough of paranormal because there are so many dimensions to each author’s worlds and characters that they’re always new and fresh, at least to me.

  8. Marcia said,

    Ah, the classics. 😉 Karin, I’m so with you. Werewolves, Frankenstein, you name it; I sought it out. Greek Mythology did me in, too, which is part of the reason why I’m such a HUGE Sherrilyn Kenyon fan, too. That’s like my favorites all rolled up in one.

  9. Teresa D'Amario said,

    My call came early….. I think I was 6 or 7. Dark Shadows was my thing. The original one (yes, I’m telling my age here). I remember PLAYING dark shadows… watched it every day until it went off the air. I was 8 or 9 the. I remember I cried… because I LOVED my dark shadows! Then, in the 70’s there was a movie of it made. i watched it until 3 am…. one of the few times my mom let me stay up to watch tv.

    Funny thing is at the end, Kate Jackson is screaming her head off (think that’s who it was, I know she was in the original tv series), and My brother – who was a sleepwalker, came into the room, turned off my lite, walked right past me into the kitchen, slammed his hand against the wall (think he thought he was killing a bug) and went back past me again.

    I don’t know which scared me worse – the scream at the end of the movie, or my brother turning out the light at that exact moment. LOL.

  10. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Might I add, yes, my brother was sleep walking.

  11. *lizzie starr said,

    It was the original Dark Shadows for me, too. I even attempted my first ‘story’ at that time–about a werewolf.

    and supposedly, Johnny Depp’s working on a new Dark Shadows…hmmm. Or is that yummmm.🙂

  12. Marcia said,

    😆 Teresa, that sounds like something my brother would do wide awake. Only, he’d wait until we were watching a really bloody scene and then tackle me to the floor after the lights went out. He was evil like that.

  13. Marcia said,

    Oh, Lizzie! Johnny Depp playing Barnabas Collins? Yup, I’m getting that gitty feeling again. 😉 Only, let’s hope it’s not a musical like Sweeney Todd. I’m just not one for musicals unless they’re on broadway. *shrug*

  14. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Funny, I’m not a huge Depp fan, but I could see him as Barnabus Collins! I bet it would be the biggest Dark Shadows ever!

  15. Marcia said,

    Teresa, I have to admit. Depp bugged me in Sweeney Todd, the Pirate movies (with the exception of the first one) and that boring Secret Window crap. Him as Barnabas Collins has me thinking there will be a good chance he’ll be back on his game again. At least, for me. 😉

Leave a Reply

