In the New America is there room for werewolves?

November 12, 2008 at 6:00 am (General, Lori Devoti)

By Lori Devoti

Last week was a huge week for the U.S.. History making. There was a lot of talk of change and a New America—an accepting America. Made me wonder how accepting we are, or would be, if vampires and werewolves and magic-tossing wizards were all real. Crazy thought I know, but there you have it. I’m a writer, I have to have a few crazy thoughts.

There are a lot of books that address this—show some pre-book time when weres and vamps “came out.” (Kim Harrison and Caitlin Kittredge spring to mind.) The characters talk about the terror that ensued, and usually in these books there is some kind of “bad” part of town where all these creatures now live. Sometimes the “bad” part is only bad to outsiders, to those who actually live there it is quite pleasant and safe. Sometimes the “bad” is really bad and only the most dismal of the magical stay there—the others try to “blend”. Sometimes the magical openly have normal jobs, sometimes they have to hide what they are, and sometimes they have their own “separate but equal” society.

So, what is most real? What would you do if it came out that weres and vamps and such really did exist? What would you do if you found out your neighbor who you’ve been exchanging lawn tips with over the back fence was also the dog you see scampering around back there late at night?

How freaked out would we be? Would there be camps and reservations opened up to house and separate? Would the magical be declared non-human thus not “men” and not part of our rights? Or would we still have that chat over the fence and still entrust our kids to the teacher who just so happens to carry type O in her thermos each day?

How would we react, really?

And which writers got it right?

For what it’s worth, I’m going with the Heroes scenario. Panic and fear among many. An attempt to watch and control—but not World War II camps or a repeat of the Trail of Tears or missiles flying King Kong style. But then again, maybe I’m wrong.

Who wants to find out?

Leave a comment, I’m really curious what others think.

On other topics….today is the first day of my month long promotion 30 Days of Vampires. Stop by my blog! There’s a grand prize worth $100 of vampire stuff up for grabs and lots of great articles and interviews. Check out the ever growing schedule here

5 Comments

  1. Terry Spear said,

    Ohmigosh, Lori, a werewolf or vampire next door? I’m really tolerant, truly, but uhm, if a big group of vampires had a bash…in the dark of night, that would weird me out. For whatever reason, werewolves would be more acceptable, especially since they might get rid of the mice that are coming in for the winter. LOL🙂 In fact, I’ve got mouse traps set up all around my desk because twice a different mouse has nearly run across my foot while I’m typing. Guess the neighbor’s cat is NOT a mouser.
    Great blog, Lori!!!

  2. Lori Devoti said,

    My husband told me I was living in la la land if I thought people wouldn’t freak…

  3. Karin said,

    I have to agree with you, Lori, about the general reaction to finding out that weres, vamps, and wizards are real. A number of people would panic and others would try to control. It would be my hope, though, that at least some of us have learned from past experiences that ‘different’ isn’t always a bad thing. Therefore, I would hope that some people would be accepting of the differences and maybe even delight in them and that I would be among that group. Even if I wasn’t, it would be up to that group to try and spread acceptance.

  4. JenB said,

    I wouldn’t be surprised if I found out my neighbor was a werewolf. In fact, I’d probably be relieved. If he were a werewolf, that would explain his bizarre behavior. If he’s merely human, then he’s just crazy.😀

  5. Savanna Kougar said,

    I’d be freaked out at first, in how I felt inside. However, as long as they weren’t threatening to me and those I love, I’d want to get to know them because I love learning about different cultures. Besides, if they were wolfies I’d want to pet them. If they were vamps, well…if the men were tall, dark and handsome…and available. And, omygosh, wizards, I’d like to be an apprentice.
    And talk about the great stories they could tell for all us writers.

Leave a Reply

