Guest Blogger – Beth Caudill and a PRIZE

October 9, 2008 at 1:00 am (Guest Bloggers, Marcia Colette)

by Beth Caudill

I had the fun chance to interview the lovely Beth Caudill who writes for Wild Rose Press.  Her first foray into the shapeshifting world begins with Informally Yours.  Not only is she a writer, but she’s one of the hardest working moms in the business.  Oh, I forgot.  Motherhood isn’t a business.  It if were, there would be a lot of millionaires running around right now. 

~Marcia Colette

**********

First I’d like to thank Marcia and the other authors at ShapeShifter Romance for having me here today. I’m Beth Caudill and I write short paranormal and fantasy stories.

MC:  Tell us about Informally Yours. And doggone it, why is that excerpt so short on your website? I want more!

BC:  The idea for Informally Yours came from a writing challenge on Kelley Armstrong’s Online Writing Group. We were given the picture of a haunted house and in 1500 to 2000 words had to write a story staring the house. I saw more in my head then just the short house scene.

IY was rejected the first time I submitted it. But I was asked to rework it and The Wild Rose Press accepted it on my second submission. Here is the blurb:

Everyday Melinda Jenson goes to work at Formally Yours, a high-end formal wear store, unaware the customers and owner are members of the local supernatural community.  On Halloween night, Melinda’s boss asks her to make a simple delivery. Unwilling to disappoint her niece and nephew, she arrives late and has an unexpected encounter with a wolf. Now she’s chasing cute, furry forest creatures, and mated to a man she barely knows. “May you live in interesting times,” just took on a whole new meaning.

MC: Knowing that you have some werewolf lovers on this blog, we want to know what drew you to one of our favorite subjects, werewolves.

BC:  Little Red Riding Hood, the Three Little Pigs, and The Boy Who Cried Wolf are but a few of the tales children read/hear in which the wolf is portrayed as an evil character. I love the image of a wolf howling particularly against a snow covered forest background. I think wolves are beautiful and intelligent creatures we should respect not fear.  

 MC: We also like offspring…or at least, I do.  :)  Any chance on Informally Yours producing any offspring (a.k.a series)?

BC:  Not at this time. None of the other characters from IY have come begging me to write about them.  I have 10 files of started stories plus a few more in notes jotted down.  So if the characters don’t jump up and scream at me I don’t work on their story. 

I am working on another wolf shifter story set in a new world. (I always wanted to visit another planet so I made one up.) This one will spawn some offspring.  I have ideas for three separate stories and a possible fourth. They won’t all be wolves but I’m starting there.

MC: We’re incredibly nosy people.  Give us the scoop on your other works available through The Wild Rose Press.

BC:  My first release, Garden Magic, first appeared in the Rose Petals Volume 2 anthology. TWRP rereleased it as a standalone short story earlier this year.

Melinda Conley was the last of three magical sisters to marry. After failing to find a mate in the supernatural community, she falls for a mortal. So what happens when her magic garden says he’s not her one true love?


Dragon’s Mate

My second release is very short and inspired by a friend who told me there weren’t enough dragon romances, my love of reading Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern books, and hearing the theme to Dragon Tales on PBS one too many times. 

Lady Karee Wilmore is about to be married. To a Prince no less. Yet she is unhappy, all her life she has dreamed of being a Dragon’s Mate. She is resigned with her match to the Prince until circumstances land her kidnapped by an Air Dragon.  Will all her dreams come true on the cusp of her wedding?

In celebration of October being Paranormal month at The Wild Rose Press, all Black (Vampire/Shapeshifter) and Faery (Fantasy/Futuristic) stories are on sale.

MC: If you were a shapeshifter, what kind would you be and why? If you say a turnip, I’m sending you valium.

BC: Nope, no turnips here.  I’d be a wolf, a dragon, or an owl.  I’ve always wanted to fly and wolves are just cool. 🙂

**********

Thanks for stopping by Beth!  Informally Yours is available today, so don’t forget to get your copy.  And check out her website at www.bethcaudill.net.

Anyone who comments is entered to win a $5 gift certificate from Wild Rose Press! 

23 Comments

  1. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Hi Beth!

    Thanks for being here. 🙂 Funny, Marcia has stolen a SECOND person I wanted to ask as guest blogger. LOL We must work on the same wavelength *grin*

    So why an owl? Why not an Eagle, or Hawk?

  2. MarnieColette said,

    I would want to be a cat shifter – so when I want to be cuddly I can be a kitten and when I want to be cantakerous I can be something bigger like a jaguar or lion. After that i would want to be a falcon, they’re just an awesome bird of prey.

  3. Beth C. said,

    Well, I kinda asked (begged on my knees with a bribe of chocolate) Marcia to let me be here. 🙂

    I’ve always been fascinated with owls. Owls seem to have two images – the wise owl (Owl from Winnie the Pooh) or they are the bird that watches/scares the people in the barn/wood before the evil villain pops in. They just seem to be watching you and probably know everything that goes on.

    And hey, they are pretty animals (Snowy owls and the Great Horned Owl being at the top of my favorite list). And while I know they may eat rodents, they don’t have quite the same predator image that Hawks and Eagles do. So for me personally, I think I’d rather be an owl than an eagle or hawk. But if I were writing, I’m not sure how the hero would come across as an owl. Still working on that one. The Eagle and Hawk are probably more an Alpha style.

  4. Beth C. said,

    Gee, I never would have guessed you liked cats Marcia. If I had to be a cat, it would be a snow leopard or a tiger. I love tigers, particularly the pretty white ones. Maybe a bobcat but really, I prefer the canine side of the animal kingdom.

    Can’t wait till my kids are potty trained and I can get a dog. I refuse to potty train a dog and a munchkin at the same time.

  5. Natasha A. said,

    Dragon would be a cool shifter to be. Or wolf, or any large feline! Hmm…too many options!
    Thanks for the interview,
    Natasha

  6. Beth C. said,

    Natasha

    Yep Dragons are hot too. You have your own body armor (or scales), you can breathe fire and you can fly. And then there’s all the treasure. All the pretty, precious baubles. What’s not to love?

    Hmm, maybe I need to make up a Chameleon changeling that can take on the aspect of any shifter. Then you wouldn’t have to be just one. 🙂

  7. Marcia said,

    😆 Teresa, you’re a trip, girlfriend. But if it’s any consolation, I know another WRP author who writes shifters and is right in our HCRW backyard, too. Here’s a hint: webmistress.

    And now that you mention it, Beth, dragons would make good shifters. I wasn’t so sure, until you mentioned the scales and the built-in armor. With the way I like to torture my characters, that might come in handy. 😉

  8. Colleen said,

    I love dragons… definitely love the sound of your book DRAGON’S MATE!😀 Great interview… thanks for sharing!!!

  9. Beth C. said,

    I recommend two e-books in my newsletter and last month I recommended Cat in the Mist and the story happens to feature a shifter Marcia is very familiar with. Must be why she likes the book.

    Now play nice children.

    Colleen – I hope you like Dragon’s Mate. I liked writing it and I may go back into that world. Except not a single dragon is clammering for my attention. So until someone claims my attention, I have more wolves to write and the occasional owl, elf, seal, and penguin. (too many stories and not enough typing)

  10. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Yeah – webmistress, was looking at her too. LOL.

    Ok, owls, you could do a hero out of one… just imagine – says little, powerful, a predator, hard to find in the dark of night? Oh yeah, it could be done. LOL.

    Dragon’s are kewl too.😀 DOn’t worry Beth, Marcia and I always “play nice”…… at least, with the heroes we write in our books, right Marcia?

  11. Elric & Other Giveaways | Literary Escapism said,

    […] Caudill, author of Informally Yours, is guest blogging over at Shapeshifter Romance today.  There’s also a prize going to one lucky commenter, so make sure […]

  12. Cathy said,

    Both books sound good. I on a dragon roll again, have 15 books on my November list to read (just added yours). I have picked up 6, now to find the others!!

  13. Beth C. said,

    Teresa – Yep, loves those owls. I’ve been thinking of a twist on the LadyHawke curse thing (seen other places like Charmed as well where a man/woman are human for half the day and an animal the other half) and using the owl there. But that story is still peculating and sitting as a note in my files.

    Elric – Thanks for the mention.

    Cathy – Wow 15 books about dragons? I must be missing a few unless you picked up a series. Hope you have Katie MacAlister on your list. Reminds me…I need to get her newest-Up in Smoke the second of the Silver Dragon series. Thanks for adding me to your reading pile.

  14. Eva S said,

    Hi Beth,
    I love your book “Garden Magic” and would love to read more…
    And wolves are my favorites among shifters, although a dragon would be great too!

  15. Beth C. said,

    Eva – Wow. Thanks, I always like to hear from someone who has read my stories. I’ve thought of a how to do a sequel to Garden Magic and I have the heroine but no hero. So that story hasn’t gone very far. I hear from more people about Dragon’s Mate so I haven’t put a lot of effort into another GM story. Maybe I’ll rethink that.

    That is one good thing about writing, you can always pretend. One story I can be a wolf and the next a dragon. That may also be why I don’t think in series right away. I don’t want to be ‘stuck’ with just one kind of supernatural being.

  16. Beth C. said,

    Congrats to Teresa for taking 2nd in the Best First Book category of the PRISM contest.

  17. *lizzie starr said,

    Ah, an Anne McCaffrey fan! Though not shifters, her dragon tales are among the best. I’ll have to check out Dragon’s Mate. Sounds like it needs a space on my TBR file!🙂

  18. Beth C. said,

    Lizzie – Yep, I’m a huge Anne McCaffrey fan. There are only two of her series that I haven’t liked. I love Pern and while the dragons are the main stars, I also like reading the Harper side of Pern as well. The Crystal Singer and both Powers that Be series are good. I think I fell in love with her books because of her world building.

    I hope you enjoy my dragons.

  19. Anita Yancey said,

    The book sounds great. I’d love to read it.

  20. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Oh wow! Beeth! What a way to find out! LOL. Thanks!!!!

  21. Savanna Kougar said,

    Wonderful interview, Beth, and a fascinating discussion as usual.

  22. Beth C. said,

    Anita – Thanks. Hope you like it.

    Teresa – Congrats. I loved SheWolf so definitely a good thing.

    Savanna – Great. I’m always nervous doing these things. But I had a great time here.

    Just to announce – Lizzie Starr is the winner of my gift certificate. Marcia should be making a post later today. Lizzie send me an email at beth @ bethcaudill .net (taking out the spaces) with the email address you want me to send the gift certificate to.

    Thanks everyone. I had a great time yesterday.

    Beth

  23. Ginny said,

    I just read this story, it is very good.

Leave a Reply

