How do you like my new cover?

October 2, 2008 at 2:07 am (General)

ETERNAL MOON Cover

ETERNAL MOON Cover

My editor just e-mailed me the cover for my next Berkley Moon book, ETERNAL MOON, which will be out in April.  It’s the story of a woman who’s the reincarnation of an ancient goddess.  Down through the ages, she and her consort have come back again and again, and a demon tricks them into disaster. Now Renata Cordona has met werewolf Jacob Marshall.  Will evil win out again, or is a Marshall werewolf the man Renata needs to break the ancient curse?

I loved writing that story.  But after I turn in a manuscript, I don’t have much control over what happens.  With ETERNAL MOON, I asked my editor if she could get the art department to make the color brighter than on my last two book covers. As you can see, she got the art department to do that.  I love the background.  I think the wolf and the moon are good.  But when I saw the cover, my first reaction was, “Her hair is in her face.”

When I mentioned it to my editor, she said, “The wind’s blowing.  The hair in her face increases the feeling of tension.”  I told her, “I get it.”

But I still don’t like it.  Once in a while, I get a cover that I love.   But mostly I admit that I’m disappointed.  The people don’t look the way I envisioned them.  Or the color doesn’t strike me as attractive.   I really love the cover of MOON SWEPT, the reprint of WITCHING MOON and CRIMSON MOON.  That guy’s got a really sexy back.  I also love the cover of my Intrigue, OUT OF NOWHERE, about a woman sent back from the future to save the world from disaster.

I know I pick up books because I like the artwork.  What about you?  What role does the cover play in your book selections?  And please tell me, what do you think of the ETERNAL MOON cover?

Rebecca

7 Comments

  1. | Literary Escapism said,

    […] York has posted the new cover for Eternal Moon over at Shapeshifter Romance.  So what do you […]

  2. Cathy said,

    I like the cover, but they could have left the hair out of the face. You want the wind to blow it behind you. How do I know this? I’m 5’6″ and my hair is to my butt. Hair in the face in nothing but annoying when it wraps around you.

  3. Teresa D'Amario said,

    That’s an absolutely amazing cover. I love it!

  4. Rebecca York said,

    Thanksm Teresa. Cathy, I agree. If they wanted her hair blowing, they could have had it blowing behind her.
    Rebecca

  5. Meljean Brook said,

    I like it, too — and the hair-in-the-face reminds me of Patricia Briggs’ CRY WOLF cover, which (in my head) is a great association to make.

    Can’t wait for this one🙂

  6. Kristie(J) said,

    I really like it!! I can imagine her any moment pulling the hair back from her face. And since I just read and really enjoyed Ghost Moon, I WILL be getting it *g*

  7. Nece said,

    I like it but I agree the hair blowing behind her face would be better. They could have raised one of her hands like she was about to pull it from her face, that would also have been better, (and showed tension, lol). I too pick up books and read the premise because of the cover, so even if I’d never read anything of yours (Hah! I love your stuff!) I like this cover well enough to pick it up and see if it sounded interesting enough to read. Don’t worry, the hair in the face doesn’t put your readers off! =)

Leave a Reply

