Tapdancing

October 1, 2008 at 6:51 am (Deborah Cooke) ()

This post is more about writing than about shapeshifting – although, if I could shapeshift, too, that would complicate things further. Hmm. Maybe I should be grateful for that!

This is “one of those weeks”.

We all have weeks when everything pretty much needs to happen simultaneously, and this is one of them for me. It’s all good stuff, but it’s come in an avalanche, which means tapdancing time. Or juggling time.

For example, I have a book deadline – today – which I’ll miss by a smidgen, but I’m still after it. I had an onsale date for a new book – FALLEN was released yesterday – which necessitated all kinds of manic checking that everything was as it should be. (Maybe it wasn’t truly necessary, but it’s part of my routine. Check, check, check.) That release also led to a bunch of guest-blogging, a.k.a. more writing when I already have a whole bunch of writing to do. (And people expect guest blog posts to be funny or profound, too!) I have a synopsis to write for a third book that should get done any minute now since the book is due in December.

I participated in the Unleash Your Story fundraiser in September, which wasn’t a huge amount of work – mostly keeping track of my word count and reporting it, and trying to think of people to donate to my page. (I’m just ten lousy bucks short of my goal, despite what the page says. My own donation has been allocated elsewhere and should show up on my page today. If you had any thoughts of donating to a charity – you get a tax receipt – this would be a good one. The money goes to fund research for Cystic Fibrosis.)

That’s just the writing bit. I have a book signing on Saturday – kind of a launch party for FALLEN – at Bakka-Phoenix Books in Toronto, which requires primping and preparation of promotional materials. I have a workshop to attend on Sunday – you see, my October 1 book was supposed to be done by the weekend. Uh huh – which mercifully I’m not teaching.

On the rest-of-life front, Canadian Thanksgiving is in a week and a half, and this year it’s my turn to host the festivities. There’s nothing like a family moment to awaken my inner Martha Stewart, and I had big, big plans this year as always. Why not wallpaper the dining room? Why not? Because there are only twenty-four hours in a day, no matter how you figure it! I’ve already faced the facts and compromised – instead of redecorating the entire house, I’ll settle for it being clean.

Clean-ish, even. No compromises on dinner, so the redecoration plan had to go.

(Maybe next year.)

Then there’s all the usual flotsam and jetsam of life – laundry and dirty dishes, pets to feed and trash to take out, recycling to sort and bills to pay – those things we solve without even thinking about them. In weeks like this one, there always seem to be more of them than usual.

Phew! So, it’s no wonder that my post is late today. It’s pretty much a miracle that it’s here at all! LOL! It’s just one of those weeks. All good stuff, but all of it at once.

How about you? Have you had one of those weeks lately? Any tips and tricks for managing them? I am the high queen of listmaking – that’s the only thing that keeps me (marginally) sane during these weeks.

How do you do it?

Deborah Cooke
Alive & Knitting blog

6 Comments

  1. Michele Hauf said,

    I’ve had days like that. Makes you appreciate the days where nothing in particular seems to happen at all. Sigh…

    I read about the wallpapering and thought “is she seriously that insane?” So glad you’re putting that off before the big festivities! i mean, we writers are superwomen (heck, all mom’s are), but take it easy on yourself!🙂

  2. Deborah Cooke said,

    The wallpaper was a plan back in July, when I drew the short straw and it was decided I’d be hostess (with the mostest!)

    I’m just having a little reality check about it this week. (My DH, it must be said, gave me The Look, all the way back in July. That man has a better sense of the possibilities – or maybe just a firmer grasp of reality! LOL

    Deborah

  3. Cathy said,

    I’m having one of those weeks now. My father passed on the 18th. I’m a seamstress and I told clients 7-10 days then took 10 days off to make arrangements and take care of my Mother. Back in the shop this Monday I have to return 35 messages and finish several items for weddings this weekend and next. Even leaving a message and a referral to another seamstress while I was closed doesn’t cut it when you finally get back and are just starting their garments. Tomorrow I have to see the chiro as my neck is now pinched, get my nails fixed, its been 3 weeks and finish 35 garments by Fri 3pm. Like you said there are only 24 ours in a day, so Superwoman I will have to become!!

  4. Savanna Kougar said,

    Unfortunately, in this day and age, no matter if your world is going great or falling apart, it’s always on overwhelm. And I don’t have a clue how to manage it, other than just plugging away, and doing what I can, and pressing myself to do even more. Which is what happened today. Per usual.
    However, good to know you’re doing so well.

  5. LA said,

    If I DON”T have a day like that, I sit back and wonder “what’s wrong? what did I forget?” How sad is that?

    (My sympathies on your loss, Cathy. my dad died June 29, so I know…)

  6. Deborah Cooke said,

    Thanks everyone for letting me know that I’m not tapdancing alone.

    And Cathy, many ((hugs)) on the loss of your dad. Good luck with all that sewing – pop back and let us know how you’re doing when you have a chance.

    Deborah

Leave a Reply

