What If You Were Mystique?

September 29, 2008 at 4:00 am (General, Marcia Colette)

Other than Wolverine and Storm, one of the most interesting X-men to me is Mystic.  Can you imagine what it would be like to have her powers?  To have the ability to shapeshift into anyone.  I know I’d prefer to be someone supernatural, but what if our only option was to shapeshift into someone who’s human?  Which would you choose?

The fifty-foot woman would be fun, and yes, I consider her human.  ;)  Think of all the people you could intimidate.  The only problem with that is clothes.  I doubt anyone would want me walking around above them with my “stuff” out in the open for the world to see. 

Another option would be Gregory House.  Unfortunately, I could see crazy people coming up to me looking for a diagnosis for something I can’t even pronounce.  What about Fox Mulder or Dana Scully?  Yeah, I can see where that would be fun.  I wouldn’t mind being one of the ladies on The View or Oprah Winfrey. 

With all that power, there is one type of person who would make me think twice.  Dead people.  I wouldn’t want to be Tim Russert or Heath Ledger.  That’s like leeching off someone’s hopes and dreams.  I don’t want to go there.  Mother Theresa or Jesus, not gonna happen either.  Too much responsiblity with those two options.  The same goes for any of the past popes.  Talk being feeling like a fraud. 

Shifting into anyone running for office it out, too.  It’s not the responsiblity that worries me.  The craziness that’s been unfolding during the race to the White House would be enough to drive me insane.  I certainly wouldn’t want to be any of the CEOs whose companies crashed and burned on Wall Street either.  I’d have to wear a flat jacket or be ready to shift into a different person at a second’s notice. 

So I guess when it comes down to it, I’m the person I was meant to be because I’m the only one qualified for the job.  Although, I wouldn’t mind being a millionaire’s twin either.

How about you?  Who’s your human of choice and why?

~Marcia Colette

www.marciacolette.com

6 Comments

  1. MarnieColette said,

    I think that I wouldn’t want to walk in the shoes of anyone that is actually alive.. that would be too weird. I wouldn’t mind being a tv character though… say like Samantha on Stargate but it goes without saying that I would want that reality to exist when I was Samantha.

  2. Marcia said,

    I’m with you, Marnie. If I were going to be a TV character, I think it would be more fun if the TV world really existed. The only thing that would bother me would be the bullets/lasers flying overhead. I’m such a wuss. I’d turn tail and run. 😉

  3. Cathy said,

    Being able to morph into another being would just be to much temptation. I mean becoming famous for a few days or weeks to have the time of your life in Hawaii wallowing in wealthy surroundings? Could you resist? or to fly first class every time?
    Personally I would love to be able to do it if I could go back in time, if only to see the world as it was.

  4. Marcia Colette said,

    Very true, Cathy. I’d love to go back in time as Ben Franklin or John Adams so I could be right there when they sign the Declaration of Independence. Or how about being on the battlefield with Joan of Arc? Yeah, that would be VERY cool.

  5. Savanna Kougar said,

    Marcia, you come up with the most interesting questions and scenarios. Truthfully, even though I’d love to have certain changes in my life…to be someone else, another human. No way! I really would rather be myself.

  6. Marcia said,

    Thanks, Savanna. While it would be fun to be someone else, I’m happy being me, too. In fact, I feel a bit flattered that I’m the only person who can pull it off. If anyone tried…well…I have a feeling those who know me would spot a fake in a heartbeat. 😉

Leave a Reply

