eBooks and Print

September 26, 2008 at 5:35 am (General)

It seems to me paranormal romance, shapeshifters especially, have gotten their start due to eBook publishing.  Some of my favorite shapeshifter authors started as eBook authors.  (Okay, Lora Leigh’s isn’t quite a shapeshifter romance, but it’s as close as you can get without real shifting).  It’s one of the reasons I didn’t shy away from eBooks with my shapeshifters.  It’s only been the last couple of years shifters have made it in NY.

Today is a big milestone for me.  Ok, not really.  The big moment is 15 October, but the excitement started yesterday.  The first time an author gets published will always be the best moment in an author’s life.  To know others will be reading the story developed in your imagination is a rush that is akin to winning that gold medal at the Olympics.  It’s full of excitement and joy for the author and their family.  It doesn’t matter if it’s an ebook or a print book, the excitement is still the same.  The next “rush” happens when you get your book cover.  One author asked me after I received my SheWolf cover, if I was still petting it on the computer screen.  I laughed, and said, “No, I ran to Walmart and got it blown up and printed, so I’m petting it in the frame on my wall.”  Now I have a better quality printer and can print my own, so don’t have to run to Walmart anymore.

The next rush is different depending on if the book is an ebook or a print.  For Print folks, the next step in the level of joy comes when they get their print copy.  For the Ebook folks, it’s the day it shows up ready to be purchased.

So the change from eBook to print still has it’s joys – as now I’ll have that paperback book in my hand to get all excited about.  I should have one in my hot little hand in the next week.

But why would a reader purchase both the eBook and the print copy?  I promise there are great reasons besides making this author extra happy.  Course you could do it for that reason too.  But the nice thing about eBook to print for the same novel is the author gets a second chance to do one last edit on the book and make any changes.  And change I did.   I don’t want to share what the changes are, but I will tell you the “Date” error has been corrected.

So head on over to Amazon.com and order your copy today.

6 Comments

  1. AJ Hampton said,

    Your cover looks amazing. I’m totally going to have to send my copy of Tigress by the Tail so you can sign it for me! That way when you become super famous, I’ll be all set!! LOL.

    It is true about eBooks. Sure, I’d rather be NY published, but, sometimes you have to start somewhere.🙂

    AJ

  2. Michele Hauf said,

    Love the colors on that cover! And so exciting to hold those print copies in hand and know it’s a ‘real boy’. 🙂 (Or girl, whatever you choose.)

  3. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Thanks ladies! Yep, it’s pretty exciting. Just waiting now for Amazon.com to add the picture to their information. Apparently they have it, just hadn’t uploaded it yet.

  4. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Ok, well, I have to update everyone. Amazon.com now has the book in stock and is shipping – it is available for those who have Prime accounts to receive the 2 day shipping for free!

  5. Rebecca York said,

    Yes, great cover.
    I guess I go around with my head in a paper bag. I really knew almost nothing about the e-book market when I wrote KILLING MOON, my first werewolf book. I WANTED to write it. I kept resisting because I though I couldn’t sell it. But finally I had to write the story–for myself. Then I went looking for an agent who would love the book.
    Rebecca

  6. Savanna Kougar said,

    That cover is amazing! I wish you great success. Being NY pubbed is phenomenal unto itself. And, I really love the opportunity of ebooks for readers, authors and aspiring authors.

Leave a Reply

