DAY LATE DOLLAR SHORT

September 20, 2008 at 9:12 am (General)

With all my good intentions, I often find myself falling short of what I want to achieve both in books and life.  That unfortunately includes blogging. I, ahem, will confess to the world and apologize to my fellow bloggers that I didn’t remember it was my responsibility to blog until….like 3AM.  My own personal blog, which I promise myself repeatedly that I am going to make happen, hasn’t seen a post since July likely. I am behind in everything from household chores, to family obligations, to even picking up the phone and touching base with beloved friends.  Why is my life is such a sorry state you ask?  Am I a bon-bon eating couch potato?  A slacker who just doesn’t care what needs to be done?  No, I think it is because I’ve set myself and my life on this quest of writing and often times, as most quests do, it consumes me.

I recently guest blogged about a writer’s health, an aspect of a writer’s life that the harried, unstable, irrationality of the wild publishing world turns into an oxymoron–there is no true health for a writer for the creative quest to put story upon the page is an insane process that doesn’t leave a writer alone day or night until the quest has been won.  

Anyway as I was saying, I guest blogged and wanted to share with all of you a portion of that blog.  It is a song I love, but had forgotten, and so well describes the quest of a writer and in many ways what makes heros and heroines come alive on the page for readers around the world, maybe even more so in the world of shapeshifting romance.  Where the quest has so many more obstacles to overcome.

Can you guess the song that Joe Darion’s words brought ispiration to the world?

Hint.  Man of La Muncha

Hint. Don Quixote.

 To dream … the impossible dream …
To fight … the unbeatable foe …
To bear … with unbearable sorrow …
To run … where the brave dare not go …
To right … the unrightable wrong …
To love … pure and chaste from afar …
To try … when your arms are too weary …
To reach … the unreachable star …
 

 This is my quest, to follow that star …
No matter how hopeless, no matter how far …
To fight for the right, without question or pause …
To be willing to march into Hell, for a Heavenly cause …

And I know if I’ll only be true, to this glorious quest,
That my heart will lie will lie peaceful and calm,
when I’m laid to my rest …
And the world will be better for this:
That one man, scorned and covered with scars,
Still strove, with his last ounce of courage,
To reach … the unreachable star …
  

   Currently, I feel as if I, my hero, and my heroine in Bride of the Wolf are on a impossible quest.  I have managed, just this week, to get my Blind hero who was chained in the dungeon and a my intrepid heroine who was in the clutches of a vampire bent on tearing apart her soul free–for the moment–but now they face the grueling task of falling in love and defeating the evil before it destroys them and everyone they love.  Easy you might say, but when you have a werewolf warrior who cannot accept his blindness and a woman bent on saving herself and him the road to bliss can get pretty darn bumpy.

So, this morning I leave all of you with the world of Impossible Dream as I go flying down my bumpy road at ninety miles an hour, hoping and praying I will reach the end by my deadline and that my editor will love the story and I can begin this crazy quest all over again because there are already characters in my head screaming to be put onto the page.

Happy Questing and Shapeshifting

Jennifer St. Giles

Kiss of Darkess 4/09

Bride of the Wolf 5/09

Touch a Dark Wolf

Lure of the Wolf

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Michele Hauf said,

    Inspiring!
    Yeah, that road can be harrowing, but worth every twist, turn and hair-raising moment.

  2. AJ Hampton said,

    I agree. It is a hard road, but it makes the end so much more complete. Real life is hard and grueling, romances should reflect some of that. I say some, and not all, because some times books are my escape, my fantasy where you know things will work out in the end.

    ((Hugs))

    AJ

  3. Jennifer St. Giles said,

    Thanks ladies. There is no doubt that we strive for and LOL live the impossible dream.

  4. Savanna Kougar said,

    I can so totally relate. Great blog!

Leave a Reply

