A Shapeshifter Throw Down

September 18, 2008 at 7:58 am (AJ Hampton, General) (, , , , , , )

This post has been brought to you by AJ Hampton (who has recently contracted TWO new shapeshifter novellas!)

I was laying in bed, trying to sleep and all I could think about was what happened if some of our favorite heroes and heroines threw down?

Who would win and why? Answer as many as you like, feel free to come up with some of your own!

Round I

Drake Vireo in the Aisling Grey, Guardian series by Katie MacAlister

Vs.

Quinn Tyrrell in book#1 of the Dragonfire Kiss of Fire by SSR’s own Deborah Cooke

AJ’s Pick – I think Quinn would tear Drake Up. Why? Quinn is a scrappe. I think Drake is too much of a pretty boy.

 

Round II

Elena Michaels in Books#1 &2 of the Women of the Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong

Vs.

Riley Jenson in the Riley Jenson Guardian series by Keri Arthur

AJ’s Pick – I’m going to have to go with Riley on this one because she’s got the half vampire thing working for her.

 

 

Round III

The Hulk created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby

Vs.

Wolverine created by Len Wein

AJ’s Pick – The Wolverine, he’s got the healing ability and The Hulk… isn’t big and green all the time.

 

 

Round IV

Richard Zeeman in the Anita Blake Series by Laurell Hamilton

Vs.

Micah Callahan in the Anita Blake Series by Laurell Hamilton

(The winner assumes that Anita Blake will not run in wielding a gun to save her sweetie.)

AJ’s Pick – Man. I wish these two characters would just off themselves… that wasn’t nice was it? Sorry. I’ve got issues. Although Micah is tough he is way to pretty boy. Richard (if he can pull his head out of his ass) would eat Micah for breakfast.

 

Round V

Dracula by Bram Stoker (I hope I have that right!)

Vs.

Michael Corvin in the Underworld Series

AJ’s Pick – Although Dracula has been around for eons (and can shift into a bat!) I’d have to go with Michael on this one. Again, being half werewolf and half vampire – seems like an advantage.

So, let me know who you think would win! And, come up with a few of your own for everyone at SSR to debate!

((Hugs))

AJ Hampton

17 Comments

  1. Jackie (Literary Escapism) said,

    Round 1 I think could go to Drake. He may be a pretty boy, but he’s cagey. He has no problem going after what he wants and doing anything to get it. If he wanted to win, I think he could.

    Round 2 – Definitely Riley. If we’re talking about Riley in the first book, then yeah, the vampire half would give her the edge over Elena. If we’re talking about Riley in the newer books, then hands down. Although, it could be a toss up. Elena has been an enforcer a lot longer than Riley has, so she may know a few more sneaky tricks.

    Round 3 – Wolverine…mainly because I prefer looking at Hugh Jackman than whoever played the Hulk.

    Round 4 – Who cares who wins as long as there is oil thrown in with them. Richard and Micah bare chested and fighting in oil. As long as I could console the loser, I would be happy. However, I think Micah could take Richard. Mainly because Micah knows how to keep his cool and Richard loses his head to easily. He lets his anger control him and Micah uses it instead. Micah could probably taunt Richard into doing something stupid, which would give Micah the advantage.

    Round 5 – Not really sure. Yeah, I think I will go with AJ and think the vampire/werewolf combo might be the deciding factor.

    What about Kitty Norville vs Mercedes Thompson?

  2. Patricia said,

    I’m a HUGE LKH fan so while I resent the offing them bit, I agree that Richard is indeed the bigger alpha.

  3. Desirée Lee said,

    I haven’t read all of the books listed in Round 1 and Round 2 so I can’t offer an opinion on those.

    Wolverine would win because of the regeneration thing, yes. Hulk may have superior strength but when he returns to being Bruce Banner, Wolvie has a clear advantage.

    I agree with your summation of Richard & Micah. Richard is definitely more alpha male.

    For the last one, Michael may have the hybrid thing in his favor but Dracula has centuries of experience on him. I’m still voting Dracula.

    Carpe Noctem,
    Des

    Desirée Lee
    Putting the Romance Back in Necromancy
    http://www.desireelee.com
    des@desireelee.com

  4. MarnieColette said,

    Round 1 – Drake – he might be a pretty boy but he can kick arse.
    Round 2 – Sorry didn’t read both books.
    Round 3- Wolverine, I don’t think I need to say anymore… never die…
    Round 4 – I have to agree with AJ… ARGH! Now is Richard would embrace who he is I would say him. (Truthful is both went on an extended vaca I would be very happy.)
    Round 5 – Michael – He can walk in the daylight.. big advantage.

  5. Magic Strikes | Literary Escapism said,

    […] on. Actually, I’m not sure if it’s suppose to be a poll or not, but AJ Hampton has matched up a few shapeshifters and she’s wondering who would win. She gives her prediction, and while I agreed with a few of […]

  6. Beth C. said,

    Round I – Quinn (Smith over pretty boy anytime. Not that Drake isn’t yummy in his own right though)
    Round II – Riley – (While I don’t like the series, Riley is the better fighter. Elena still has too many human sensibilities)
    Round III – Wolverine (regenerative powers over big and green anyday)
    Round IV – Richard (If he pulls his head from his behind. I dislike the direction his character has taken. He was great in the beginning)
    Round V – Can’t comment

    Good comparisons.

  7. Deb said,

    This is an awesome blog, sad to say I am working my way to read these books. But from what I just read I can not wait to tear into them.

  8. AJ Hampton said,

    Jackie – Great answers! LOL. I got lost somewhere around “bare chested” men. LOL. Yes, they need some oil.
    I’m not familiar with Kitty Norville. The books any good? What do you like about them?? I’m Always looking for good shape shifter reads!
    —-
    Patricia – I’m a big LKH fan myself and I don’t condone anyone dying in any of these fights! LOL. Besides, with all the hot wounded men (and women) it gives us a chance to nurse them back to health!
    —-
    Des – You should pick up both the Aisling series and the Deborah’s books! You don’t read many dragon stuff (at least I don’t) so these were really good. And, no one can argue with experience *wink wink*
    —-
    Marnie – The pretty boys can surprise you. Something about seeing them get all roughed up… *coughs* sorry, got distracted by Drake and his sexiness. And, I have no hope for Richard, LKH dislikes him too much.
    —-
    Beth- Thank you! I spent the very days pondering male wrestling matches.
    —-
    Deb- You gotta read em! LOL. I’m also glad you enjoy the blog. I’ll admit my TBR pile keeps growing. For every one I read, I find four more that I want.

  9. Teresa D'Amario said,

    AJ this is why I love ya girl. Your imagination ROCKS.

    Ok, let’s see….

    Drake Vireo in the Aisling Grey, Guardian series by Katie MacAlister

    Vs.

    Quinn Tyrrell in book#1 of the Dragonfire Kiss of Fire by SSR’s own Deborah Cooke

    Oh yes, Quinn, Hands down!!! Hot hot hot!

    Elena Michaels in Books#1 &2 of the Women of the Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong

    Vs.

    Riley Jenson in the Riley Jenson Guardian series by Keri Arthur

    Hmm, I think it’s even, so I’m throwing in a third – I’m adding Cassie Felidae from Tigress by the Tail. Sorry Riley and Elena, she’s much more powerful! Poor girl doesn’t know her own strength!

    The Hulk created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby

    Vs.

    Wolverine created by Len Wein

    I laughed when someone said “whoever played the hulk”. I like the original david banner, but he’s gone and buried I’m sorry to say.😦 In that case, I have to stick with Wolverine – hot and deadly in all forms!

    Richard Zeeman in the Anita Blake Series by Laurell Hamilton

    Vs.

    Micah Callahan in the Anita Blake Series by Laurell Hamilton

    Micah is too “sweet” and yeah, “pretty boy”. Richard has an edge with the aggression. Yes Micah has control, but I know Richard would win in the end. Tell you what, I can throw Kieran Hunt in the battle from SheWolf, and it would then become a battle between Kieran and Richard. LOL. Micah wouldn’t stand a chance.

    Dracula by Bram Stoker (I hope I have that right!)

    Vs.

    Michael Corvin in the Underworld Series

    Michael – he has love on his side. Dracula only has obsession. Michael will fight until he can fight no more, where Dracula would retreat to avoid the final confrontation if possible.

  10. Lou Gagliardi said,

    I’d like to point out to one of the other comment posters that if you actually read Dracula, Dracula can go out in the day time too. He’s powers are just weaker than at night. It wasn’t until Hollywood came along that vampires (Dracula included) were regulated to the night..then romance authors came along and kept with that.

    I won’t comment on the other ones, mainly because I havent read them. but Michael vs Dracula. As the Impaler’s grandson, I would have to go with Drac.

    And yes, AJ. It’s by Bram Stoker

  11. Savanna Kougar said,

    Well, the answers are all fascinating. But since I’m not familar with most of them, other than the obvious, Dracula, the Hulk and Wolverine…I can’t make a call.

    Hey, Xena, Warrior Princess or Buffy, the Vampire Slayer?

    My answer: after a lot of kick butt action and almost knocking each other off, they would realize how manipulated they’ve been by Whomever and then team up and create some real chaos and mayhem. After which the villains would not be with us any longer. Now, that’s my kinda story.

  12. Jackie (Literary Escapism) said,

    AJ – the Kitty Norville series is by Carrie Vaughn and it’s awesome. Kitty doesn’t start out the alpha bitch, but is actually the bottomest submissive of the pack. Kitty and the Midnight Hour is really good and not like a lot of other shapeshifter novels.

  13. Marie McGowan-Irving said,

    Dracula is based on Vlad Dracul, who was a Knight and a voivode, he held the Turks at bay out of Eastern Europe. Stoker alludes to Dracula’s fighting prowess several times in the novel. Oh, and he turns into a wolf/ black dog to get off the Demeter, which I think equals the other character’s power.

    So although I’ve only seen one ‘Underworld’ film, I contend that Dracula would kill Michael Corvin in the first round, then wander off looking for another fight😀

  14. amazonrev said,

    Definitely Richard would win. Micah is more an omega than an alpha, and hasn’t demonstrated that he could fight a wet dishrag. Richard has already shown he can kick butt, while Micah just runs to Anita crying.

  15. Faith said,

    I say for Round 2 Elena vs. Riley: Elena would totally wipe the floor with Riley, but only because Riley would probably too busy staring at Clay😦

    For Round 4… I give it too Richard. I hate Micah and he seems… too prissy to fight. But then again.. He could take Richard if he was in one of his self loathing days. How about this.. I just give the entire thing to Edward and be done with it -.-

  16. smitty said,

    For rounds one and two I can’t say, never read the books.
    3-Wolverine. Regeneration abilities beat the green guy and as you said, the Hulk isn’t the Hulk all the time.
    4- Richard. Stronger, meaner and far more capable. Not to mention werewolf?
    5-Sorry to say, Dracula. Drac can shape shift (mist, rat, bat, wolf), summon familiars (all creatures of the night), control the weather and, contrary to Hollywood, CAN walk in daylight. Not to mention centuries of experience.

  17. Fred said,

    I agree with most of of the picks but for one
    If its the movie Wolverine vs movie Hulk i have no qualms
    I’d go for Wolverine but in Marvel land Wolfie’s toast
    and it’s Hulk all the way; regenerative powers are of no use when the Hulk rips out his adamantium skeleton.
    ( dumb and smart green hulk or smart but a shad less strong grey Hulk (Mr fix it)

Leave a Reply

