This way to the Vampire section…

September 4, 2008 at 6:51 pm (General)

As far as keeping on track with the whole shapeshifter theme today…I got nothing.

Actually, I have a new release, so I’m going to talk about that.  Not new, but a re-release of my first published book, DARK RAPTURE.  It’s a vampire romance, and was published back in 1997, when paranormal romance was just beginning to test the waters.  Sure, there was a small ripple in the early 90s, but that died down mid-decade, and then really began to grow toward the end.  I know this because Dark Rapture was bought in 1993, scheduled for publication in 1995—cancelled, because the vampire market was dead—then rescheduled again when the publisher decided it was safe to try the ooky stuff again.

Nowadays paranormal is everywhere.  I seriously think the bookstores should have a paranormal section.  Heck, they could have a Vampire section, and it would take up a lot of space.  We do love our otherworldly romances.  And what’s not to love about them?  In the paranormal realm we can explore beings that might normally scare the crap out of us.  But authors have made them seductive, sensual, and very intriguing.  

I rarely read straight romance.  It just doesn’t offer that spark I’m looking for.  That something different.  I do like historicals, but they’re even better with a vampire or werewolf in them.  And the young adult section!  Isn’t that a fabulous exploration lately with all the paranormal choices?  My personal favorite is Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely.  That woman knows how to do faeries.

So I’m excited for this re-release, and only a little worried.  You see, when most publishers reissue a book they don’t even tell the author (I found out about it surfing Amazon) and the author usually isn’t offered a chance to re-edit the work.  I bought a copy for myself the other day (no free copies the second time around either), and started reading.  Oh dear.  Did I love my adverbs back then!  But you know, it was a darn good story, and I do hope new readers will find it as good as I believe it to be.  It’s got rock star vampires, pissed-off ghosts, time-travel and lots of adventure.

So what do you think?  Paranormals are definitely here to stay.  But what sub-genre of the paranormal would you like to see emerge?  Anything we authors have missed?  

Michele

6 Comments

  1. MarnieColette said,

    I saw your Book at Barnes and Nobles — I intend to pick it up next time ( I limit myself to a certain number each visit – I really think they should have a Book buyers Anonymous – at least then I can commiserate with fellow buyers.) I love paranormal books because they allow for characters who don’t fit the norm that I find so boring in most contemporary romances. Alpha males are so much better when they are fighting there animal instincts — my favorite sub-genre is vampires… okay that is my 2 cents

  2. Savanna Kougar said,

    Congrats on the re-release. I started seriously writing paranormal romances in the early nineties because I couldn’t find the stories I wanted to read. There should definitely be a vampire section, a shifter section…well, sometimes they’re altogether. So that wouldn’t work. But definitely a paranormal section.
    Hmmm…I wish I knew what was lacking in the market, what readers want that they can’t find, or find enough of…

  3. Teresa D'Amario said,

    Hey Michelle! Congrats on the new release. I don’t think most readers are going to notice the adverbs, not really. Even though we as authors try very hard to keep them to a minimum. The average reader just doesn’t care. It’s good to see that your book is coming back though.

    I agree, not only should there be a section in the book stores, but contests need to start breaking down the paranormal genre as well. Fairies and Dragons just don’t fit in the same category as a shapeshifting cat or wolf. Or even a vampire. They are totally different styles of books. Yet you have “best paranormal romance” out there. Wow, a huge catchall in this particular day and age.

    And yes, I too like the edgier side of romance. Now a days there’s Dark Paranormal and light paranormal. I have yet to read and enjoy light paranormal beyond Lynsay Sands. (ok, Nina Bangs too, but hers has an edge to it). The rest just don’t “trip my trigger”.

    I like the sensation you get when you look a wild animal in the eye. How can you get all shivery inside if you’re laughing?

    Ok, that’s almost funny there, but you get what I mean.🙂 I’ve been accused of having tongue in cheek humor in my paranormals. And yeah, but the funny thing is, I don’t intend that… really I don’t. It just kinda happens.🙂

  4. Cathy said,

    I went to Barns & Nobles yesterday and bought 15 books. When I asked where this book or that author was I got Romance, Si-Fi, Fantasy, “Uh don’t know”. Paranormal is a genre that crosses many lines and books are shelved according to what the publisher recommends or what the author used to write. Patrica Briggs was in Si-Fi, though she now writes Paranormal not all of it is Romance so she has not been moved yet. Most Paranormal has been moved to Romance (my fav), but not all belong there. Kim Harrison and Laurell K. Hamilton I do not consider in a Romantic genre, but found both there yesterday. Paranormal is not a genre in most new book stores, so sub categories is hard for most people to focus on. I am not into the darker side, I consider that close to horror. If you through in some romance I will try it though. I’ve read 100’s of vampire books so I’m looking more for shifter and dragon books. Many dragon books are now shifters – how do you really separate those now? Some of my favorite “paranormal” books are time travel, yes this is another sub category, because I don’t like contemporary without paranormal in it.
    I have a collectorz book program and I can list my books under multiple genres and subjects. I have 37 genres and 52 subjects. Most of my books have 3 genre and 2 subjects. Hows that for defining a book?

  5. Michele Hauf said,

    That is the very frustrating thing about finding paranormals in book stores. They just don’t know where to shelve them. If they’d just look at the spine…. But then again, even some books, I feel, aren’t labeled correctly. Some say paranormal romance yet they read far to dark and not enough romance for me. Others say fantasy and yet are so romantic.

  6. Teresa D'Amario said,

    I think the ones that bug me are the Urban Fantasies that show up in romance. I’m not a huge UF fan, which is funny considering UF is more paranormal than anything. I think it’s that I like the HEA. almost every single UF I’ve ever purchased were in the romance aisle.

Leave a Reply

