Happy Labor Day!

September 1, 2008 at 6:00 am (General)

Today is Labor Day which got me to thinking about what jobs shape-shifters would be most suited for. In my books only one so far has had a “legitimate” human job–bar tender. He also, however, was a portal guardian. My other heros were just hellhounds without a real role in the human world. But if they HAD to mingle with humans, what could they do to bring in some cash? What job would make being able to go furry or scaly in the blink of an eye handy?

  • Bodyguard/Bouncer – the 2 a.m. crowd would really think they’d had one too many
  • Detective – How handy would it be to not have to wait for the canine unit to track down that bad guy?
  • Teacher – Have you read The Teacher from the Black Lagoon?
  • Cocktail waitress – Okay, maybe it wouldn’t make them better at the job, but speaking as someone who has cocktail waitressing in her past, I would have KILLED for a nice dragon tail to smack a few heads with. And fire breath? C’mon!
  • BMX Biker/acrobat/surfer – Who could out balance a feline shifter? Although getting caught in a wave might put them off a bit.
  • Search and Rescue – A bird shifter would be hard to beat here, or canine–maybe even a bear!
  • Treasure Hunter – Looking for undersea treasure? Call in a selkie!

So, what’s your job? And what shifter would you like to be to make it easier?

AND Happy Labor Day!!

5 Comments

  1. danette said,

    I’m a SAHM ,it would be nice to have a alpha werewolf to keep my pack in line .:D

    Hugs, Danette

  2. Michele Hauf said,

    Isn’t it odd how a lot of paranormals DON”T have jobs? Not like ‘werewolf’ or ‘vampire’ is an actual job. I don’t tend to give mine jobs either. Though my current werewolf hero is a philanthropist and holds charity auctions to raise funds to build a wolf preserve.
    How about a shapeshift working the drive-thru at McDonald’s? DOn’t complain about your order! 🙂

  3. Cathy said,

    I’m a seamstress, I’m not sure a predator would be good at this, Claws and delicate fabric do NOT mix as I have had to replace tulle overlays on prom dresses and wedding gowns ripped by cat claws and dog teeth. Maybe if I was an octopus I could easily hold 35lbs and 20 yards of wedding gown without trouble off the floor, keep little children out of the pins and scissors while fitting the Mom’s dress and work more than 1 of my 9 sewing machine at 1 time.

  4. JenB said,

    Eh…I’m an insurance agent. I don’t think shapeshifting abilities would help me much. Though I can think of a few customers I’d like to bite and scratch (and not in the good way).

  5. Savanna Kougar said,

    Hmmmm…good question. Since my health doesn’t allow for a job, other than being an author…I’m not sure, other than being a very healthy shifter.
    Cathy, I have worked in several fabric stores and sewn quite a bit in my life. I admire your ability to be a seamstress.

Leave a Reply

